Old 19th October 2005, 17:57   #1
shifter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 149
beta 4 presets

I couldn't resist trying out the nifty new features in the new beta, and these are some of the results..

also included a couple designed for the regular version.. and the beta ones seem to run just fine on regular milkdrop anyhow, though obviously not quite as intended.
Attached Files
File Type: zip shifter beta4 +.zip (11.6 KB, 360 views)
shifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th October 2005, 19:34   #2
redi jedi
Will code for food
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: orlando
Posts: 521
dude, those are sweet! i love the bronchiole ones, hell there all badass, keep up the good work

edit: btw rapid birth doenst run correctly on my comp, the alpha value of wave 1 is too low for what ever reasion, just a black screen

Blah!
redi jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2005, 04:15   #3
shifter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 149
thanks!

mmk, made a quick and dirty fix, the 'bright' variant

plus updated for version beta 4b
Attached Files
File Type: zip shifter beta4b.zip (7.8 KB, 318 views)
shifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2005, 04:22   #4
Phat
Major Dude
 
Phat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 940
Hey Shifter, maybe you should post the beta presets in the milkdrop development forum, just to keep things easy.

That's what I've been doing, if I make 1.04 versions of beta presets, I just make a new thread here.

Good work.

Heh, the time stamp on this looks like we made our remix of you're code before you wrote it... heh.
Attached Files
File Type: zip shifter - bronchiole (eo.s.+phat edit).zip (2.1 KB, 319 views)

Last edited by Phat; 20th October 2005 at 04:40.
Phat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2005, 07:09   #5
shifter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 149
Ah, well i figured it would be better to keep the dev forum for actual development work, rather than cluttering it with presets? easier to just tag a post in this forum as beta..

ooh.. nice remix, i'm going to have to reuse that waveform of yours

and a couple more..
Attached Files
File Type: zip shifter beta4b if remix.zip (5.6 KB, 309 views)
shifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2005, 09:28   #6
Phat
Major Dude
 
Phat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 940
Well yea, that and there is a textured shape that follows you're center point recalculations, and a shape that adds a little black to each frame. (So that the black actually fades to black when the decay is turned all the way up)

Yea, Eo.S. made the waveform thicker for this one. I had just been doing it with a textured shape and a single pixel waveform. By making it only grab a the screen slightly, and making it transparent on the inside. But that doesn't work without texture wrap on, and I wanted to make that shape define more negative space.

I've been putting the ones that break when loading in to current milkdrop into the other forum because I'm not sure everyone gets the whole preset/program thing that well. (I don't want them to just look broken to them) The ones that load in both I'm posting here.

Last edited by Phat; 20th October 2005 at 09:58.
Phat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2005, 17:58   #7
shifter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 149
yeah, that's prolly a good idea for beta specific presets, or ones that are just designed to demonstrate a new feature.. so far everything i've made still looks decent on 1.04 - it is quite neat how they can still work with missing code
shifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2005, 19:34   #8
shifter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 149
i did notice the other mods, but that gradient border is neat.. so a remix
Attached Files
File Type: zip shifter tethered rmx.zip (4.8 KB, 309 views)
shifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2005, 21:45   #9
Phat
Major Dude
 
Phat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 940
Those are some good remixes.

Yea, it's weird, alot ot times in order to make new presets, I delete the per-frame or per-pixel code. A lot of times it makes a cool preset. (or can be made cool with like 1 or 2 lines of code)
Phat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2005, 05:44   #10
redi jedi
Will code for food
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: orlando
Posts: 521
nice remixes guys, they look great!
heres a few of mine, by the way, white motion vectors + per pixel decay = freaking sweet!
Attached Files
File Type: zip shifter remix.zip (8.8 KB, 308 views)

Blah!
redi jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2005, 16:32   #11
Rovastar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: London, England
Posts: 3,632
Send a message via AIM to Rovastar
Where should wee put Beta presets?

I don't mind moving them.

Would another subdirectory under MilKDrop Dev --> Dev Presets be too much nesting?

Or here with a prefix of Beta xxx (and that should be strictly v1.05 beta4) in teh title it will get confusing.

Or loose in MilkDrop dev>?

Let me know and I'll move do stickly , etc

"Rules are for the guidance of wisemen and the obedience of fools"

Visuals - Morphyre www.Morphyre.com
Rovastar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2005, 02:39   #12
Telek
Member
 
Telek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 95
Would a
Milkdrop --> Dev Presets
be too confusing?

otherwise Milkdrop -> Milkdrop Dev -> Dev Presents

..thats what I think anyway..

Telek Sterling
Dilettante Extraordinaire
Telek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2005, 09:06   #13
shifter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 149
redi: nice work mate, i like the decay based colour cycling
I think there's a bug in the borders on extacy mix tho, you use: echo_zoom=min((progress)*4,1); but haven't defined progress?
shifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2005, 15:58   #14
redi jedi
Will code for food
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: orlando
Posts: 521
progress is a built in varible, it makes for very cool transions, that line makes it so when the preset starts the echo is zoomed out, and for the first 1/4 of the presets run time the echo will zoom in, intell it hits one, then stays there till it ends. take off scroll lock, you'll see it zooming, it looks pretty cool, imho.

oh and FYI, progress resets when the transion to the next presets begins so it does it at the begining and the end, altho the one at the end is not really liner so it does some weird stuff, still looks good though

oh, and thank you, i feel special

Blah!
redi jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2005, 19:39   #15
shifter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 149
ah, ok i've never used that var. i always have scroll lock on so when i loaded it i just got fuzz
shifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2005, 05:29   #16
StudioMusic
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 852
i boot up to scroll lock. SM
StudioMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > MilkDrop > MilkDrop Presets

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump