Old 2nd February 2006, 02:15   #1
LnknPrkSKl
Junior Member
 
LnknPrkSKl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Talking framerate

Hello,
My computer is very old and avs runs with a really low framerate and I want to speed it up. I found something called render priority and put that higher and all it did was make my music jump

Is there a way to speed up avs without affecting the music and without having to download anything?
LnknPrkSKl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2006, 05:15   #2
eheiney
und keine Eier!
 
eheiney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: MI, USA
Posts: 1,374
Send a message via AIM to eheiney
The best recommendation I can give is to turn on Pixel doubling (half resolution).

Spiral out, my friend. You will find your way back to yourself, we all will.
I'll be waiting, and shall see you on the other side...
eheiney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2006, 16:53   #3
ASD5A
Titeleinzigartigkeit
Senior Member
 
ASD5A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: under a bridge
Posts: 620
make the avs window smaller

oversized e-penis replacement
ASD5A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2006, 13:54   #4
hornet777
Member
 
hornet777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 87
find a faster CPU and drop it in and/or get more memory and/or a better graphics card
hornet777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2006, 18:22   #5
JFASI
Major Dude
 
JFASI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: I was hoping you could tell me
Posts: 1,350
Yeah, the more modern stuff is designed for more modern PCs, and if it's really that old, it might be time for an upgrade. I did the same, and I love it.

Certified Spam Connoisseur.
JFASI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2006, 15:32   #6
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
btw hornet: installing a better graphic card won't speed up AVS, cause it's only responsible for drawing the final image onto your screen afaik. Even older graphic cards are capable of overlay and that stuff. (Look around the AVS forums, there are quite a few threads about the correlation between AVS and graphic cards...)

And LnknPrkSKl: check if the "window performance slider" (found under settings/display) is already set completely to the left. If all that doesn't improve the fps enough you should really consider buying a new PC...

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2006, 17:17   #7
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
Need a powerful CPU

CPU is avs main source of power so to speak. Upgrading this will help. Multi-core won't help much, but speed at floating point math will.

Don't need much memory

Yeah... AVS overhead is tiny... not even worth caring about. 8MB of system ram should be plenty for even the biggest resolutions

Don't need the latest graphics card

Again... not important a 4MB card, if they still made them would be good enough... unless you wanted to use resolutions higher than 2048x1536

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2006, 15:28   #8
hornet777
Member
 
hornet777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 87
I know, that's why I put them in that order.
The first is essential, the other two are convenience items only. Prolly shoulda been clearer.
hornet777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 18:51   #9
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
Most people get this idea that a fast graphics card makes for fast graphics... its not hard to see why, but it means that we need to point out that in the case of AVS its totally untrue.

Otherwise some jerk may waste his money on a graphics card because of us.

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2006, 21:49   #10
^..^
Major Dude
 
^..^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: There
Posts: 1,002
Send a message via ICQ to ^..^
Quote:
Originally posted by jheriko
Otherwise some jerk may waste his money on a graphics card because of us.
...and afterwards doesn't stop to blames us and the whole winamp-staff for that by posting annoying threads and that stuff!

^..^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS > AVS Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump