Old 23rd April 2002, 00:34   #1
Cyric
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to Cyric
Question LicenseData x 2

Hey all Our legal department just finished with the license agreement and its huge The .txt file is about 47k which is over the 32k limit for the LicenseData attribute.

The reason the license is so big is because the project is a joint venture between ourselves and another company, so there is basically 2 license agreements in the one .txt file.

Is there anyway I can either: -
a) Use a .txt file over 32k
b) Display the two agreements seperately
c) Any other suggestions? Have read about Install Options, is
that any use to me?

Thanks everybody
Cyric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2002, 02:25   #2
mmullikin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to mmullikin Send a message via Yahoo to mmullikin
Sack the lawyers and start over...???
mmullikin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2002, 04:16   #3
Cyric
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to Cyric
Yeah thats #($*ing helpful Anybody got any 'practical' solutions?
Cyric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2002, 06:20   #4
veekee
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: France / Paris
Posts: 138
you could develop your own plugin that will display the license file over 32kb use use it instead of normal license window !
veekee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2002, 06:22   #5
Cyric
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to Cyric
no can do, my c isnt good enough
Cyric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2002, 06:53   #6
Pomflain
Member
 
Pomflain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 83
From script.cpp starting with line 551

case TOK_LICENSEDATA:
if (build_header.licensedata_ptr != -1)
{
warning("LicenseData: specified multiple times, wasting space (%s:%d)",curfilename,linecnt);
}
#ifdef NSIS_CONFIG_SILENT_SUPPORT
if (build_header.common.silent_install)
{
warning("LicenseData: SilentInstall enabled, wasting space (%s:%d)",curfilename,linecnt);
}
#endif
{
char data[32768];
FILE *fp;
int datalen;
fp=fopen(line.gettoken_str(1),"rb");
if (!fp)
{
ERROR_MSG("LicenseData: open failed \"%s\"\n",line.gettoken_str(1));
PRINTHELP()
}
datalen=fread(data,1,32767,fp);
if (!feof(fp))
{
ERROR_MSG("LicenseData: license must be < 32 kilobytes.\n");
fclose(fp);
return PS_ERROR;
}
fclose(fp);
data[datalen]=0;
build_header.licensedata_ptr=add_string_main(data,0);
SCRIPT_MSG("LicenseData: \"%s\" \n",line.gettoken_str(1));
}
return make_sure_not_in_secorfunc(line.gettoken_str(0));





Change 32768 to whatever size you want and recompile the source. I think that's all you'd need to change.
Pomflain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2002, 06:54   #7
Pomflain
Member
 
Pomflain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 83
Oh and note that in the fread line...

datalen=fread(data,1,32767,fp);

You should make that datalen=fread(data,1,(YOUR_SIZE - 1),fp);
Pomflain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2002, 07:07   #8
rainwater
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 397
Send a message via ICQ to rainwater
As far as I know, you can't use that solution because you are limited to 32k in the textbox.
rainwater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2002, 19:37   #9
justin
Moderator Alumni
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 315
You could use installoptions to display the second and/or third pages...

-Justin
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2002, 22:43   #10
Cyric
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to Cyric
how would i go about that? the textfield is only for input and the label isnt big enough and doesnt scroll
Cyric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2002, 23:48   #11
SmartyMan
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally posted by rainwater
As far as I know, you can't use that solution because you are limited to 32k in the textbox.
Thats right (AFAIK).
I would prefer NSIS using the RichEditCtrl - not only because there is no size limit but for things like making URLs look like those (blue and underlined, mouse becomes hand when upon the link).

For the "installer size maniacs": both the EditCtrl and the RichEditCtrl are used directly from windows, so using .rtf would not increase the size of the installers.

Compatibility to existing .nsi projects is also given, since the RichEditCtrl can of cause load .txt files.
SmartyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2002, 00:54   #12
Cyric
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 7
Send a message via ICQ to Cyric
Well SmartyMan it is opensource so do you think you could knock something together?
Cyric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2002, 10:17   #13
Smile2Me
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Another idea, not the nice solution of putting it in the lisense textbox but it works already without modifications:

create an exe that displays the thing nicely. Then execwait this exe and check the return code: 0 if not accepted and 1 if accepted...

Just an idea...

-Hendri.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2002, 21:42   #14
Joost Verburg
NSIS MUI Dev
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 3,717
A rich text box would be a very nice feature Maybe for 2.0
Joost Verburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2002, 23:21   #15
SmartyMan
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally posted by Cyric
Well SmartyMan it is opensource so do you think you could knock something together?
...and do all the work again with the next update?
No way.
I would eventually work on these sources, if there where a guarantee that my workwill be taken over in the next official release.
SmartyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2002, 00:04   #16
mmullikin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to mmullikin Send a message via Yahoo to mmullikin
Another option would be to NOT have the license info in the installer. Instead display the license agreement in an opening dialog of the app. User has to agree to it or exit. Since the license info is obviously important to the company (47k worth of important!) they could also display it in the About dialog or something.

Just a thought.

-mmullikin

Sorry about the "sack the lawyers" line in my first reply - I was just trying to bring a little levity to an otherwise bad situation.
mmullikin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2002, 19:45   #17
gombok
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: europe
Posts: 4
Thumbs down bad idea

who reads a license agreement bigger than 32k ??????
gombok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2002, 08:36   #18
Smile2Me
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Gombok,

reading is up to the user! For legal reasons, you have to display all of the agreement the user is about to sign with or without reading!

-Hendri.
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2002, 20:30   #19
Pomflain
Member
 
Pomflain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 83
Nope.

Quote:
Originally posted by rainwater
As far as I know, you can't use that solution because you are limited to 32k in the textbox.
That's only for user input, you can throw just about as much data as you want into the box in the program. The problem I was running into then was running out of stack space, so I changed the compiler's settings to reserve 4 mb of virtual memory and 2 mb of physical memory for stack space. I then was able to use a license data file of 913 kb without any problems. Sure it's quite excessive as to the memory allocation, but it does allow you to use about as large a license file as you want.
Pomflain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump