Old 28th December 2019, 11:31   #1
Ken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
URL Repeate

Greetings.

In earlier versions of Winamp, when you turn Repeat on, you could click a URL and Winamp would continuously retry to connect if the URL was not streaming. When the stream became available, Winamp would connect. This was a very handy feature for recording streams that were not on all of the time.

The latest version of Winamp does not do this. Anyone know why this was taken out?

Best regards.
Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2019, 19:31   #2
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,649
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
5.666 or 5.8 or both?

whats the last latest proven working version?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2019, 22:32   #3
Ken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
5.666 will continue to retry until the stream is available. 5.8 will just return a 404 error.

Ken
Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th December 2019, 23:08   #4
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,649
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
what streams? what formats? what do u use to record? streamripper?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2019, 15:47   #5
Ken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
We have an LPFM station where the link between the studio and the transmitter is via the internet. The studio audio feeds an encoded and stream server. At the transmitter, we have Winamp 5.666 set for repeat and pointed at the URL for the studio stream. Should the stream get interrupted, when it returns, Winamp reconnects automatically. 5.8 would not do that.

I realize there are hardware alternatives to this that would stay connected 24/7, but this was a handy and inexpensive way do the studio to transmitter link.

We do pull some programs from providers that connect to their stream server to "transmit" the program and when it is over, they disconnect from their stream server. The agreement is that if you want to rebroadcast the program, you have to grab it and broadcast it while it is streaming or record it for later use. They do not record program and make them available for later use. So, we setup Winamp and Sound Tap by NCH to grab the audio as it streams. Works great because we preview the shows first before airing them.

This is one of those features that if it does not make it back into later versions, it is not a big deal because 5.666 does it fine and that's all that matters.

Ken
Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2019, 19:39   #6
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,649
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
i ran a FM at penn state and when i started we didn't even have computers. by the time i was done, we had a fully digital studio and a direct fiber STL (not internet, actual audio). this was nice b/c we could feed our digital Orban processor with pure uncompressed wav from the studio, and let it be the lone D>A stage where any processing and compression, etc, was done.

i understand why u are doing what u are doing, but there probably is a better way.

does the winamp SC DSP support any lossless codecs? if so, u could set that up at the studio, and send to Shoutcast at the transmitter, where a winamp there would then tune into it, to feed the xmtr.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th December 2019, 21:32   #7
Ken
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Probably wouldn't matter if the stream server is at studio or the transmitter. However, at the transmitter would be less likely that Winamp would disconnect from the server. We are encoding at 320K 48kHz for that link. Should they want to also stream to the internet it is just a mater of setting up another mount at say 128K 44.1 for listeners. They are also looking into a pair of Barix boxes as a dedicated digital link.
Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump