Old 26th November 2004, 15:40   #1
PC Radio Net
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 482
Send a message via AIM to PC Radio Net Send a message via Yahoo to PC Radio Net
YP down again?

I take it the YP is down again? I'm getting numerous <11/26/04@11:38:32> [yp_tch] error connecting to yp.shoutcast.com messages in the server monitor. I haven't had a touched message in the last 20 minutes.

The PC Radio Network: An upbeat variety of the 50s-Today!
PC Radio Net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 15:43   #2
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,978
seems that it all depends on where you enter the YP at shoutcast , because i only get a few of those errors and it does say touched inbetween.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 15:55   #3
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,511
I'm seeing steady errors -- yp_add, yp_tch... Connot see station... etc...

Not a good time to debug ....

{add:} <11/26/04@12:26:47> [yp_add] yp.shoutcast.com added me successfully
<11/26/04@12:30:08> [yp_tch] error connecting to yp.shoutcast.com


Getting better.... but a bad hair day for YP[.shoutcast.com].

Last edited by djSpinnerCee; 26th November 2004 at 17:09.
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 17:05   #4
Oloff
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 5
what is YP?
Oloff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 18:09   #5
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
shoutcast yellow pages server, basically, the phone book of all shoutcasty goodness.

CraigF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 19:42   #6
Dogga
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida USA
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Dogga
I've noticed a couple of coincidences:

- Shoutcast DNAS v1.9.2 was apparently released on November 26, 2002. Today is November 26th, exactly 2 years later.

- www.shoutcast.com seems to be lagging extremely atm. Also, none of the AOL-supported streams are showing up in the yp.

Coincidences? I dunno....
Dogga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2004, 20:04   #7
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
i still see digitally imported in the yp.

CraigF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2004, 17:27   #8
DJ Zath
Senior Member
 
DJ Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: WARP Radio Network - Master Control Center
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to DJ Zath
CraigF:

You Are the Dungeon Keeper!

(or Horny's best friend?)

DjZ
DJ Zath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2004, 18:27   #9
Dogga
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida USA
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to Dogga
Quote:
Originally posted by CraigF
i still see digitally imported in the yp.
It wasn't listed when I posted the message.
Dogga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2004, 20:23   #10
oppy10512
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 42
Send a message via AIM to oppy10512
yp not working

im geting the same thing

error connecting to yp.shoutcast.com

i think its just somthin shoutcast is going to have to fix becasue i have contetions to live 365 and it works

also have a listing on audiorealm and ther haveing problems with shout cast as well this is what they said on ther site






Shoutcast listing problems: SC2 and SC3
.:. Posted on 17 August 2004

Our one network in California was blocked today by SHOUTcast.com due to some violation. This means none of the stations on sc2.audiorealm.com or sc3.audiorealm.com will be listed on the SHOUTcast.com station listing.

We are not aware of any violations on our part, and this must have been a violation caused by a single user. Unfortunately SHOUTcast blocks the complete subnet on violations and thus both servers on our subnet were affected.

We have contacted SHOUTcast about the issue and hope to hear back from them soon. If we do not have a resolution within the next 24 hours we can do one of two things:
1. Move all streams on those two servers to another network.
2. Assign a new IP address block to those servers.

Either way it will mean the IP address to your stream will change. We thus recommend you use the DNS name instead of the IP address, so that your stream will point to the correct location as soon as we update our DNS on our end.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you for your understanding in this matter.

Feel free to contact support if you have any additional questions or concerns.

The SpacialAudio Team
oppy10512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2004, 18:30   #11
DJ Zath
Senior Member
 
DJ Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: WARP Radio Network - Master Control Center
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to DJ Zath
To be honest...

I think all this is intentional and AOL only wants to display the MEGA MILLION DOLLAR broadcasters like DI and all those "big boy" stations that show up, when you visit the scast directory, who PAID some big bucks for their place at the top!

What BETTER way to eliminate the competition by BANNING or ignoreing all the contenders?!

Mind you, a little guy running 4 streams from his home computer isn't considered a "contender".. but stations like WARP and others ARE and we have been DENIED the privelege of being listed by having our providers either banned, or "can't be seen from the net..."! Now, I understand that its AOL, and they have EVERY RIGHT to do with their network as they please.. but then they shouldn't call it FREE listings.. since they AREN'T free AT ALL!

DjZ
DJ Zath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2004, 18:49   #12
CraigF
Passionately Apathetic
Administrator
 
CraigF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Hell
Posts: 5,435
its probably all related to the recent issues.

CraigF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2004, 18:49   #13
DJHotIce
Forum Loser
(Forum King)
 
DJHotIce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: That place I can't remember the name.
Posts: 4,617
Send a message via AIM to DJHotIce Send a message via Yahoo to DJHotIce
DJ Zath,

Your dwelling in an issue that has continued ever since I joined Internet Radio.... and even before me. THERE IS NO way around this unfortunately.

-DJHotIce
Bounce Multimedia - Professional Web Design
DJHotIce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2004, 19:03   #14
DJ Zath
Senior Member
 
DJ Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: WARP Radio Network - Master Control Center
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to DJ Zath
Yes sir!

I have started back in 98.. when shoutcasting was in its infantcy!

I was the first all-comedy station on the net, too...

(wow that was a long time ago!)

Craig and HotIce.. You both are very wise!

Thanks for responding..

DjZ
DJ Zath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2004, 00:37   #15
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,511
I don't know if it's just me or something else going on with my gear, but it seems like when YP is having these issues and I try to listen over my LAN, I get excessive buffering [skipping] which seems to coincide with yp_tch errors. For my 32k stream, I don't see anything funny, but at 64K, 96K, or 128K, it seems like any player I use will experience skips and re-buffer pausing. And, just like the ominous nature of the YP errors, it will go away, just as mysteriously as it arrived.
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2004, 17:58   #16
DJ Zath
Senior Member
 
DJ Zath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: WARP Radio Network - Master Control Center
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to DJ Zath
Hey there SpinnerCee..
That is mysterious.. I would think the two are co-incidental.... and that you have some form of spyware on the network

-OR-

if they seem to happen at the same time..

you are being "packeted" on your x+1 port!

This dirty trick is called the X+1 Exploit and its simply a DDoSing at your DSP-to-DNAS connection which is VERY vurnable to this attack!

If yp requires direct access to the X+1 port at the source entry... and pings it.. that would explain a LOT!

DjZ
DJ Zath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2004, 18:12   #17
Jay
Moderator Alumni
 
Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Next Door
Posts: 8,942
the yp does not require access to your source port. Take your tin foil hats off please.
Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2004, 19:09   #18
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,511
I doubt it DJZath I have a pretty good logging system, so I would know if such an attack were occurring -- Now that all is clear so far w/respect to the YP my issue has gone away as well -- next time, I'll uncheck "make this server public" when I notice the problem to prove the point.
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump