Old 16th February 2006, 00:33   #1
Canadian_Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 104
I need some coding help

ok, im getting mad at this....i am trying to do a standard frame for my skin...I have tried doing it myself, and that failed, so i tried working with other ppls code, and that failed...what i wanna know is if anyone is willing to code the standard frame window for me(without maki if posible). I put the pictures for it in the rar file.
Attached Files
File Type: rar frame.rar (18.6 KB, 740 views)
Canadian_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 00:59   #2
krckoorascic
Senior Member
 
krckoorascic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Serbia
Posts: 351
Send a message via ICQ to krckoorascic Send a message via AIM to krckoorascic Send a message via Yahoo to krckoorascic
i'd help you but i don't have time right now, so i'll just paste the code from the skin i'm coding (try to just change the values of x,y,w,h to suit your standardframe image):
code:

<groupdef id="wasabi.titlebar" h="20">

<text id="window.titlebar.title"
w="0" relatw="1"
default=":componentname"
font="Arial"
altfont="Arial"
align="center"
forceupcase="1"
fontsize="22" bold="1"
color="component.title"
activeAlpha="200"
inactiveAlpha="120"
/>

<layer id="mousetrap" fitparent="1" move="1"/>
</groupdef>

<groupdef id="resizeable">
<!-- size gip -->
<layer x="-30" y="-30" relatx="1" relaty="1" image="base.sizegip"/>

<!-- resizers -->
<layer w="25" h="25" resize="topleft"/>
<layer x="25" w="-50" h="15" relatw="1" resize="top"/>
<layer x="-25" w="25" h="25" relatx="1" resize="topright"/>
<layer y="25" w="15" h="-50" relath="1" resize="left"/>
<layer x="-15" y="25" w="15" h="-50" relatx="1" relath="1" resize="right"/>
<layer y="-50" w="50" h="50" relaty="1" resize="bottomleft"/>
<layer x="25" y="-50" w="-50" h="50" relaty="1" relatw="1" resize="bottom"/>
<layer x="-50" y="-50" w="50" h="50" relatx="1" relaty="1" resize="bottomright"/>
</groupdef>

<groupdef id="component.layout">

<!-- base -->
<grid id="component.base"
fitparent="1" sysregion="1" move="1"
topleft="base.top.left"
top="base.top"
topright="base.top.right"
left="base.left"
middle="base.center"
right="base.right"
bottomleft="base.bottom.left"
bottom="base.bottom"
bottomright="base.bottom.right"
/>

<group id="resizeable" fitparent="1"/>

<!-- regions -->
<layer image="region.top.left" sysregion="-2"/>
<layer image="region.top.right" x="-33" relatx="1" sysregion="-2"/>
<layer image="region.bottom.left" y="-33" relaty="1" sysregion="-2"/>
<layer image="region.bottom.right" x="-33" y="-33" relatx="1" relaty="1" sysregion="-2"/>


<!-- window title -->
<group id="wasabi.titlebar" x="20" w="-40" relatw="1" y="14"/>



<button id="wnd.button.close"
x="-42" y="10" relatx="1"
image="wnd.close.normal"
hoverimage="wnd.close.over"
downimage="wnd.close.down"
action="CLOSE"
inactiveAlpha="180"
tooltip="Close"
rectrgn="1"
/>

</groupdef>

<groupdef id="wasabi.standardframe.statusbar" inherit_content="0">
<group id="component.layout" fitparent="1"/>
<layoutstatus id="wasabi.frame.layoutstatus" x="45" y="-50" w="-90" h="15" relaty="1" relatw="1" exclude="{system}"/>
<script id="script.standardframe" file="scripts/standardframe.maki" param="25,38,-50,-89,0,0,1,1"/>
</groupdef>

<groupdef id="wasabi.standardframe.nostatusbar" inherit_content="0">
<group id="component.layout" fitparent="1"/>
<script id="script.standardframe" file="scripts/standardframe.maki" param="25,38,-50,-84,0,0,1,1"/>
</groupdef>

<groupdef id="wasabi.standardframe.modal" inherit_group="wasabi.standardframe.nostatusbar">
<hideobject target="resizeable"/>
</groupdef>

<groupdef id="wasabi.standardframe.static" inherit_group="wasabi.standardframe.nostatusbar">
<hideobject target="resizeable"/>
</groupdef>


and put element definitions first...


krckoorascic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 01:14   #3
Canadian_Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 104
Thanks for it ill go through it...but i see i need the standardframe.maki
Canadian_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 05:59   #4
JW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 304
You're not going to get around that...
JW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 06:35   #5
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Why would you need standardframe.maki? I haven't used a scripted standard frame since the early early days of winamp 3, inherit your scripts from the default instalation

Use 'inherit_content="scripts"'
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 09:52   #6
Askey
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 82
bit off topic, but can u explain the inherit content function a bit more???

thanks and sorry for the off topic post.. ignore it if u wish
Askey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 17:50   #7
Canadian_Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 104
i agree with askey...tell us more about inherit content please
Canadian_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 18:12   #8
Canadian_Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 104
ok krckoorascic i used ur code for my window, and now it looks like this. I thought the names might be wrong and it couldnt find em...but i checked like a million times. Any idea why it wont show the pictures. This is what i use for the bitmap ids:
code:

<bitmap id="base.top.left" file="StandardFrame/stdfrm.png" x="0" y="0" W="32" H="14" Relatx="" Relaty="" Relatw="" relath="" />
<bitmap id="base.top.Right" file="StandardFrame/stdfrm.png" x="-32" y="0" W="32" H="14" Relatx="1" Relaty="" Relatw="" relath="" />
<bitmap id="base.top" file="StandardFrame/stdfrm.png" x="32" y="0" W="-64" H="200" Relatx="" Relaty="" Relatw="1" relath="" />
<bitmap id="base.left" file="StandardFrame/stdfrm.png" x="0" y="14" W="33" H="-69" Relatx="" Relaty="" Relatw="" relath="1" />
<bitmap id="base.Right" file="StandardFrame/stdfrm.png" x="-33" y="14" W="33" H="-69" Relatx="1" Relaty="" Relatw="" relath="1" />
<bitmap id="base.bottom.Left" file="StandardFrame/stdfrm.png" x="0" y="-35" W="90" H="35" Relatx="" Relaty="1" Relatw="" relath="" />
<bitmap id="base.bottom.Right" file="StandardFrame/stdfrm.png" x="-90" y="-35" W="90" H="35" Relatx="1" Relaty="1" Relatw="" relath="" />
<bitmap id="base.bottom" file="StandardFrame/stdfrm.png" x="90" y="-35" W="-180" H="35" Relatx="" Relaty="" Relatw="1" relath="" />
<bitmap id="frame.close" file="StandardFrame/close.png" />
<bitmap id="frame.minimize" file="StandardFrame/minimize.png" />

Attached Images
File Type: jpg frame.jpg (99.7 KB, 356 views)
Canadian_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 20:26   #9
corwwin
Senior Member
 
corwwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingdom of Amber
Posts: 272
The pink rectangle issue is typical of missing image files, generally caused by typos in filenames / bitmap names in the element file
corwwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 20:47   #10
Canadian_Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 104
ya, i forgot the <elements> tag, but after i put it in it went even more wierd...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wierd.jpg (88.7 KB, 398 views)
Canadian_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2006, 22:48   #11
corwwin
Senior Member
 
corwwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingdom of Amber
Posts: 272
check the images of the corners, they seem to be badly defined
corwwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2006, 04:01   #12
Canadian_Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 104
what do u mean by badly defined?
Canadian_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2006, 06:36   #13
Michgelsen
Major Dude
 
Michgelsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,416
By defining he means specifying from what image the bitmap should be taken from.

You can't to define your elements with x="-35" y="-35" etc. You can't use negative values there of course, because you're referring to the coordinates of the images where the bitmap should be taken from. If I draw an image of 25×25, there's nothing at (-10,-10)...

Using negative values for the placing of layers, with relatx, relaty, relatw and relath is a different story of course.
Are you sure you went through this?
Michgelsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2006, 16:31   #14
Canadian_Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 104
i went through it, and i saw that i defined everything twice...the code i got from above was different than i am used to, but it all works now. Except for the stuff in the window, the text and stuff overlaps my picture, and i have a feeling its cuz of the paramaters i am setting for the standardframe.maki, but i dunno what paramaters go where in the maki so i can adjust them.

code:

<groupdef id="wasabi.standardframe.statusbar" inherit_content="0">
<group id="component.layout" fitparent="1"/>
<layoutstatus id="wasabi.frame.layoutstatus" x="45" y="-50" w="-90" h="15" relaty="1" relatw="1" exclude="{system}"/>
<script id="script.standardframe" file="scripts/standardframe.maki" param="25,38,-50,-89,0,0,1,1"/>
</groupdef>

Canadian_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2006, 23:27   #15
krckoorascic
Senior Member
 
krckoorascic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Serbia
Posts: 351
Send a message via ICQ to krckoorascic Send a message via AIM to krckoorascic Send a message via Yahoo to krckoorascic
params for standardframe.maki are:
x,y,w,h,relatx,relaty,relatw,relath

and you use them to set area in which you wanna window content to be...


krckoorascic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2006, 00:47   #16
Canadian_Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 104
awsome, thanks, now all thats left is to fix mute and crossfade and put in my balance slider.
Canadian_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2006, 02:12   #17
Canadian_Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 104
i think i am just about done. Can anyone test it out and see what needs improvemnts please. Keep in mind its my first skin.

http://members.shaw.ca/KYLESYDNEY/MySkin
Canadian_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2006, 08:20   #18
Mr Jones
Nothing to say...
 
Mr Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 23,064
Yeah, it's always a good idea to tell people that they need to rename the file they are downloading and then extract the actual skin from it before they can use it.

You know that funny line you mentioned earlier in the thread, where it dosn't run straight with the rest of the skin, why does that open the media library when I double click it?

You made a thinger?, what for? and why does it not look like any other part of the skin?

/correction, it does, but what are those wierd boxes along the bottom of the frame?

//oh, and if you have the playlist open while trying to change from this skin to any other modern skin, it errors out.
Mr Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2006, 20:27   #19
Canadian_Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 104
The boxes ont he frame are from the real tv. The thinger is there cuz i wanted 8 buttons on the left. And i cant seem to get an error when i switch skins.
Canadian_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 06:09   #20
Canadian_Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 104
Here is updated version. Please test it out and comment on errors everybody. Thanks

http://members.shaw.ca/kylesydney/PioneerSkin.wal
Canadian_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 12:24   #21
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
you might want to test your wal before you upload it
its not packed right, lose the Pioneer Skin folder and thumbs.db, psds & copies of files
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 20:36   #22
Canadian_Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 104
My bad...
I changed graphics and made sure the wal worked and it did so here it is so far.

http://members.shaw.ca/kylesydney/Pioneer%20Skin.wal
Canadian_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2006, 23:50   #23
Canadian_Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 104
what looks better left or right? Black or Silver?
http://members.shaw.ca/kylesydney/picture.jpg
Canadian_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2006, 11:37   #24
SLoB
Major Dude
 
SLoB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,316
black imo
the silver aint too silver, more of a grey
SLoB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump