Old 12th August 2006, 16:04   #1
atul1710
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Media Library

I JUST NOW INSTALLED WINAMP PLAYER. AFTER INSTALLATION I GOT BELOW MESSAGE. MY INTERNET CONNECTION IS OKAY. I GETTING ALL OTHER WEB PAGE. PLEASE LET ME HAVE HELP TO RESOLVE PROBLEM. I WANT TO WATCH SHOUTCAST TV AND RADIO

"The media library feature you are attempting to use requires an internet connection. Please make sure you are connected to the internet and try again."
atul1710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2006, 17:09   #2
A Crazy German
Senior Member
 
A Crazy German's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a Bunker
Posts: 208
Maybe your FIrewall is blcoking winamp from connecting.
A Crazy German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2006, 17:46   #3
Bubba Smith
Major Dude
 
Bubba Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bubbaville, USA
Posts: 599
Yep. You need to allow Winamp access through your firewall.
Bubba Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2006, 18:46   #4
atul1710
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
what should I do for this. What setting I have to do.
atul1710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2006, 19:01   #5
Bubba Smith
Major Dude
 
Bubba Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bubbaville, USA
Posts: 599
Well, it depends on what firewall you're using, and I have no idea what it is because you never told us. For instance, I use Comodo personal firewall (the only firewall that doesn't leak), and in my Security tab/settings, there is an option for 'trusted' applications. Winamp has been included as one. You probably have something similar in whatever firewall you are using. You need to check for that setting, and add Winamp in as a trusted app.
Bubba Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2006, 23:09   #6
atul1710
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Thanks for your reply but I did't use any specific fire wall. I only using Maceff antivirus which is provided by comcast and microsft explorer with window XP. I still do not understand the fire wall setting. If you can let me know I will make changes on my explorer
atul1710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2006, 02:21   #7
A Crazy German
Senior Member
 
A Crazy German's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a Bunker
Posts: 208
check Maceff setting to allow winamp to do what it wants with out scanning it.

also try going to control panel in security center see if the windows firewall is on if it is turn it off and download a differn't firewall where you can config it better to what to do.
A Crazy German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2006, 02:41   #8
atul1710
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
I went to security tha choose fire wall off. I also compltely uninstalled Macfee and than reinstalled WINAMP but at the end of installation I am getting same error for Media Library as I mention earlier
atul1710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2006, 02:42   #9
A Crazy German
Senior Member
 
A Crazy German's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a Bunker
Posts: 208
Did you do a clean install or did you just install on top of winamp?
A Crazy German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2006, 03:18   #10
atul1710
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
I first clean WINAMP and than reinstalled
atul1710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2006, 20:44   #11
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,385
If you have not done so already, I would strongly suggest to re-enable Windows firewall and reinstall McAfee.


In Winamp, try the following
Ctrl+P > General Preferences > make sure 'Internet Connection Settings' correctly reflects your internet connection.

In Windows Internet Explorer, try the following
Tools > Internet Options... > Security tab > Trusted Sites icon > Sites... button > add *.winamp.com and *.shoutcast.com to the list.

To be sure the above changes fully take place, close Explorer, Winamp, Windows and reboot the computer.

No luck? Please post system & Winamp specs.

Please do not PM me for tech support. Any request for tech support through PM will be ignored.
Read the Stickies
---> | | | | <--- Knowledge is power
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2006, 03:34   #12
atul1710
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Yes I completely remove all the files related to WINAMP (Complete clean). I also put two site *.wiamp.com & *.shoutcasttv to the trusted site than reinstalled winamp again. But at the end of installation getting same message as "The media library feature you are attempting to use requires an internet connection. Please make sure you are connected to the internet and try again"

I donot unserstand what is wrong with my system and what chages required to connect winamp with internet
atul1710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2006, 02:11   #13
atul1710
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Can I download wianmap to other computer and than take exe file on CD or memorey stick and than download that to my computer.
atul1710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2006, 03:08   #14
A Crazy German
Senior Member
 
A Crazy German's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: In a Bunker
Posts: 208
You could try. But that would only work if its some thing in the install on your computer. By any chance do you have a router that might be a problem as well.
A Crazy German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2008, 21:42   #15
Joe Holt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 5
Why Winamp asks for connection

I had the same message. I also assume you tried to play the file in some other player like media player and that didn't work either. Winamp wants to connect to find the correct video codec to decode whatever you're trying yo play. I installed the DivX codec, and the xp codec library and all the files that asked for a connection suddenly worked! Seems silly to have to be connected to the internet just to play a video file right?
Joe Holt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump