Old 27th January 2009, 12:06   #1
BruceBrad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sydne
Posts: 2
Some albums not syncing

For some reason, 3 albums refuse to transfer to my ipod (a new nano) when I sync. Is there a way I can get more information on why this is happening? (Maybe they were ripped in some incompatible format - but I can't see anything obvious).

[Long version: I synced with the inbuild winamp ipod sync software. All the albums were synced. I found that album art didn't transfer, so I installed ml_ipod. When I synced the next time, it said it was removing the 3 albums. Now I can't sync them back]
BruceBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2009, 04:44   #2
BruceBrad
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sydne
Posts: 2
WMA was the problem

The problem was that the files were in WMA format (I had thought all my files were mp3). I'll just rip these couple of albums again.
BruceBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2009, 14:31   #3
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
No need to re-rip--just enable transcoding incompatible tracks in the upload prefs.

Windows 7 Beta
iPod touch (Second Generation), 8GB
Winamp 5.55 with ml_iPod 3.08
fatcerberus1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2009, 23:08   #4
skrowm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by fatcerberus1
No need to re-rip--just enable transcoding incompatible tracks in the upload prefs.
Hello,

Please help me !!!

I have the same problem, about wma files.

I know that i have to enable transcoding incompatible tracks in the transfers prefs, but unfortunately, i can't change this option, impossible to have access, can't click,

I don't know what to do...

Do i have to download another plugin ? to transcode ?
skrowm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2009, 01:06   #5
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
Do you have an iPhone or iPod touch? If so, then transcoding isn't implemented for those devices and you'll have to transcode the tracks manually. Otherwise, there's no reason the option should be disabled...

Also: Why did you PM me? You already asked the question once, here. The PM was entirely unnecessary.

Windows 7 Beta
iPod touch (Second Generation), 8GB
Winamp 5.55 with ml_iPod 3.08
fatcerberus1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2009, 08:25   #6
skrowm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by fatcerberus1
Do you have an iPhone or iPod touch? If so, then transcoding isn't implemented for those devices and you'll have to transcode the tracks manually. Otherwise, there's no reason the option should be disabled...

Also: Why did you PM me? You already asked the question once, here. The PM was entirely unnecessary.
Sorry to have sent 2 messages.

Indeed, i have got an Ipod Touch V2 - 16 Go...

Can you give me the name of a software which can transcode the tracks manually quickly.

Or do you know a good software which can help me to transfer my mp3 or wma to mmy ipod touch. I can't support Itunes.

Thanks in advance.

Skrowm.
skrowm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 12:31   #7
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
Winamp can do transcoding itself, you just have to initiate it manually. To do it, right-click a track in the media library and hit Send To -> Winamp Format Converter (I forget the exact name, but it's something like that). If that option isn't available, then you'll have to reinstall Winamp and select the transcoder option in the installer.

As for what format to use, you can't do mp3 unless you buy Winamp Pro (although you could use something like BonkEnc), but you can select "MP4/AAC" (pure AAC won't work) for something that will work on the iPod.

Windows 7 Beta
iPod touch (Second Generation), 8GB
Winamp 5.55 with ml_iPod 3.08
fatcerberus1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 20:01   #8
skrowm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by fatcerberus1
Winamp can do transcoding itself, you just have to initiate it manually. To do it, right-click a track in the media library and hit Send To -> Winamp Format Converter (I forget the exact name, but it's something like that). If that option isn't available, then you'll have to reinstall Winamp and select the transcoder option in the installer.

As for what format to use, you can't do mp3 unless you buy Winamp Pro (although you could use something like BonkEnc), but you can select "MP4/AAC" (pure AAC won't work) for something that will work on the iPod.
Thanks for you reply and explanation.

Concerning the video, how can i transfer it to my ipod touch without itunes ?
skrowm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2009, 22:50   #9
fatcerberus1
Major Dude
 
fatcerberus1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 806
Is the video in H.264 or MPEG-4 format? If not, you can use MediaCoder iPod Edition to convert it.

Once you have the video in a usable format, just import it into the Winamp Library and it should then be copied over during the next sync.

Windows 7 Beta
iPod touch (Second Generation), 8GB
Winamp 5.55 with ml_iPod 3.08
fatcerberus1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2009, 19:37   #10
skrowm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4
Ok thanks, i will try
skrowm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp iPod Plugin Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump