Old 13th February 2010, 23:03   #41
Belarathon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by kerimcem
[Image]
but problems continue , plugin using cpu high and sound freezing.

That's because it's having to up-sample to 48Khz. Is your sound card a creative? Many audio cards resample everything on board to 48Khz...example, Audigy I & II, among others. Ideally you'd want a card that can do 44.1Khz without re-sampling to 48Khz.

Though my audio card will do 96Khz natively, the plugin wants to resample 96Khz source material to 44.1 Khz, causing a 5% cpu drain (dual core Opteron).
Belarathon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2010, 11:03   #42
Belarathon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
Adion:

I think you are making progress: I decided to try the plug-in again tonight, and for the first time, I had 44.1 Khz audio play back with absolutely no static! Also, you should know that besides J.river, your WASAPI implementation is the only plug-in I've used that is capable of switching the sampling rate of my sound card up to 96 Khz from the default of 44.1Khz, when called upon to do so by my music choices. That is no small feat, evidently. There is a caveat though: I cannot go *directly* from playing a 96Khz sampled tune to a 44.1Khz tune. If I do, the plug-in will not make the switch and only plays silence. If that happens, if I push the stop button, and then hit play again, the audio card then correctly changes the sample rate and the audio begins. It appears that perhaps a small crash must take place when this happens as well, because if I watch my process explorer, I notice that a second instance of winamp.exe starts up, freezes, and then terminates once I click the stop button. However, the fact remains that your plug-in being able to manipulate my sound card into the correct sample rate is progress. Strangely, after I played a 96Khz sampled song, I was no longer able to play 44.1Khz songs without static.
Belarathon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2010, 11:19   #43
Belarathon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
It's almost like I have to wait several seconds before playing a song of a different sample rate. I wonder if the new feature you implemented, holding the WASAPI session open five seconds, would be the cause. Do you still have available a plug-in without that feature, so that I might test my theory?

Thanks.
Belarathon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2010, 11:37   #44
Belarathon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 10
I should also note that when I play like sampled music, I can switch instantaneously to the next track. It's only when switching 96>44.1, or 44.1>96 that problems occur.
Belarathon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2010, 13:46   #45
kerimcem
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 76
new verison?
kerimcem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2010, 13:48   #46
Adion
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 28
Sorry, been too busy with other things lately.
I do have some ideas that I'm gonna try though, but can't promise yet when there will be a new version.
Adion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2010, 14:34   #47
kerimcem
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 76
okey. thanks..
kerimcem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2010, 08:48   #48
ppataki
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
ATI 5830 plugin does not work

Dear All,

I have an ATI 5830 card with the latest driver installed and when I try using the WASAPI plugin Winamp just won't start playing
(no error message, just simply does not do anything)

Any suggestions please?
Many thanks
ppataki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2010, 20:14   #49
nonsub
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Hi there. Thanks for this plugin. I find the plugin unstable on Win 7 X64. I'm trying to figure out a pattern, it seems like if left playing it's fine but if stopped for a period, audio starts dropping out, stops or crashes winamp. I often RDP to my box (set to leave sound on remote) and I am pretty sure this makes it more prone to instability but will do some more testing and report. I am using 16bit @ 44 via SoundMax AD1938B
nonsub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2010, 20:32   #50
nonsub
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Further note.... I can reproduce this every time. Not RDP'd in, play track for 30 seconds, press stop, wait 30 seconds, press play = audio cut outs, distortion and or/stops and/or crashes (in the wasapi_out module.) Thanks!
nonsub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2010, 23:03   #51
nonsub
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Too bad I can't edit my posts. Anyway after more testing... pause is fine it's only when using STOP and then trying to PLAY again. Interestingly if you allow a playlist/track to finish by itslef, playing something after is just fine.
nonsub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2010, 14:40   #52
Dexter_prog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15
It's not letting my do panning, is there a way to fix this?
Dexter_prog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2010, 13:09   #53
Dexter_prog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dexter_prog View Post
It's not letting my do panning, is there a way to fix this?
hello? Please fix

You should also include an option to disable muting other applications as many of us do not want that.

Last edited by Dexter_prog; 18th November 2010 at 14:20.
Dexter_prog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2010, 19:20   #54
frankmanny
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1
Hi, the pause/play workaround instead of stop works for me - I'd been getting the same "RenderDisconnectCallback" error when playing in 24-Bit when I start playing the first song in my playlist, and then it promptly crashing when I stop and try to play another song. Now I've got 24 bit working in exclusive mode - excellent!

Has anyone else noticed that the sound output is much quieter when using this output plugin? I'm tempted to increase the gain from my input plugin (FFsox player) to compensate.
frankmanny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2011, 01:32   #55
bit-perfect_fan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 17
would be nice to have another update which fixes the stop playback crash bug
bit-perfect_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2011, 15:13   #56
JayR
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Anyone also stuck in Shared mode? I don't understand how the plugin is incapable of securing exclusive access to my sound device...
JayR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Developer Center > Winamp Development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump