Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th March 2006, 23:37   #1
BastardKidKris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to BastardKidKris
docking winamp, but not on edges of screen

i have my winamp like this all the time, i just want to make it so i cant move it unless i uncheck an option or something

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...t004/winmp.jpg

possible?
BastardKidKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2006, 03:08   #2
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
as far as i know, there aren't any plugins that lock windows in place. but that would be cool.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2006, 01:12   #3
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
Shouldn't be too hard to write such a plugin.
I'll see what I can do and if I find the time.
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2006, 19:41   #4
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
I was wrong - it is hard and there is no easy "pretty" solution to this problem. My plugin prevents the main, equalizer and playlist window from being moved. It does not deny resizing the playlist window and it lacks config. There still might be a chance it does what you asked for. Source is included.

>> gen_freeze_05.zip
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2006, 14:32   #5
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
I added config and finished it.

>> gen_freeze_10.zip
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2006, 22:42   #6
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
very good job. no crashes

If you're taking requests:
1.Is it possible to make windowshade behave normally. If you click windowshade, and main is stacked on top pledit, pledit should move up & snap with main & move down when main is clicked back to normal

2.add "would you like to restart now" if changed were made to the preferences.

3.the way the plugin is, i doubt this is possible. have a hotkey to hold down that allows movement. if this isnt possible...thats cool

if some type of bug pops up, I'll let you know.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2006, 01:52   #7
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally posted by billyvnilly
If you're taking requests:
1.Is it possible to make windowshade behave normally. If you click windowshade, and main is stacked on top pledit, pledit should move up & snap with main & move down when main is clicked back to normal

2.add "would you like to restart now" if changed were made to the preferences.
These two should be no problem. Restarting and detecting
window shade switching already works. Next release should
not be too far. I'll keep you up to date.

Quote:
Originally posted by billyvnilly
3.the way the plugin is, i doubt this is possible. have a hotkey to hold down that allows movement. if this isnt possible...thats cool
The problem is Winamp keeps some kind of "virtual" window
position inside. So if the plugin denies moving the window
Winamp still thinks it has been moved since click-and-drag
is moving to Winamp. There does not seem to be a way to
make Winamp update its virtual window positions or tell
what these positions are. If there was such a message it
would be possible.
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2006, 15:57   #8
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
Here's the new version. Asks for restart and handles window shade toggling.

>> gen_freeze_12.zip
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2006, 02:51   #9
BastardKidKris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to BastardKidKris
just got your email, tossed in the dll, fired up winamp and i am very happy. i just kinda forgot about it actually

works great

ThinkPad T61, C2D @ 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2, Win7x64Pro
BastardKidKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2006, 12:15   #10
priestlyboy
Junior Member
 
priestlyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to priestlyboy Send a message via Yahoo to priestlyboy
Pretty neat plugin
Too bad you have to restart it all the time if you want to move the windows.

~Allustar
priestlyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2006, 12:30   #11
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally posted by priestlyboy
Pretty neat plugin
Too bad you have to restart it all the time if you want to move the windows.

~Allustar
Sorry, there is nothing I can do about it.
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2006, 13:13   #12
priestlyboy
Junior Member
 
priestlyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to priestlyboy Send a message via Yahoo to priestlyboy
I understood that... Maybe that can be wished for to the Winamp Devs...hmm

~Allustar
priestlyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2006, 22:54   #13
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
billyvnilly reported a bug with window shade
toggling so here is the fixed version:

>> gen_freeze_13.zip
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2006, 23:06   #14
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
I'm curious if Benski or DrO could give you insight into the nondefault windows you don't freeze with the plugin... so they dont move.

that, and seeing if there is a way to move the windows without restarting. (if you do publish the plugin on the winamp site, I would definetly clarify this, as I could see people requesting it right away. )
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2006, 20:56   #15
BastardKidKris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to BastardKidKris
small bug, when you minimize winamp while frozen, part of the windows bar doesnt dissapear

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...eezeglitch.jpg

ThinkPad T61, C2D @ 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2, Win7x64Pro
BastardKidKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2006, 00:09   #16
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally posted by BastardKidKris
small bug, when you minimize winamp while frozen, part of the windows bar doesnt dissapear
Should be fixed now.
Here is the new version:

>> gen_freeze_14.zip
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2006, 01:09   #17
BastardKidKris
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to BastardKidKris
excellent

ThinkPad T61, C2D @ 2.2GHz, 4GB DDR2, Win7x64Pro
BastardKidKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2006, 21:12   #18
magnum.stone
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
great plugin. i have been waiting for over 10 years for something like this. as a hardcore winamp user, i also use version 1 of the albumlist plugin. http://albumlist.sourceforge.net/
it would be great if you could extend this plugin to lock album list also.
magnum.stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2006, 21:13   #19
magnum.stone
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 3
another suggestion too is if you could lock or glue the winamp windows together without being able to unglue them yet still being able to move around the entire program. hope thats not confusing.
magnum.stone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2006, 21:51   #20
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
I understand what you mean but to be honest I will
not try to implement these features in the near future:
  • The current implementation is a dirty hack and is
    hard to maintain.
  • In case this code would be extended it might be
    a good idea to overwrite the whole mouse movement
    handling - check the click position and only pass
    down non-window-movement messages to the core.
    This would be much work to do.
  • I am busy with university and other projects
    and my motivation on this project is quite low
    right now.
I hope you understand my position.

Best regards, Sebastian
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2006, 01:23   #21
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
I thought about the whole thing again.
I like the idea of overwriting the whole
window movement handling code. If it
works it should be the solution to all
current problems.

In order to be able to implement such a
solution I would need a 'mouse map' of all
windows similar to this:



Red means left-button clicks are forwarded
to the main window, white means the click
is blocked/swallowed.

If anybody know where to find such images
for other windows please let me know.


I have not started coding this new solution yet.
I hope it can be done this way.

Last edited by dllmain; 10th June 2006 at 02:10.
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2006, 02:31   #22
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
something like the skinning atlas linky

skinning tutorial <--shows dimensions, though dont know how useful that is.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2006, 02:50   #23
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
Hey guys, I have quite good news: I have the
non-window-shade mouse map working for main
and equalizer window. I also added the hotkey
feature billyvnilly was asking for: hold down
CTRL when clicking to enable dragging.

As soon as I have all the basic maps the
next release should be coming.
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2006, 02:54   #24
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally posted by billyvnilly
something like the skinning atlas linky

skinning tutorial <--shows dimensions, though dont know how useful that is.
Looks very good! I will have a
closer look later. Big thank you!
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2006, 16:12   #25
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
Mr Jones' skin atlas was exactly what I needed.
Also Maxim's region.txt generator was of great help...

The new version
  • fully works without restart
  • allows a frozen window to be moved by holding CTRL when clicking
  • is easier to extend
>> gen_freeze_20.zip



Quote:
Originally posted by magnum.stone
great plugin. i have been waiting for over 10 years for something like this. as a hardcore winamp user, i also use version 1 of the albumlist plugin. http://albumlist.sourceforge.net/
it would be great if you could extend this plugin to lock album list also.
Since Album List is open source I think the best
way would be to extend Album List for the freeze
feature. I could try to modify the 1.xx-er version
for you - the source is still available for download.
Please let me know which version you are using exactly.
Also please let me know how to contact you since you
are not contactable through the forum.

Last edited by dllmain; 10th June 2006 at 16:34.
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2006, 22:22   #26
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
wow thats nice. so are you going to submit this version to plugin database? IMO its feature complete. though from what ive heard last, plugin submission is still broke.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th June 2006, 23:59   #27
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally posted by billyvnilly
wow thats nice. so are you going to submit this version to plugin database? IMO its feature complete. though from what ive heard last, plugin submission is still broke.
Maybe later - I think some more testing time is a good idea.
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2006, 03:15   #28
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
I noticed some space below the volume bar and panning bar that arent mapped. I havent been able to get it to do anything funky.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2006, 03:18   #29
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally posted by billyvnilly
I noticed some space below the volume bar and panning bar that arent mapped. I havent been able to get it to do anything funky.
You are right, bug confirmed.
Other bugs I found:
  • The main window can still be moved by clicking
    on the seekbar when playback is stopped
  • Doublesize mode is not supported yet

Last edited by dllmain; 11th June 2006 at 04:35.
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2006, 12:49   #30
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
New version:
  • Previously unmapped area below volume
    and panning slider now mapped (Thanks to billyvnilly!)
  • Doublesize mode support
  • Seekbar handling fixed
>> gen_freeze_212.zip
&#160;
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2006, 20:17   #31
Bubba Smith
Major Dude
 
Bubba Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bubbaville, USA
Posts: 599
Okay - I'd really like to try this. But I'm unsure of which of the 11 files located within the ZIP file are needed. Are all of them supposed to be extracted directly into the Winamp\Plugins folder? Is a new folder supposed to be created and then are the files to be extracted there? Are all the files even needed?

As you can see, if a plugin doesn't have an auto-installer, I'm completely clueless.
Bubba Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2006, 20:40   #32
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally posted by Bubba Smith
Okay - I'd really like to try this. But I'm unsure of which of the 11 files located within the ZIP file are needed. Are all of them supposed to be extracted directly into the Winamp\Plugins folder? Is a new folder supposed to be created and then are the files to be extracted there? Are all the files even needed?

As you can see, if a plugin doesn't have an auto-installer, I'm completely clueless.
Put "Binary\gen_freeze.dll" from inside the zip file
to your "Plugins" folder of Winamp - that's the only
file you need to copy.

I agree that the plugin needs an installer. Coming soon.
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2006, 21:05   #33
Bubba Smith
Major Dude
 
Bubba Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bubbaville, USA
Posts: 599
Ahh - thanx!
Bubba Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th June 2006, 20:32   #34
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
New version:
  • NSIS installer
  • Winamp 2.9x support (Winamp 5.04+ was required before)
>> gen_freeze_213_setup.exe
>> gen_freeze_213_source.zip
&#160;
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2006, 12:56   #35
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
I have a little surprise for you...

I added a freeze feature to Saivert's NxS BigClock plugin
besides other little changes. Here is the full changelog entry:
  • Time display can now be disabled so you can have visualization only
  • Current time mode made unselectable in menu
  • Small speed improvement
  • Winamp shutdown improved in the installer
  • Window position can now be locked (similar to gen_freeze)
  • Config dialog bug fixed
>> gen_nxsbigclock_04_setup.exe
&#160;

Last edited by dllmain; 16th June 2006 at 14:43.
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2006, 14:26   #36
billyvnilly
Forum King, M.D.
 
billyvnilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Detroit burbs
Posts: 3,379
Send a message via ICQ to billyvnilly Send a message via AIM to billyvnilly
settings arent being saved in big clock.

1. check "freeze window"
2. close bigclock preferences
3. reopen bigclock preferences

freeze window is unchecked. I didnt really play around with other settings, but i think this was the only problem....?

still, nice surprise.
billyvnilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2006, 14:41   #37
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
The problem was I forgot to apply the current value
to the checkbox when opening the dialog.
Same for "show centiseconds". Should be fixed now.
Thanks billyvnilly!


>> gen_nxsbigclock_041_setup.exe
&#160;
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2006, 23:11   #38
Stimpson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18
hey, great plug-in that gen_freeze one.

but is it possible to include the media library in the list of non-movable windows? and does the plug-in prevent random resizing of windows? (usually after dropping to a low resolution and back again, its really annoying!)

thanks
Stimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th June 2006, 23:13   #39
dllmain
Senior Member
 
dllmain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 207
Please explain that random resizing thing in more
detail. I don't understand.
dllmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2006, 08:32   #40
Stimpson
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 18
Sometimes when I minimize winamp and use a lot of other programs (I'm fairly sure it's just the ones that reduce my resolution a lot) the media library will increase in size significantly, ending up about twice my screen width and length. This isn't a huge problem I kno but it is annoying,

I was just wondering if this could be stopped if the media and playlist sizes could be locked to a specified width/height. ???
Stimpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump