Old 6th February 2006, 05:31   #1
Sonic Ether
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 10
Crashing...

Hey, I've been making some major progress with AVS, but it is tremendously frustrating when I must keep re-doing everything I've done because winamp keeps crashing. It's only when I perform some sort of action, like arranging a superscope, or changing a rendering mode. This is driving me mad. Has anyone come across this problem?
Sonic Ether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2006, 09:08   #2
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
AVS crashing? Never happens.

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2006, 20:47   #3
Grandchild
Senior Member
 
Grandchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 333
Just negate pak's answer and you're at it!
This is well known and there's no other fix than frequent saving.
Grandchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 03:57   #4
Sonic Ether
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Posts: 10
Yeah, I was afraid of that. Thanks for the help!
Sonic Ether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 05:51   #5
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
When coding do it all in notepad, then copy paste across to test.

In my experience 99% of crashes seem to happen when code compiles. So I write some code, save my preset, paste it in... then if it crashes I can just load and do the paste again.

Its easy to not follow tho

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 07:02   #6
StevenRoy
Senior Member
 
StevenRoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 129
Send a message via ICQ to StevenRoy Send a message via AIM to StevenRoy
I've found that AVS seems to crash much less often if I edit while the visualization is "docked" in the AVS editor window. It still happens, of course, but less often... I think...

I've used the Notepad trick, too, and it helps. Another major reason I like that is that I can maximize Notepad and edit my code using the full screen with word-wrapping.

Of course, even with these hints in mind, AVS isn't completely stable, and never will be, so you should also get into the habit of saving frequently.
StevenRoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 12:21   #7
JaVS_v2.5
Forum King
 
JaVS_v2.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seremban 2, Malaysia
Posts: 2,717
Send a message via Yahoo to JaVS_v2.5
Maybe your computer performance are low?

It's the same thing happened on my aunt's computer while I playing with codes in AVS editor. My aunt has a very low computer performance.

Last played [offline]: Lamb of God - Nippon
-- JaVS :: h i p o t e s i s
JaVS_v2.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 17:45   #8
Grandchild
Senior Member
 
Grandchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 333
I experienced most of the crashes while WA was ready with one song and went on to the next track. So I hold on my activities for some time and when the Notifier is gone, I resume.

gonna use the txt-editor now too...
Grandchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 18:07   #9
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
My crashing occurs the same way grandchild's does, when winamp changes to the next song. Never has AVS crashed on me while editing something, codewise or not.

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 18:49   #10
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
One of the great things about AVS, is that its flaws never seem to be consistent on different machines. Also the way it passes those problems onto APEs too... its all great stuff

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 18:53   #11
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Given enough resouces and time one could build a system that never experiences crashes or problems with AVS...

Omg! The holy grail!

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 19:36   #12
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
Quote:
Originally posted by Tuggummi
Given enough resouces and time one could build a system that never experiences crashes or problems with AVS...

Omg! The holy grail!
Yeah, and just like the holy grail... it will stay fiction.

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 20:44   #13
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Blasphemy! Kill him!

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 21:57   #14
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
Quote:
Originally posted by Tuggummi
Given enough resouces and time one could build a system that never experiences crashes or problems with AVS...

Omg! The holy grail!
What an enticing imagination!
But AVS would definitely lose a bit of it's excitement when you don't have to care of saving and you never have to fear that all your work will get lost all of a sudden!

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 22:40   #15
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
My crashes only tend to happen when I accidentally click in Tentacles 3D -------> I blame UnconeD for the losses of some great ideas of mine.
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 22:44   #16
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
I blaim Tentacles 3D for some ideas that were greatly lost.

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 22:55   #17
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
Blaming "Tentacles 3D" (or "Metaballs 3D") is like blaming an infant for breaking a valuable vase or something. Actually you can't really blame them for that, cause they aren't fully developed (yet).

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 23:13   #18
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
You're right, that would be disrespectful....

But i do hate babies though!

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 23:27   #19
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
Well, that's your right. So do i hate the aforementioned ape's.
Just avoid blamimg something for a fault they are not guilty for!

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 23:29   #20
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Aah, words of wisdom, my friend, words of wisdom. Okay, i hate everyone who uses babies!

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 23:37   #21
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
Seems as if i'm having some kind of wise philosophical phase tonight. Guess i should go to sleep before something bad happens...

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2006, 00:08   #22
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
When using philosophical against irrational, it is best so, i believe.

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2006, 21:55   #23
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
Is there any way to get rid if the APE's?

Certified Spam Connoisseur.
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2006, 22:43   #24
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
Of course: just delete them from your AVS-folder!

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2006, 21:32   #25
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
Yeah, but they still show themselves in my render bow, and I occationally hit them.

Certified Spam Connoisseur.
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2006, 21:52   #26
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
Sure? After you delete them they shouldn't show up there anymore!?

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 15:16   #27
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Unless they are hard-coded-in of course and not included as external .ape files... don't know, the list is outdated and should be updated...

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2006, 22:57   #28
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
That's new to me! I always thought that an effect imported through an ape would disappear as soon as the corresponding ape is missing!
Well, you never stop learning!

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2006, 16:26   #29
fastingaciu
Major Dude
 
fastingaciu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 940
My crashes are very ofen so i started using notepad it's much more better then rewriting the whole thing all over again. It usaly hapends when i add stuff to the preset or when i save it .... so one day i got relly mad and i started using notepad......... but it would be much more better if the next verison of winamp would fix this.....

Those who can do, do; those who can't do, teach.
fastingaciu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2006, 15:02   #30
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
Mine doesn't crash all that often. Frankly, it never crashes. Ever. Apart from the obvious tentacles problem.

Certified Spam Connoisseur.
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2006, 19:03   #31
Grandchild
Senior Member
 
Grandchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 333
a triple, no, endless: o_O for that!

Quote:
originally posted by Jheriko
Yeah, and just like the holy grail... it will stay fiction.
it seems you're wrong...
[Given, JFASI is working more often w/ AVS than 3 times a year]
Grandchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2006, 04:59   #32
hornet777
Member
 
hornet777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 87
mine rarely crashes either, but when it does, its usually catastrophic, or it has a weirdness where it offsets the mouse cursor by one line.
hornet777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2006, 08:38   #33
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
How about writing some kind of ape that forces avs to save frequently to a temporary file? Just needs some dogy UI hacks


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2006, 14:46   #34
Grandchild
Senior Member
 
Grandchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 333
I thought about exactly this yesterday!
Would it be possible??
Grandchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2006, 15:32   #35
Magic.X
Major Dude
 
Magic.X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Leipzig / Germany
Posts: 859
Should not be a major problem to force AVS to save.
The only new thing is the Save-File Dialog Box popping up.

As I am thinking of this, its probably better to have an external agent running that will detect crashes and reload your preset in last state automatically too when AVS is restarted.

The only problems would be a slowdown, depending on the saving rate and it might also be possible that the dialog box is taking some time to get the file information it needs and will force AVS to idle meanwhile. The first thing could be cutomized, but if the latter occurs, this would probably not make sense at all.


-=[The Ultimate VJ-Tool for AVS]=-

Hotlist 2.3 developement thread (old)
Magic.X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2006, 20:08   #36
Grandchild
Senior Member
 
Grandchild's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 333
but I could live with a short break every 5 minutes.
I simply can't get myself to save frequently, I just forget it. even when I think "now this is cool, almost finished" I don't have the automatic reflex of saving...
so this would really save me a lotta time

[although it can't be denied that many of my good results came when I rebuilt sth deviously after a crash.]

GC
Grandchild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2006, 22:27   #37
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
I can tell this auto-save thing is not going to get off the ground...I dare someone to make it!

Certified Spam Connoisseur.
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 00:43   #38
hornet777
Member
 
hornet777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 87
since AVS is open-source now, why not just rewrite it instead of making yet another ape?
hornet777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 00:48   #39
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
Well, no one keeps you from doing that.
The point is, that it just can't be done in a few moments.

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 01:10   #40
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
I looked back at the original post. WOW. My AVS never crashes when I do something as simple as change render modes...That's pretty extreme.

Certified Spam Connoisseur.
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS > AVS Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump