Old 8th August 2004, 14:32   #1
Stewart Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
V5.04 crashes

Hi,
I have been using various versions of WA for some time with very good results. Recently I upgraded from V5.03 to V5.04 and have been having great difficulty in getting it to work. It crashes almost immediately I try and do something,gives the Windows error report window then closes.
I have read the FAQ's on the subject and have tried the following:-
Tried 5.03, now gives the same problem
Uninstalled 5.03 and 5.04.
Removed Winamp directory and Winamp.ini and Winagent.ini
Ran a registry cleaner program
Ran Spybot S&D
Ran Kaspersky virus checker
Ran HighJack and produced log (file attached)
(I have looked through the file, but can find nothing suspect)
Re-booted system (XP Home)
Reinstalled DirectX drivers (V9)
Dissabled Kaspersky and re-installed V5.04
Still the same problem.

Is there something that I have missed ?
Help very much appreciated.

T.I.A

Stewart
Stewart Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2004, 17:38   #2
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Have you seen the Common Issues section of the Troubleshooters Sticky? Some good crash tips/fixes there. Otherwise please provide system specs including the names of any third party Winamp plug-ins, and details of the error message.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2004, 07:17   #3
Stewart Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
Sorry,

Here are the details:-
Motherboard = AMR K7VZA
CPU = AMD 600
RAM = 512MB
Sound = PCI Creative 1024
Dipslay = AGP Viper NVIDIA
OS = XP Home 5.1.2600 SP1 Build 2600
DIRECTX = 9.0c
No 3rd party winamp plug-ins.

Windows error mesage:-
AppName:winamp.exe AppVer 5.0.04 ModName: unknown
ModVer:0.0.0.0 Offset:00d68b20

I have read the Common Issues, but after trying many things am still no further forward. What surprsises me is that WA crashes almost immediately and when I try to do anything. Previously everything was very stable, and I have not changed H/W or S/W with the exception of trying to upgrade to V5.04.

regards

Stewart
Stewart Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2004, 13:32   #4
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
"ModName: unknown" is a pretty tricky one to diagnoze...

Hmm, so you definitely followed the clean install instructions, and you haven't (re)installed any extra plugins, and you're using either the default classic or modern skin (not some 3rd-party modern skin)?

I noticed you said in your first post that your HijackThis log was attached... however, it isn't! So maybe you could try attaching it again?
Note, you will need to either zip it up, or change the extension from .log to .txt first (because .log is not an accepted file extension for attachments on these forums).

Also make sure you've got the very latest version of HJT first.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2004, 13:41   #5
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Maybe you have already read this, are you on a limited user account? The almost looks like limiter user issue to me. Otherwise, when you reinstalled Winamp was that a full uninstall/reinstall of Winamp.

Still no luck? Your Hijack This log (from you first reply) some how did not attach. Please make a fresh one and post it. Save the log file with a TXT (instead of log) extension, that will allow Winamp forums to recognize it as a attachment. Thanks & Good Luck

[edit]Grrr, too slow [/edit]
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2004, 14:58   #6
Stewart Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
Hi DJ Egg & JonnyMac,

Thanks for your replies. Sorry about the attachment (or lack of). It was sent as a .txt file. Only one user on the system, so I have full Administrator rights. I believe that I have got rid of everything from the old installation before doing a new install. I have looked through the registry and the hard disk to make sure that nothings left.
I have done a scan of the XP system files, again nothing found.

I looked at another error message, and this time I got one with a module.
AppName: winamp.exe AppVer: 5.0.0.4 ModName: gen_ff.dll
ModVer: 0.0.0.0 Offset: 00108b24

The crashes are all over the place.

Thanks for your help

Stewart
Attached Files
File Type: txt log.txt (30.7 KB, 314 views)
Stewart Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2004, 18:29   #7
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Ok, I think this is related to the old incompatibility issue with nView.

Do you only get this problem with the Modern skin, and not the Classic skin?

See here for the (hopeful) fix:
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....03#post1300303



ps.

wow, you're running TClockEx.
Heh, I used to have that on my old Win98SE system, but I could never get it to work properly under WinXP... it always seemed to crash. Has it been updated recently or something?

I see the following line in your startups:

Autorun entries from Registry:
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

>> KernelFaultCheck = %systemroot%\system32\dumprep 0 -k <<

This means that your system has recovered from a major crash.

You can disable the memory dump report if you wish...
Instructions at the beginning of this post

The only really useless/resource-hogging entry in your startups is the SunJavaUpdateSched. You can disable that with HJT if you wish...

I'm not too familiar with WinRescueXP. Is it any good? Or does it cause more problems than it actually prevents?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2004, 11:34   #8
Stewart Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
DJ Egg,
Oh Boy ! What fun ! I think that I have finally got things going. Here is what I did:-
Clean install of 2.91, no crashes, but Internet Radio not working correctly. Traced to Stream list not refreshing.
I determined this as my other system running V5.03c (on the same network) refreshed the list OK.
Found that after changing the number of stream to be downloaded (ML prefs) and refreshing things started working. I think that the crashes might have been caused by trying to access old entries in list.Changing the number of entries seemed to allow correct refreshing of the list. Performed the same actions with V5.04, all appears to be OK at present
I would be interested in your comments.

Some answers to your mail:
I don't use the Nview manager, so no conflicts.
TClockEx now has a XP version, Day/Date in taskbar usefull.
WinRescue98 saved my bacon a couple of times so I brought WinRescueXP. I does allow me to schedule backups each day when the system is first powered up. Highly recommended software.
Thanks for your observations on the log. I will make the changes you suggested.

regards

Stewart
Stewart Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2004, 11:40   #9
Stewart Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
DJ Egg,

Spoke (emailed) to soon. Crashing problem still there, back to V2.91.

Stewart
Stewart Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2004, 11:48   #10
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
[Edit] Oops. I missed your 2nd post [/Edit]

Ah. I see.

Hmm, that's interesting...

Winamp shouldn't crash if it's displaying old content and you attempt to access/stream one of the links. It should probably just say 'error syncing to mpeg' or 'http 404 - not available' (or words to that effect).

Not sure what the hell happened there, but a clean install of 5.04 should've fixed it, or (with winamp closed) just deleting the relevant database files from the winamp\plugins\ml dir (eg. radio.dat, radio.idx, radio.vmd).

Re: No. of streams to fetch:
What figure did you have it set to?
Default is 500, though I've currently got mine set to 6000

Anyway, glad to hear that everything seems to be working now


Hmm, I assumed nwiz was something to do with nview, heh.

Re: TClockEx
woot!
/me goes to get latest version.
cheers
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2004, 14:40   #11
Stewart Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
DJ Egg,

I'd like to try and revert to V5.03c, but the link to the patch is down. Can you help with providing the file as a temporary fix ?

regards

Stewart
Stewart Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2004, 18:40   #12
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
All the 5.03 patch contains is 5 plugins:
in_cdda.dll | in_wm.dll | in_dshow.dll | in_mp3.dll | gen_hotkeys

these exact same plugins are included with 5.04
(except there's a newer in_mp3.dll in 5.04, with built-in aacplus decoder).

Have you tried a clean install of 5.04 yet?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2004, 19:15   #13
narcotico
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
I have similar problem myself. Winamp 5.04 starts and then shows up the windows bug report window and it says this:

AppName: winamp.exe
AppVer: 5.0.0.4
ModName: user32.dll
ModVer: 5.1.2600.2180
Offset: 0002ef68

I'm using Windows XP with SP2, and no plug-ins installed.
And yes, I've tried older versions, did clean install, did upgrade install won't help.
narcotico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2004, 06:42   #14
Stewart Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
DJ Egg,

OK about the patch for V5.03.

If you view my first post in this thread you will see that I did a clean install. Each time I try a new way of resolving this problem I have done a clean install.
I have tried V5.01,V5.03,V5.04,V2.91 and V2.95c. V2.91 and V2.95c are the only ones that do not crash when I use Internet Radio.

regards

Stewart
regards
Stewart Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2004, 10:02   #15
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hmm, well I'm really not sure what's causing it....

Winamp 5.04 -> Prefs > Media Library

Library Options tab

Uncheck: Display 'Show Info' in media and album views
Checkmark both: Do not allow media to auto switch to Now Playing
Do not allow web content to execute javascript/activex

Apart from those settings, I'm at a loss as to what could be causing the crash... especially if you've carried out the exact clean install instructions and deleted the entire Winamp folder before reinstalling, and you're not using ANY 3rd-party plugins or skins.

Sorry :/
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2004, 18:13   #16
Stewart Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
DJ Egg,

Tried your suggestions, but unfortunately no joy. The refresh list works OK, and clicking on a stations connects.
Then I get the original error message :-
AppName: winamp.exe AppVer: 5.0.0.4 ModName: unknown
ModVer: 0.0.0.0 Offset: 03618b20
Winamp then shuts down.
Thanks for your help, and I will monitor this forum to see if anything comes to light.

regards

Stewart
Stewart Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2004, 18:35   #17
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
This is a kind of a long shot , but I did notice a line pertaining remote desktop in your Hjt log. Are you running Winamp over a remote desktop? There have been some remote desktop issues with Winamp.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2004, 20:01   #18
.hXc.
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 514
Posts: 46
Dang, I got the same problem also. I tried what I could, nothing worked.
.hXc. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2004, 07:00   #19
Stewart Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
JonnyMac,

No remote, just plain vanilla single computer with admin rights.

.hXc.,
Let's hope someone stumbles across the answer.

regards

Stewart
Stewart Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2004, 09:47   #20
narcotico
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2
I just resolved my problem and Stewart Baker, you could try this one too. Obivously you're using WinXP, try running Winamp in WIN95, WINME/98 compatibility mode, I did this and it doesn't crash anymore, works just fine.
narcotico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2004, 11:01   #21
Stewart Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
Hi narcotico,

Thanks for your mail. Unfortunately when I changed Winamp to run in Win98 compatibility mode it made no difference.
Still the same old (boring) message.

regards

Stewart
Stewart Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2004, 12:01   #22
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
I'm still baffled...

Could you try another clean install of 5.04, but this time install Winamp to a different dir, eg. "C:\Program Files\Winamp 5", or "C:\Documents and Settings\(Admin User Account)\Winamp 5", or even "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Documents\Winamp 5"

Seeing the error only seems to be occuring when you try to play Shoutcast radio streams....

Make sure the correct Internet Connection type is selected in Winamp Prefs > General Preferences.

And make sure your firewall (Sygate PF) is configured to allow Winamp full access to the internet / all ports.

Again, try those Media Library settings from my post further up, and also try these DirectSound Output tweaks.

If the problem still persists, then maybe you could post an actual HijackThis LOG (not a StartUpList)...
HJT > Scan > Save Log
save as hijackthis.txt & attach here.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2004, 15:08   #23
Stewart Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
DJ Egg,

Reinstalled into C:\PF\Winamp5, I dissabled my Sygate PF firewall, tried your suggestions, but still no go.

Log file attached.

regards

Stewart
Attached Files
File Type: txt log1.txt (3.9 KB, 163 views)
Stewart Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2004, 19:54   #24
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Hmm, dogpile.com toolbar search is known malware
http://securityresponse.symantec.com...e.dogpile.html
http://www.spywareguide.com/product_show.php?id=651

I suggest you remove/uninstall it.

These are the entries I recommend you should fix with HJT

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://www.dogpile.com/info.dogpl.dld.toolbar/dog/forms/search.htm

R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://www.dogpile.com/info.dogpl.dld.toolbar/dog/forms/search.htm

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://www.dogpile.com/info.dogpl.dld.toolbar/dog/forms/search.htm

R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =

R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page =

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot


Optional: (if it were my system, I'd also remove/disable these)

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2_04\bin\jusched.exe

O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - (no file)

O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - (no file)

O9 - Extra button: Related - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm

O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links - {c95fe080-8f5d-11d2-a20b-00aa003c157a} - C:\WINDOWS\web\related.htm

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install


Although I've never heard of it until just now, all the research I've done so far seems to suggest that the Groowe Toolbar (GrooweToolbar.dll) is safe.


Again, I'm not sure if these are the cause of your Winamp woes,
but it won't do your system any harm to disable them... only good.

(naturally, you need to reboot for changes to take effect)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2004, 20:28   #25
.hXc.
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 514
Posts: 46
I still don't understand what's going on, but that could be because I'm useless when you get this technical with computers.
.hXc. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2004, 17:10   #26
Stewart Baker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
DJ Egg,

Cleaned off all the 'Digits and Dogs' you suggested, guess what ? Still the same...

regards

Stewart
Stewart Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2004, 18:49   #27
Korashime
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hillsboro OR
Posts: 2
I'm having the same problem.

Windows XP Pro (SP2)
Dell Optiplex SX270
PIV 2.6gHz
512MB RAM
Clean Install.

Some further symptomology.

I installed the Winamp 5.04 as the machine's admin. When executed in this account it works fine. However, when someone not an administrator logs in, winamp then takes much longer to load, and it then crashes whenever an MP3 is played.
Korashime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2004, 19:36   #28
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
@ Korashime

Limited/Multiple User Issues

@ .hXc.

See my first reply to Stewart Baker.

@ Stewart Baker

I hope the problem is resolved for you.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2004, 19:42   #29
Korashime
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hillsboro OR
Posts: 2
Oy...yes. After I posted here I turned on the brain and decided to use the forums search feature. It now works perfectly. Sorry for adding to the noise level.
Korashime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2004, 19:56   #30
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
Well, the important thing is you did search for a solution. Good job.
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2004, 19:57   #31
.hXc.
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 514
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally posted by JonnyMac
[B@ .hXc.

See my first reply to Stewart Baker.
[/B]

When I said I'm having the same problems, I meant that it's the same thing. And I can't copy+paste the error message either. Like I said, I tried what I could.
What I need to know is, aside from streaming, is the problem fixed with Stewart? If so, then I just gotta try everything that was mentioned... as much as I can, and it'll be fixed, because I never stream from the net anyways. Like radio and stuff. On WinAmp. 5.04. Dot.
.hXc. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th August 2004, 20:28   #32
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
I understand you are having the same or a very similar problem. Unfortunately SB's problem is still unresolved.

Basically what we need to help you is your system info/specs. Give us what information you can. It is nearly impossible to try to diagnose what may be causing the problem with out that info. Is there anything about error message you can remember?
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2004, 16:25   #33
.hXc.
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 514
Posts: 46
Aha! I found it.

Didn't realize I could copy past this part:

AppName: winamp.exe AppVer: 5.0.0.4 ModName: gen_ml.dll
ModVer: 0.0.0.0 Offset: 0000869d



Specs:

AMD Athlon(tm) Processor
801 MHz
256MB of RAM

Windows OS: Windows XP 2002 Professional Service Pack 1

I don't know where to find the rest.
.hXc. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2004, 20:17   #34
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
@ .hXc.

Maybe this...
That error message may indicate a corrupted media library file.
While Winamp is not running try deleting the main.dat file in the media library folder (usually C:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins\ml). If that does not work try deleting the contents of the media library folder. Unfortunately that will result in the lost of media library data, so you will have to rescan the folders (if you want to).

If there are any media library playlists back them up by copying or moving them to another folder. Media Library playlists have a randomly generated filename.
Example: plf****.m3u (where **** represents a set of numbers and letters).
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2004, 13:55   #35
.hXc.
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: 514
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally posted by JonnyMac
@ .hXc.

Maybe this...
That error message may indicate a corrupted media library file.
While Winamp is not running try deleting the main.dat file in the media library folder (usually C:\Program Files\Winamp\Plugins\ml). If that does not work try deleting the contents of the media library folder. Unfortunately that will result in the lost of media library data, so you will have to rescan the folders (if you want to).

If there are any media library playlists back them up by copying or moving them to another folder. Media Library playlists have a randomly generated filename.
Example: plf****.m3u (where **** represents a set of numbers and letters).


Deleting the main.dat file did nothing but make it come back

Deleting the media library seems to have worked
.hXc. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2004, 17:31   #36
sebreid
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally posted by narcotico
I have similar problem myself. Winamp 5.04 starts and then shows up the windows bug report window and it says this:

AppName: winamp.exe
AppVer: 5.0.0.4
ModName: user32.dll
ModVer: 5.1.2600.2180
Offset: 0002ef68

I'm using Windows XP with SP2, and no plug-ins installed.
And yes, I've tried older versions, did clean install, did upgrade install won't help.
AppName: winamp.exe AppVer: 5.0.0.3 ModName: user32.dll
ModVer: 5.1.2600.2180 Offset: 0002ef68

Exact same error happening here. Upgraded to SP2, and this error has been occuring ever since. Happens randomly when files are playing. Hasnt occured to my knowledge when songs havent been playing.
sebreid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2004, 18:51   #37
DocMARs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1
Yep, same here! I have Windows XP SP2 and I get these user32.dll crashes randomly if not right when I run WinAmp 5.04.
DocMARs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2004, 19:20   #38
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
@ DocMARs & sebreid

Did you try the suggestion posted by narcotico:
Quote:
Originally posted by narcotico
Obivously you're using WinXP, try running Winamp in WIN95, WINME/98 compatibility mode, I did this and it doesn't crash anymore, works just fine.

Good Winamp plugins by Joonas, DrO and shaneh.
If you're bored go here or, if the boredom is more serious, here.
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2004, 20:01   #39
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
@ DocMARs & sebreid

What have you tried to resolve the issue? There are several different suggestions/issues/fixes posted throughout this thread.

Full uninstall/reinstall (AKA clean install) ?
Limited/multi user issue/fixes?
There are a couple other issues/fixes mentioned in this thread


No luck? Please post further system specs as described here including the names of any third party plug-ins. Are you using a desktop replacement enhancer or utiltity (yzshadow, nView, Litestep, Samurize, StyleXP, Windows Blinds, Perfect Menu, Aston shell, etc.)?
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump