Old 17th November 2006, 06:39   #1
hushypushy
Member
 
hushypushy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 53
Replaygain is a huge resource hog?

I've recently begun using replaygain, and I love it except for one small thing:

It's incredibly slow. Not the performance of Replaygain itself, it scans fairly fast it seems. But it's an incredible system hog. If I try to open another program, edit a tag, open a tab in Firefox, or even switch to Winamp or any other window, it's incredibly slow!

I looked for anything on setting CPU process priority and there was nothing.

My CPU is an AMD Athlon XP 2500+ and I have 1gb PC3200 RAM.

On a side note, Replaygain analysis in Foobar2000 is the same speed, except it's not a complete resource hog; CPU usage is 100% but I can still do everything normally.
hushypushy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2006, 14:33   #2
gameplaya15143
Major Dude
 
gameplaya15143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Earth
Posts: 753
Set winamp's priority to idle while scanning.
gameplaya15143 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2006, 16:47   #3
Blaubaer
Junior Member
 
Blaubaer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 29
Send a message via ICQ to Blaubaer Send a message via AIM to Blaubaer Send a message via Yahoo to Blaubaer
hmmmm replaygain scanning in foobar is about 4 times faster than in winamp for me
Blaubaer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2006, 16:59   #4
hushypushy
Member
 
hushypushy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally posted by gameplaya15143
Set winamp's priority to idle while scanning.
Well, that works but, are there any negative repercussions that come with setting process priority at idle? I mean as far as playback, visualization, ML, etc? I'll keep it on idle and see if I can notice a difference.
hushypushy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2006, 17:29   #5
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
All "idle" priority means is that Winamp will be more willing to defer resources to other processes with higher priorities.

powered by C₂H₅OH
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2006, 17:37   #6
hushypushy
Member
 
hushypushy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 53
Yeah, I know. I'd prefer not to have it crawl to a halt or freeze when I'm doing lots of other things like encoding, etc, though.
hushypushy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2006, 17:38   #7
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by Blaubaer
hmmmm replaygain scanning in foobar is about 4 times faster than in winamp for me
Are you using 5.31? There was a performance issue with MP3 decoding in 5.3
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2006, 21:25   #8
hushypushy
Member
 
hushypushy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 53
On an interesting prologue to this, I installed Winamp 5.31 on my other computer (PIII 1ghz) and, while running very slow, Replaygain is NOT a system hog and it runs perfectly without freezing. So it's got to be some issue with the AXP box, oh well.
hushypushy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2006, 00:45   #9
Blaubaer
Junior Member
 
Blaubaer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 29
Send a message via ICQ to Blaubaer Send a message via AIM to Blaubaer Send a message via Yahoo to Blaubaer
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
Are you using 5.31? There was a performance issue with MP3 decoding in 5.3
I couldn't remember so I just scanned an album with both winamp 5.31 and foobar:

12 mp3 files @ 192 kbps CBR
total size: 76MB
total length: 55:15

winamp took 152 seconds while foobar took only 39.


ps: my cpu isn't the fastest (Athlon 2200+)
Blaubaer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2006, 01:00   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,852
Hmm... strange.

Note that the latest version is now 5.32
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2006, 01:12   #11
Blaubaer
Junior Member
 
Blaubaer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 29
Send a message via ICQ to Blaubaer Send a message via AIM to Blaubaer Send a message via Yahoo to Blaubaer
I saw the thread for 5.32 just after i posted this >_>

I scanned the same album again with 5.32 and it isn't any faster. But what the hell, it's not like i rescan my whole library everyday.

Thanks a lot for the new stuff in 5.32!
Blaubaer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd November 2006, 01:36   #12
hushypushy
Member
 
hushypushy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Hmm... strange.

Note that the latest version is now 5.32
Yeah and I did see that new RG fix. When I get back home (currently at my parents' for the holidays) I'll try that out and see how it goes.
hushypushy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump