Old 20th May 2010, 16:35   #1
DocStrange
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 56
"There is no disk in the drive"

Sometimes when I open WinAMP I get this message in an error box



The thing is, I know i don't have a don't have a disk in drive D. I don't really use my CD drive that much.

WinAMP starts on Local Media (Audio), and there is nothing in that Music Library that is on a disc.

If I press continue, Winamp continues as normal. I just want to know what's causing this curious problem.
DocStrange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 16:38   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it's due to the portable device support and in particualar the usb support when its checking the available drives against it's blacklist which i believe i fixed a few days ago for the next client release.

btw, it's Winamp not WinAMP (hasn't been the later for many years now )

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 16:44   #3
DocStrange
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 56
Oh, I see. My sister has her Audivox Pearl plugged in (its one of those AAA battery operated mp3 players, but it seems she believes you can charge that by plugging it into the computer like a real MP3 player). I'll restart Winamp with that out and see if that error message goes away.

I know it's changed to "Winamp", but I seem to always type "WinAMP" out of habit.
DocStrange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 16:48   #4
DocStrange
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 56
Ok when I restarted after removing the player, I got another of the same error message, even though I have removed the mp3 player from the computer (using that menu in the tray). Again, after pressing "continue" it allowed me into Winamp.

If absolutely nothing is plugged in right now, what's causing this problem?
DocStrange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 16:50   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
it's most likely from it doing it's internal query against the internal blacklist. all i can say at the moment is to wait to see what happens when the next release is out and if it still happens then post back to this thread (have it logged) and will have to investigate things further.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2010, 17:52   #6
DocStrange
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 56
This computer i'm on currently uses Winamp 5.51 and not the newest release. This is the first time i've seen this problem on it in a long time.

I will make sure to download the new release (whenever that comes out) when it is available and i'll see if the problem persists here.
DocStrange is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump