Old 20th January 2016, 13:06   #1
Djruss63
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Now Playing Script Help Needed

Hi all,

Just wondering if anyone knows of a "Now Playing Script" that I can put on my websites home page that will show the current song and artist. I know you can it with embedded players, but are hoping for a script that will just show Now Playing text. I have seen it on other radio station websites where you might get the presenters name, then what song and artist is currently playing, without the need for a media player to show it.

Any help will be most appreciated.

Thanks
DjRuss
Djruss63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2016, 17:32   #2
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,399
Send a message via ICQ to djSpinnerCee Send a message via AIM to djSpinnerCee
i have one that will produce a javascrpt code that you can place on any page that will allow it -- http://djspinnercee.servemp3.com:11423/scStatus.html -- some of the broadcasters who use it place the code in a separate html file that will auto-refresh so that the now playing info will update on the main page. that file is loaded by the main page via an iframe. --- to see it in use --- http://djspinnercee.servemp3.com:11423/ --
djSpinnerCee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2016, 18:29   #3
Djruss63
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Hiya,

Many thanks for getting back to my post. Thanks also for those links.

So if I am correct, the following code will just show the current playing song and artist...

<SCRIPT type="text/javascript" SRC="http://djspinnercee.servemp3.com:32768/php-cgi/scaststatus_X.php?index=5&host=REPLACE_DNAS_HOST_IP&port=REPLACE_DNAS_PORTBASE"></SCRIPT>

What part should I change in order for it to recognise my info?

Thanks
Djruss
Djruss63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2016, 19:10   #4
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,399
Send a message via ICQ to djSpinnerCee Send a message via AIM to djSpinnerCee
change
REPLACE_DNAS_HOST_IP to the public ip/hostname of your server, and
REPLACE_DNAS_PORTBASE with the dnas port.

the reason for the fill in form is so you can make sure that you input the right info... it will produce a url with the values filled in. index= will be 0, so all you need to to is change that.
djSpinnerCee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2016, 19:22   #5
Djruss63
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Ok, cheers for that. Will give it a go on my site and see what happens. Forgot to ask, should the script be placed somewhere specific?

Cheers
Djruss63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th January 2016, 19:32   #6
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,399
Send a message via ICQ to djSpinnerCee Send a message via AIM to djSpinnerCee
you place the code exactly where you want the text to appear, ie:

..your html...
now playing: <script>....</script>
...rest of your html...

note: the script does not even output the words "now playing"
djSpinnerCee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2016, 13:00   #7
Djruss63
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Hi again,

Just a quick message to say i managed to get the script setup on my website...so thanks for that. Appreciated.

Just one question....what was the script for your media player as I could do with one the same as that as i only have a small space to fit one in.

Thanks
Djruss63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2016, 20:17   #8
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,399
Send a message via ICQ to djSpinnerCee Send a message via AIM to djSpinnerCee
there are two players on the site, the first is html5, a simple tag:
code:
<audio controls src="http://djspinnercee.servemp3.com:30011/;?sid=1"></audio>

so that a browser will know it iz html5 the first line of your html needs a declaration:
code:
<!DOCTYPE html>

the flash player comes from http://www.muses.org/setup -- they just happen to be shoutcast-friendly.

note: i've only been able to get either player to work with v2 servers, v1 servers see the browser user-agent and try to "play" index.html, which does not work too well.
djSpinnerCee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2016, 20:33   #9
Djruss63
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Hiya,

Thanks bud. Will give the non flash player a go and see what happens. Hopefully wont get into too much difficulties.

Cheers
Russ
Djruss63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2016, 20:45   #10
Djruss63
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Me again....

Forgot to ask, so if i paste the code as:

<audio controls src="http://djspinnercee.servemp3.com:30011/;?sid=1"></audio>

Minus the "http://djspinnercee.servemp3.com:30011

It will then produce the basic media player?

Cheers
Russ
Djruss63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2016, 21:00   #11
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,399
Send a message via ICQ to djSpinnerCee Send a message via AIM to djSpinnerCee
replace the info with your server host and port --- everything else is important.

realize the html5 audio tag is browser-specific, that means it works in some, and not in others, it looks great in some, and in others, it's really ugly. it is not universal.
djSpinnerCee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2016, 21:49   #12
Djruss63
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Ok bud, will give it a try at least.

Is this the only coded script that is suited to this media player?

Russ
Djruss63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2016, 23:21   #13
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,399
Send a message via ICQ to djSpinnerCee Send a message via AIM to djSpinnerCee
the html5 tag is generic -- it is not a media player -- it lets the browser decide what to use if anything.

if you want the system to decide what to use, the stream url is the way to go -- http://djspinnercee.servemp3.com:30011/;?sid=1 ---

the days are gone where one player will work on everything, you're gonna win some and lose some with any option. imho -- use the stream url, if the listener can handle an mp3 this will always work.
djSpinnerCee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2016, 13:29   #14
Djruss63
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Hi, ok thanks for info. Will see how I get on and will take it from there.

Cheers again
Djruss63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2016, 14:07   #15
dopelabs
Senior Member
 
dopelabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 470
Send a message via AIM to dopelabs
Quote:
Originally Posted by djSpinnerCee View Post
the days are gone where one player will work on everything, you're gonna win some and lose some with any option. imho -- use the stream url, if the listener can handle an mp3 this will always work.
a single player can work across all major devices and browsers.

all you need is a player that has a fallback ability. jwplayer, for example, will handle this just fine.

the native html5 audio tags will only work on browsers that have support/licensing to play/decode mp3 audio. not sure if this is still the case but firefox was one browser that doesnt support native playback of mp3 audio.
dopelabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2016, 08:17   #16
neralex
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 460
Since more than a year firefox supports the native playback of mp3 audio.
neralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2016, 14:27   #17
dopelabs
Senior Member
 
dopelabs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 470
Send a message via AIM to dopelabs
well then

code:

<audio controls src="http://radio.domain.comort/stream/<stream_id>/" type="audio/mpeg">
Your browser does not support the audio tag.
</audio>


should work
dopelabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2016, 02:58   #18
teaserss
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
nice


goldenslot บนมือถือ
teaserss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2017, 07:47   #19
teaserss
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
thanks for sharing info goldenslot
teaserss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > SHOUTcast > SHOUTcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump