Old 6th January 2003, 17:21   #1
Zanarkand
Junior Member
 
Zanarkand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 15
Difference...

Hey I wonder what the big difference between Winamp2 and 3 is? Which one should I choose? And can I have them both installed on my computer?
Zanarkand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 17:24   #2
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
q1) Everything
q2) WA2
q3) Yes


Good day to you.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 17:28   #3
NetFury
Senior Member
 
NetFury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Omnipresent
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally posted by Phily Baby
q1) Everything
q2) WA2
q3) Yes


...exactly

"Winamp, I'd hit it."
NetFury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 17:33   #4
Zanarkand
Junior Member
 
Zanarkand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 15
Hmmm......

Is there any idea having 'em both installed???
And by the way, thanks for helping out.
Zanarkand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 17:58   #5
Zanarkand
Junior Member
 
Zanarkand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 15
Winamp 2.81

Is Winamp 2.81 the latest Winamp 2 edition? Is it the best one to download?
Zanarkand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 18:50   #6
hestermofet
Major Dude
 
hestermofet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,763
Well, it works fine, if that's what you mean. Really, all of them are pretty good, so you may as well go for the latest (which, yes, is 2.81). There's no problem in installing Winamp3 and Winamp 2.81 at the same time.

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.
hestermofet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 18:54   #7
neonmole
Registered User
 
neonmole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to neonmole
Winamp 2 works with the shoutcast plug-in (if you are wanting to do a radio show)
winamp 3 doesn't work [unfortunately] work with the shoutcast plug-in.

personally I think that winamp 2 is the best, I have the version 2.81 and I hardley ever use winamp 3.
neonmole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 19:31   #8
Trigear
bear!
 
Trigear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,426
i don't have a problem getting streaming shoutcast audio on winamp 3...
Trigear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 19:39   #9
hestermofet
Major Dude
 
hestermofet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,763
She means that you can't use the shoutcast server with Winamp3 to broadcast.

"The only difference
That I see
Is you are exactly the same
As you used to be"

For the freedom to express myself in my own way without fear of being censored or banned.
hestermofet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 19:47   #10
neonmole
Registered User
 
neonmole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to neonmole
Quote:
Originally posted by hestermofet
She means that you can't use the shoutcast server with Winamp3 to broadcast.

"The only difference
That I see
Is you are exactly the same
As you used to be"
Yes! Thats what I mean you cant broadcast using winamp 3
neonmole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 19:48   #11
Trigear
bear!
 
Trigear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,426
ok, fine. no harm, no foul.
Trigear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 19:53   #12
psychoticguyver
Major Dude
 
psychoticguyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: loonieland posts: 666
Posts: 750
Send a message via AIM to psychoticguyver Send a message via Yahoo to psychoticguyver
yeah but what about the dancing devil duks ??????????????????????
you can't dance the duks w/o winamp 3



Now accepting refugee's
psychoticguyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 19:59   #13
neonmole
Registered User
 
neonmole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 241
Send a message via AIM to neonmole
Yea LOL well ive had my say now and ill get off m soap box.
LOL Im just trying to sound like some sort of expert with winamp!
Which im not but im okay with it LOL
neonmole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2003, 21:47   #14
Reaper
Forum King
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,928
Be one of the cool kids. Use Winamp .96d2.

ml_iPod - [Homepage] | [Forums] | [Wiki]
Reaper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2003, 11:20   #15
Zanarkand
Junior Member
 
Zanarkand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 15
.96d2

And what's the difference between Winamp2 3 and Winamp .96d2???
Zanarkand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2003, 11:23   #16
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
.96d2 is a bit old.
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2003, 12:12   #17
fwgx
Rudolf the Red.
(Forum King)
 
fwgx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 9,314
and smells like poop.

"We think science is interesting and if you disagree, you can fuck off."
fwgx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2003, 13:11   #18
binary hero
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 7,004
Send a message via ICQ to binary hero
and has pubic hair stuck to it.
binary hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2003, 13:36   #19
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Quote:
Originally posted by Reaper
Be one of the cool kids. Use Winamp .96d2.
Be an even cooler kid, use this WA3 skin to relive the good old days of WA 0.20
Attached Files
File Type: wal winamp020.wal (8.9 KB, 132 views)
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump