Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24th November 2010, 13:37   #1
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
SHOUTcast DSP Plug-in v2.0.2 For Winamp (02/12/2010)

The updated version of the SHOUTcast DSP plug-in has now been released and is available from:

http://www.shoutcast.com/broadcast-tools
(Direct download link -> here)


Note: This updated version of the plug-in will only work on Winamp 5.5 and higher and requires Windows 2000 and higher to work (though the plug-in has only been actively tested on XP / Window 7). Additionally, this is a 32-bit dll like Winamp though should run fine on a 64-bit version of Windows.


Summary

This is a recommended update for anyone using the DSP plug-in as it resolves a number of stability issues with the prior 1.9x versions and also adds support for SHOUTcast 2 along with a number of other improvements to the experience of using the plug-in with a number of bug fixes as well.


Changes
  • Added SHOUTcast 2 (Ultravox 2.1) support for the generated stream data
  • Cleanup and general fixes to the streaming support in the plug-in
  • Fixed settings not being saved on Vista / Windows 7
  • Fixed a number of lock-ups in the plug-in (should be more stable now)
  • Fixed plug-in to not stall if Winamp is not playing
  • Fixed a number of UI issues (tabs not showing in all cases, controls not in the correct tabbing order, theming issues, notification icon handling)
  • Config window now remembers its last position between use
  • Improved Lame encoder quality
  • Attempted to resolve standard AAC (LC-AAC) not working (additionally this is reported as audio/aacp so it will work with the YP)
  • Uses the current enc_aacplus.dll (AAC / AAC+ encoder) from the Winamp install used instead of bundling an old version from Winamp 5.1)
  • Fixed SHOUTcast 1 issue with titles containing "[" & "]"
  • Changes made to improve selection of the 'microphone' device allowing for more control over the capture device used
  • Added localisation support to the plug-in (including supporting localised encoder plug-ins when showing their configurations)
  • Some other minor changes including those from the 1.9.2 beta
Changes from v2.0.0
  • Fixed SHOUTcast 1 connection errors to a remote connection
  • Fixed authorisation error checking for Ultravox 2 & 2.1
  • More changes to the output manager to avoid out of sync states
  • Fixed timing issue which caused out of sequence Ultravox audio data frames in some scenarios
  • Fixed some localisation and tabbing order issues on the config pages
  • Removed unwanted encoder option on the Output -> Connection tab
  • Added a SHOUTcast 1 mode only information prompt on how to enter the password for DJ connections


Reporting Issues

If you do come across an issue with the plug-in, then please do post in this thread with as much information as possible about what you're doing at the time, the system you are using and anything else which will make it easier to understand what is or isn't going on with your install.


Important Notes

1) There are still a few issues regarding the soundcard control features on Vista / Windows 7 due to changes made in these OSes in the way it handles sound and how it can be obtained.

2) By default on new installs of the plug-in, it will enable support for using the newer SHOUTcast 2 features. However, if you're using an older version of the DNAS (or an alternative which is not compatible with the SHOUTcast 2 protocol) then you will need to check the 'Use legacy SHOUTcast v1 protocol' on the Output Page -> Connection Tab.


Issues

Cipher response received message - If this happens then you most likely are connecting in SHOUTcast 2 mode to a SHOUTcast 1 setup and so need check the 'Use legacy SHOUTcast v1 protocol' on the Output Page -> Connection Tab.

Soundcard Mixer Control - On Vista / Windows 7 there are issues with the use of the features with the selected device to act as the 'microphone' where it basically will not work in an expected manner. This is being investigated though is not clear if there will be a solution for this.


Thanks

Big thanks goes to jkey for much of the work done in the update and fixing of the plug-in (out weighs my UI fixes to the plug-in). Also not forgetting the lucky people (especially thinktink) who helped out in testing of the internal builds of the plug-in during it's current update.


-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 13:48   #2
bored_womble
Winamp's Womble
 
bored_womble's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wimbledon Common
Posts: 1,100
hehehe .. i only posted about 20 mins ago about the lack of a plugin ... top work ... can this speed continue ?

BW

Without open minds the world will die. Open yours and correct the mistakes you are making right now.
bored_womble is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 14:30   #3
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,009
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
thinktink is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 15:47   #4
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Big thanks to thinktink he too put a lot of hours in helping me out

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 16:35   #5
neoncoyote
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 43
lol I thought it was my computer screwing with me when it wouldn't save my encoder settings... THANKS!
neoncoyote is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 16:39   #6
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
There are still a few issues regarding the soundcard control features on vista & windows 7.
This is caused by changes to the operating system and the way it handles sound.

Hopefully in a future release of the dsp plugin,New functionality will exist that will
overcome/adapt to these windows OS changes.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 16:44   #7
neoncoyote
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 43
Well, another thing to consider is base architecture. does it matter if windows is 64 or 32 bit?
neoncoyote is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 16:46   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the plug-in is 32-bit just like Winamp so as long as Winamp runs on the OS version you're using then all will be fine. i've been using it on Win7 x64 and was much better than the 1.9x series on the same OS.

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 16:51   #9
neoncoyote
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 43
Here's one more question: When was the protocol changed? Since when did we have to include a username in sc_serv?
neoncoyote is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 16:53   #10
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
If you are using shoutcast v1 tick the "Use legacy shoutcast v1 protocol" check box.
Then username is not needed as before,it is needed for sc2.

The sc2 protocol was launched early 2010.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 16:55   #11
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
if you're not using sc_serv v2 and using an older 1.x version of it then you'd need to check the 'Use legacy SHOUTcast v1 protocol' on the Output Page -> Connection Tab.

by default the plug-in will try to make you use the newer SC2 features but the checkbox is there to be able to run in the older mode the plug-in only supported prior to this update.

[edit]
have amended the first post to include this information

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 16:57   #12
neoncoyote
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 43
is SC2 a better protocol? i can't connect with legacy ticked... odd.

EDIT: oh, wait. I forgot to reinitialize sc_serv on my server. give me about five minutes to see if it still works...

Nope... not working. anybody else got it working with legacy?
neoncoyote is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 18:11   #13
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Just tested and yes it still works fine in legacy v1 mode when streaming to sc_serv v 1 & 2.

Remember if you are using dnas v2,there is only one v1 source allowed to be connected at any given time.
The stream ID of this stream is always 1(sid=1).
You cant set the stream id in legacy mode in the dsp plugin settings anyway,it is always 1.


I will return later to assist more if it is needed,I have prior commitments to attend to this evening.
J.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 19:46   #14
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Did you get it working neoncoyote ?
Feedback is good for others who may for whatever reason experience similar issues.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 20:50   #15
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,009
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jkey View Post
Big thanks to thinktink he too put a lot of hours in helping me out
Thank you for the honorable mention although any contribution I made probably pales in comparison to yours. I was actually more than very happy to help.

I'm just thankful you took the time and initiative to update it and get it working.

Thank you Jkey and DrO for the hard work!

thinktink is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 21:48   #16
StreamGuysDave
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4
Plug In 2.0 problems

Hi,

I work tech support for a CDN, and we have several clients who are stating that they are unable to connect with the legacy setting checked.

We've installed the plugin v2 on several of our workstations and are also are unable to connect.

On the server side, we're running SHOUTcast Version 1.9.8/Linux.

Tailing the logs, we see an <11/24/10@15:26:12> [source] connected from 75.111.24.133 entry pop up each time we attempt to get he plugin to connect. However, we're not seeing any indication in the logs that the source connection has (been) dropped, even though it has. We've tested on several servers and I get the same result for each.

From what I see here, it looks like you're getting feedback from others having the same trouble. But I don't see a solution posted anywhere. Any ideas?

We'd like to be able to recommend to our clients that they use plugin v2, but can't do so until we know for sure that it works as close to 100% as possible.
StreamGuysDave is offline  
Old 24th November 2010, 23:25   #17
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
@StreamGuysDave: i'm sure it'll be looked into (either by myself of Jkey as soon as possible) though was sure the scenario of working with a SC1 server was tested at least by Jkey. just bear with us as the updates are effectively being done in both our freetime.

will keep you posted and am sure you'll be contacted for more information as required

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 00:41   #18
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
I am on it,
I cannot replicate the issue at all,but I will keep on it until I can.

No sleep then hey

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 00:42   #19
neoncoyote
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 43
it still isn't working, so I'm going to send my webserver admin an email and see if he can kill all of the processes and I'm going to switch to v2, because i didn't know THAT VERSION was required for the SHOUTcast hash i got from the site.

[edit - moderation]
additional posts not directly related to the dsp plug-in have been moved to http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=324282
neoncoyote is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 02:30   #20
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
I think I may have been able to replicate the issues seen with the sc v1.
I need someone to provide a remote dnas for me to test with.

If you have a dnas v1 running on a remote server and wish to help,
please send me the details via pm.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 02:32   #21
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,009
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jkey View Post
I think I may have been able to replicate the issues seen with the sc v1.
I need someone to provide a remote dnas for me to test with.

If you have a dnas v1 running on a remote server and wish to help,
please send me the details via pm.
Hangon...


[EDIT /] PM sent
thinktink is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 02:40   #22
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
I am in no rush,I have just had 5 cups off coffee,so wide awake (2:38am).
Not at work tomorrow,so may as well do some bug squashing if it is needed

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 03:49   #23
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Connection Error found and eliminated.
We will do our best to see this priority update is available to download as soon as possible.


J.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 12:46   #24
lakrush
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Help Me Please

I can't seem to long on to my stream with the plug-in. It says authentication error and still no connection using the legacy. I uninstall and reinstall but no change. Help?
lakrush is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 12:50   #25
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
lakrush: pm sent with a link to a test build

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 12:50   #26
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
lakrush: pm sent with a link to a test build

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 17:07   #27
TiggaStyle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 23
nice nice now i can test shoutcast 2
--

so: in tracks i could input an @ but it would not shown.
TiggaStyle is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 18:50   #28
DigiBC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 28
I'm happy that it's out finally!
Thank you very much!

However, build 024 doesn't work too well with my previous configuration and SHOUTcast Server 1.9.8 (Win32).
Though the plug-in seems to connect with the server the DSP falls back immediately to status "Not Connected" while the server still indicates "[source] connected from".

If I hit the "Connect" button several times there's a chance that it will work all of a sudden. Unfortunately that's not replicable.

Maybe the test build will work better...?


PS: I guess there's no localization included already, but the localized encoder plug-ins work well.
DigiBC is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 19:09   #29
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
pm sent DigiBC.
And yes this is related to the connection bug.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 19:12   #30
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiBC View Post
PS: I guess there's no localization included already, but the localized encoder plug-ins work well.
correct as none of the language packs have a language file in them (it will be included as part of the official language pack bundle though is at the discretion of the language pack authors if they include a translated version of the required file).

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 20:19   #31
DigiBC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jkey View Post
pm sent DigiBC.
And yes this is related to the connection bug.
Works like a charm now!

And also connects well to an Icecast2 server (v2.3.2).

Thank you very much again!

So I guess it's time for me to become acquainted with SHOUTcast 2...

By the way: I've noticed that the status counter of the connection time starts at 1:00:00 instead of 0:00:00.
DigiBC is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 20:33   #32
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Connection timer status issue,which windows OS are you using please ?

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 20:38   #33
DigiBC
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jkey View Post
Connection timer status issue,which windows OS are you using please ?
Sorry, I forgot to mention: Windows XP Pro. SP3
DigiBC is offline  
Old 25th November 2010, 20:46   #34
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
Ok thank you for your help,I will look into it

Happy streaming

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 26th November 2010, 22:50   #35
aflove65
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
connection issues with new dps plugin

Hi!

I have windows 7 64bit installed with winamp 5.81. I just updated to the new dps plugin and it won't connect to the stream anymore. I have checked the use Legacy Shoutcast v1 protocal. The stream is one that we pay for so I don't think we can get it upgraded to sc2.
aflove65 is offline  
Old 26th November 2010, 22:54   #36
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
aflove65: pm sent

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 26th November 2010, 23:04   #37
aflove65
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks

Thank you! It is working now
aflove65 is offline  
Old 27th November 2010, 07:06   #38
hellkatt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Connection Issues

As others have already stated I am having the same connection issue server registers connection but streaming does not begin.

Winamp: v5.581
SHoutcast Version: 1.9.8/win32
Operating Syatem: Vista

using legacy mode
hellkatt is offline  
Old 27th November 2010, 10:26   #39
Jkey
Forum King
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: E*arth
Posts: 3,031
pm sent: hellkatt

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish.
Jkey is offline  
Old 27th November 2010, 12:09   #40
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
first post has been updated to note the issue in the 'Issues' section so please pm either myself or Jkey in the interim if you experiences the DNAS v1 connection issue and cannot wait until monday / tuesday for the main server's link to be updated (yay Thanksgiving, heh).

-daz
DrO is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump