Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th February 2004, 07:26   #41
gtsato
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 10
I experience the same problem with the ML. I have around 8000 songs. My machine is a new 2.8Ghz machine. I'm running 5.02. I have just started to noticed the problem after adding more songs to the list. It works fine if you choose the song from the PL. Also I have noticed that it only appears in the ML with the Artist/album view selected. If you choose Simple Media View it works fine.
gtsato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2004, 13:56   #42
riks
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
I had that problem too, but after I uninstalled Norton Antivirus Winamp works fine. No delay.
riks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2004, 02:24   #43
mbchills
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to mbchills
fixed

fixed it

preferences - media library - library options, uncheck both Play all ... options at the top

mbchills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st March 2004, 03:26   #44
DeathWing
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 23
bump.

The problem is still there in 5.03. As I said earlier, it's not that bad of a problem, and I can deal with it. But it would be nice if, whenever you guys had the time to fix it, you did.
DeathWing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2004, 04:58   #45
AnalogRoaming
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 20
Bump

Yes... please... figure out what broke so this gets fixed in the next version. My media library is huge... so this locks up my machine for 30-60 seconds.

5.01 would just copy the ml query right to a playlist (which doesn't seem that hard to do... copy one listbox to another) and 5.02 / .03 looks like it's enqueing in a loop instead.

Winamp 5 is starting to become another Winamp 3.... and that worries me.
AnalogRoaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2004, 05:23   #46
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Re: fixed

Quote:
Originally posted by mbchills
fixed it

preferences - media library - library options, uncheck both Play all ... options at the top
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2004, 03:26   #47
DeathWing
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 23
So, yeah...if you read earlier in this thread (my first post == the second post on this thread), I had already tried and noted this option. However, I explained in this post, and more thoroughly in later posts, why I didn't consider this a solution to the problem. And it is a problem, as many of us have pointed out, because these options did not have to be unchecked in 5.01 in order for the delay to disappear.

There's probably some reason this wouldn't work, but it seems like there's a pretty easy solution to this: go back to the code from 5.01 for enqueing the songs from the media library -> playlist, see what the differences are, and figure out where the inefficiency is. If you designed it in C++/perl, I could probably even do that (of course, it would take me longer, since I don't work @ Nullsoft for a living).
DeathWing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2004, 14:31   #48
arikol
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Iceland the not so Icy...
Posts: 8
delay

As someone mentioned, this problem persists in 5.03, was not in 5.01 and can be "fixed" by unchecking play all.
That´s not a solution, it means that the "play all" feature is BROKEN.

This may seem like a small problem, but it seriously affects usability of the program, making ML in effect, a list of songs instead of a usable MediaLibrary, I could just as well use windows explorer to open single songs.
I only have around 4500 songs, a 2000mhz processor and more RAM than you can shake a stick at, but the delay is over 3 seconds (by which time you have re-clikcked a song in frustration, causing another delay)

To cut it short, I will stay with 5.01, not letting it out on the internet (due to security vuln.) and not even consider winamp pro until this issue is resolved.

/sound_effect = "uninstalling winamp503"
arikol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2004, 16:42   #49
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
am i the only one who can't replicate this?

i have a quite fast computer (A64 3200+), but judging by the specs of arikol's machine, i should at least notice some pause...

also, a pause may not be enough to justify moving back to an insecure version.

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2004, 21:52   #50
DeathWing
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 23
The delay is only apparent for very long playlists. My computer is pretty slow (P3 850), so a 900 song playlist is sufficient to create a 5 sec. delay on my comp. The longer the playlist, the longer the delay (I messed around w/ different sized playlists).

Maybe the delay is there, but you just don't realize that it's a delay. If you uninstall 5.03, install 5.01, open up a 4,000 song or so playlist, and double click one of the songs, you'll notice that it plays instantaneously. Then uninstall 5.01 and go back to 5.03 with the same playlist, and you'll notice the delay.

Another thing I noticed: if you're playing one song already, then double click another song from the media library, the display (e.g. spectrum analyzer, song time, scrolling song name, etc.) all freeze during the delay until the next song starts. This is with the default winamp skin.
DeathWing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2004, 00:19   #51
arikol
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Iceland the not so Icy...
Posts: 8
I concur

zootm: if
"Play All Query results (starting on selected) on
doubleclick in media views"
is selected, then you should notice a pause when you doubleclick on a song in medialibrary, on your machine it would probably only be around a second, even less, with around 5000 songs in the ML
You should notice the pause anyhow, especially if you´re playing a song, then doubleclick another.
With the security issue, I agree, but I run a personal firewall and dont let winamp access the internet at all, think it should be safe, if you (or anyone else) knows better, please inform me...... don´t like security holes..

Deathwing: spot on, exactly the behaviour I get. I uninstalled 5.03 and re-installed 5.01, everything snappy and nice again, ML response is instantaneous.
arikol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2004, 05:15   #52
AnalogRoaming
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 20
Try it with 20,000+ items.
30 to 60 second delay on a dual xeon 2ghz machine. Processors peg out, program freezes.

It's looping thru the ml to load the playlist window. looping thru an array would be faster. (based on my experience with developing windows apps).
AnalogRoaming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2004, 07:10   #53
Christophe
Sexaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 114
Try this:

With 5.03, rename gen_hotkeys.dll in the plugins folder to gen_hotkeys.dll.old and launch Winamp again and see if it takes an abnormal delay anymore.

And report back.

-Christophe

- time heals but i'm forever broken
Christophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2004, 12:41   #54
arikol
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Iceland the not so Icy...
Posts: 8
woohoo

Cristophe, you da MAN!
Renamed gen_hotkeys.dll (on WA 5.03) like you said, worked like a charm.

Any explanation as to why/how that works? (and thereby, what the problem is)

What does gen_hotkeys.dll do, my keyboard shortcuts seem to work anyway.

So, using winamp 5.03 now! thanks for the help
arikol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2004, 12:49   #55
arikol
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Iceland the not so Icy...
Posts: 8
Oh, yeah btw, I also tried copying gen_hotkeys.dll from my 5.01 installation to my 5.03 install, seems to work fine (at least it doesn´t break anything badly) and there´s no delay.
Hope that helps
arikol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2004, 20:23   #56
Christophe
Sexaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 114
Right on, I'm gonna check to see what broke in gen_hotkeys to slow down the ML like this.

-Christophe

- time heals but i'm forever broken
Christophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2004, 22:05   #57
DeathWing
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 23
Awesome! Thanks Christophe, Winamp just became a whole lot more convenient to use...

What exactly is gen_hotkeys.dll for?
DeathWing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2004, 00:00   #58
drewbar
Sawg 2.0
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,916
It is the global hotkeys plug-in. (Control Winamp when it is not in focus). It is the Preferences > General Preferences > Global Hotkeys option screen.

Count with us!
Jan 1st, 12AM (PST, GMT -8) 2010 - 282,246
drewbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2004, 01:18   #59
Christophe
Sexaholic
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 114
Ok, I found the bug in gen_hotkeys, here's the fixed version:

http://ronwarez.com/gen_hotkeys.dll (v1.3)

-Christophe

- time heals but i'm forever broken

Last edited by Christophe; 9th April 2004 at 01:50.
Christophe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2004, 06:23   #60
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
woohoo

Praises be!
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2004, 21:11   #61
Kickboy12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 242
Send a message via ICQ to Kickboy12 Send a message via AIM to Kickboy12 Send a message via Yahoo to Kickboy12
Good Job Christophe.

[@imho] man
[@imho] I had dreams about unit testing last night :-(
[@sim`a] i have nightmares about syntax errors, whats your point
Kickboy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2004, 21:43   #62
headcoat
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3
Where is Winamp 5.01 still available for DL?
headcoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2004, 21:48   #63
Kickboy12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 242
Send a message via ICQ to Kickboy12 Send a message via AIM to Kickboy12 Send a message via Yahoo to Kickboy12
Winamp 5.01 is no longer supported, and has major security issues. I no longer see any problem with Winamp 5.03 now that Christophe has fixed the delay bug.

[@imho] man
[@imho] I had dreams about unit testing last night :-(
[@sim`a] i have nightmares about syntax errors, whats your point
Kickboy12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2004, 21:56   #64
DeathWing
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 23
Thanks Christophe! Sorry about bothering you guys so much about this problem, but I now love winamp even more than I used to!
DeathWing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2004, 17:58   #65
arikol
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Iceland the not so Icy...
Posts: 8
Fixes rock, devolpment team also

Terrific, nice to see problems resolved! Thanks Christophe
arikol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2004, 03:11   #66
sov1et
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1
I can think of two solutions for this problem...

Either have an option available to play the selected ML item without reloading the entire library back into the playlist. (Although you would need to reload the ML into the playlist each time a new file is added into ML.)

Or have a function to have the item play directly from ML (as well as all items in the ML), completely bypassing the playlist, not needing to load the item into it before it is played.

I prefer the latter.

Ever since the media library was conceived into Winamp, I stopped using the playlist. What's the point? Ml displays more detailed info and is dynamic in sorting and categorizing. ML has a playlist function in itself. There's no point to having the playlist component anymore. It seems redundant. If you wanna make mixes, just do it from the ML.
sov1et is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2004, 03:34   #67
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
I can think of ONE solution to this problem...
Quote:
Originally posted by Christophe
Ok, I found the bug in gen_hotkeys, here's the fixed version:

http://ronwarez.com/gen_hotkeys.dll (v1.3)

-Christophe
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2004, 09:29   #68
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
Re: I concur

Quote:
Originally posted by arikol
With the security issue, I agree, but I run a personal firewall and dont let winamp access the internet at all, think it should be safe, if you (or anyone else) knows better, please inform me...... don´t like security holes..
wouldn't really be changed by firewall, it's more a malicious file, i believe.

i couldn't replicate the problem with a playlist of about 1500 files, but i guess i could just have missed the pause (given your figures).

of course, this is all moot now, since a fix has been provided

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2004, 17:32   #69
psychotacon87
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: the nowheres, colorado
Posts: 1
Send a message via ICQ to psychotacon87
fixed it!

when i installed winamp 5.03, i was freaking out that my media library was slow. it didn't do it in the initial release..and in the original, i didn't have to deselect anything. since i 'fixed' it, now only the song i selected out of my library goes into the playlist editor instead of just starting with the selected song, which i don't really like...

nullsoft, fix it.
you guys are smart.

- Henry
psychotacon87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2004, 18:02   #70
siebe83
Forum King
 
siebe83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,222
it IS fixed!
read this thread...
or download the update patch
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=179096
the new hotkeys.dll is in it as well...
siebe83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2004, 18:04   #71
zootm
Forum King
 
zootm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: the nether reaches of bonnie scotland
Posts: 13,375
Quote:
Originally posted by Christophe
Ok, I found the bug in gen_hotkeys, here's the fixed version:

http://ronwarez.com/gen_hotkeys.dll (v1.3)

-Christophe
note, psychotacon87, that the fix was provided in this very thread, before you even posted about it.

maybe you'd have thought of reading?

zootm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2004, 18:21   #72
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Yes, that's why it says "[FIXED]" at the end of the topic title...
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2009, 02:02   #73
mario0318
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: within the State
Posts: 30
Send a message via AIM to mario0318
Should I create a new thread for this? I know this is very old but it's the only thread I found with my specific issue

This problem appears present in my version of Winamp 5.56

My library is massive and each time i select a song from the ML the entire library is reloaded into the playlist, which slows down the play of the selected song from the ML.

The problem doesn't occur when selecting a song in the playlist since its already loaded in the program.

Again, Im not sure if there is another thread for this already or a fix but I can't find it. A user named 'sov1et' posted a comment above with the real solution to this, which is having Winamp read a song directly from the ML without needing to reload the playlist with the entire collection.

Is there a possible fix to this?

In my lifetime, we've gone from Eisenhower to George W. Bush.
We've gone from John F. Kennedy to Al Gore.
If this is evolution in terms of leadership, I believe that in twelve years we'll be voting for plants.
mario0318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2010, 19:20   #74
Dexter_prog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15
bump. This is happening again in 5.572
Dexter_prog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2010, 19:46   #75
Dexter_prog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15
up .
Dexter_prog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2010, 10:46   #76
MarkRH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 405
I would start a new thread for issues related to this as the original title mentions version 5.02 and is flagged as [FIXED] so most will ignore it as being solved.
MarkRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2010, 20:20   #77
Dexter_prog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 15
Done so, but no one's replying there: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....12#post2650712
Dexter_prog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump