Old 24th November 2003, 04:58   #241
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Now Playing already includes artist bios & discography, and the front cover... but not lyrics. How much more do you want to bloat our beloved Winamp?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 24th November 2003, 05:06   #242
danj201
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
So it does, teehehe. Actually, I don't see any cover art though.

But you say that it would add bloat. It won't! It is a web page. It just needs something to happen on the server side.
danj201 is offline  
Old 24th November 2003, 06:06   #243
Paparazzi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 358
Wonder if there is a way of manually incorporating the VIS (Advanced Mde) that the MMD3 skin has into the Modern skin - You know... the one that has the lady singing and the lil group dancing.

Would this be possible by copying/ extracting a portion from the xml files?
Paparazzi is offline  
Old 24th November 2003, 06:55   #244
WhiteRayven
Major Dude
 
WhiteRayven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 682
I think that would require a complete re-engenering that skin.

Why make something idiot proof?? Someone will only make a better idiot!
WhiteRayven is offline  
Old 24th November 2003, 08:43   #245
unfnknblvbl
Member
 
unfnknblvbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 69
Send a message via ICQ to unfnknblvbl
I'd like to be able to customise the visualiser in the Modern skin like I could the Classic one...
unfnknblvbl is offline  
Old 24th November 2003, 13:53   #246
kiilu
Major Dude
 
kiilu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Houghton
Posts: 667
me too
kiilu is offline  
Old 24th November 2003, 14:03   #247
ohhjebus
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 252
i dunno if this has already been posterd (just ignore it if it has)
But I would like to see a fade between different notification window sizes. If notification with width stretching is on and you hit play, see the window, and hit then pause before the window fades out, it jumps unnatractively to the pause window. other than that. tasty.
ohhjebus is offline  
Old 24th November 2003, 15:11   #248
unfnknblvbl
Member
 
unfnknblvbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 69
Send a message via ICQ to unfnknblvbl
is it possible to get the Winamp Agent to catch the Global Hotkeys when Winamp isn't loaded?
unfnknblvbl is offline  
Old 24th November 2003, 18:58   #249
WHEREamI
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Wasabidev
Posts: 606
@unfnknblvbl: hey now, that's a good idea! mods/devs, listen to that one!
WHEREamI is offline  
Old 24th November 2003, 20:05   #250
The Serminator
Senior Member
 
The Serminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: on the road to Elysium with my pockets full of diamonds
Posts: 132
May be a newbie question and if so, I'll apologize up front.

Seen lots in here about picking up a playlist from wherever you last left off (even in the middle of a song...)

What I'd like to know is how to make the playlist truly random?

I use one of the "autoplay plugins" and what I want is to hit Winamp and have it play a completely random song... not the one I stopped two hours ago because I didn't like it.

Lemmee know.

"Come with me, if you want to live."
The Serminator is offline  
Old 24th November 2003, 20:30   #251
D&B
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,027
Quote:
Originally posted by unfnknblvbl
I'd like to be able to customise the visualiser in the Modern skin like I could the Classic one...
I would love this, but I just dont see it happening. I want my fire/thin bands/no peaks back.
D&B is offline  
Old 24th November 2003, 20:51   #252
Joris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 10
Send a message via AIM to Joris Send a message via Yahoo to Joris
Small feature request for Global hotkeys

First of all, the RC8 looks very nice! My old 2.81 is not coming back.

I really like the new Global hotkeys feature, but I have a request for 2 more possible "Actions". You already have the "UI: Bring to front/hide Winamp" action, but I'd ALSO like to have these two seperated:
- "UI: Bring to front Winamp"
- "UI: Hide Winamp"

Because when a different program than Winamp is has focus, but Winamp is visible, I would somtimes like to minimize Wimamp. A seperate hotkey would make this possible without first giving focus to Winamp.

I know no more new features are going to be added in 5 final, but maybe for 5.01 ?
Joris is offline  
Old 24th November 2003, 21:05   #253
WhiteRayven
Major Dude
 
WhiteRayven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 682
Badrad i second that

Why make something idiot proof?? Someone will only make a better idiot!
WhiteRayven is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 07:35   #254
evil_oj
Senior Member
 
evil_oj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 476
Quote:
David Biderman
Nov 25 2003, 06:27:48 (GMT)
11.20.03 ===============================

Winamp5 is looking great, very excited for the release. Hopefully we can get some details wrapped up in the next couple of days so that we can release this thing.
Looks like they're going to try it again. Maybe for this Thursday? How much better can it get than RC8?

Winamp 5
evil_oj is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 08:57   #255
D>Fantom
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Quote:
- "- "UI: Bring to front Winamp" "
a workaround:
Assign a windows shortcut to the winamp icon on your desktop (like say cntl+alt+z) then make sure winamp is set to not run multiple copies. hitting the windows shortcut when winamp is running will then bring it to the front and will not auto hide it.
D>Fantom is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 12:27   #256
Robert Kooijman
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3
Congrats for this terrific piece of software!

The most promising feature for me in Winamp5 is Song Rating.
I might have missed something, but in its current form, it's use is too limited.

Request 1:
It should be possible to rate a song directly and easily from the playlist or player.

Request 2:
It should be possible to play higher rater songs more often, both in sequential and random mode. Haven't found a way to do this so far.
I REALLY REALLY would love to see this!

Both features have been mentioned by others before on this board, but haven't found conclusive answers...
Robert Kooijman is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 13:37   #257
unfnknblvbl
Member
 
unfnknblvbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 69
Send a message via ICQ to unfnknblvbl
How about automagically rating a song based on the length of time you listen to it?

for instance, if a song is played all the way through, then it gets +1 rating. If it gets repeated immediately after it stops, then it gets +2.
if it gets skipped halfway through, then -1, or skipped straight away, -2

or something like that...
unfnknblvbl is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 13:41   #258
niktheguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally posted by evil_oj
Looks like they're going to try it again. Maybe for this Thursday? How much better can it get than RC8?

Winamp 5
According to Justins .plan it looks like the release is gonna be december 4th!!

Nikhil

Last edited by niktheguru; 25th November 2003 at 15:12.
niktheguru is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 13:52   #259
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Quote:
Originally posted by niktheguru
According to Justins .plan it looks like the release is gonna be december 5th!!
It looks like there isn't going to be a huge difference between the final and RC8, but the 4th (as it actually is) is when the new website goes live, along with the opertunaty to buy winamp pro.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 14:17   #260
Dipso
Senior Member
 
Dipso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Norway
Posts: 379
cool, no guesses on the price yet? Now that i have a proper visa card i can start thinking about actually buying some of the software i use.

Phear the headbanging llama!!!

http://dipso.deviantart.com <- Art, Graphics, Photography.
Dipso is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 14:23   #261
Dipso
Senior Member
 
Dipso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Norway
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally posted by unfnknblvbl
How about automagically rating a song based on the length of time you listen to it?

for instance, if a song is played all the way through, then it gets +1 rating. If it gets repeated immediately after it stops, then it gets +2.
if it gets skipped halfway through, then -1, or skipped straight away, -2

or something like that...
Not a bad idea. but maby it should be:

Manualy Selected in playlist or with jump to file: +2
Played through: +2
Repeated/Restarted: +1 (It ads to the score it allready has so...)
Played half way through: +1 (So songs you might like a bit dont get modded all the way down)
Skipped early/beginning: -1 (-2?)

In adition it should be possible to modify/delete ratings manualy.
Dipso is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 15:57   #262
unfnknblvbl
Member
 
unfnknblvbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 69
Send a message via ICQ to unfnknblvbl
Another minor Media Library annoyance:

I have a stack of Classical music in my collection, and as you may know, many composers wrote large amounts of certain types of works, like String Quartets and Symphonies.
Unfortunately, the ML doesn't list them properly, it lists like this:

String Quartet no. 1
String Quartet no. 10
String Quartet no. 11
String Quartet no. 2
String Quartet no. 3

If the ML can intelligently avoid "the" in Artist or Album fields, then surely it should be able to list numbered things correctly?
unfnknblvbl is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 17:22   #263
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Quote:
Originally posted by Dipso
cool, no guesses on the price yet? Now that i have a proper visa card i can start thinking about actually buying some of the software i use.
We don't know as yet, but it won't be much. As stated in the winamp pro FAQ, it is just to cover the costs of licencing the PRO technology.

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 17:29   #264
starwiz
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally posted by unfnknblvbl
I have a stack of Classical music in my collection, and as you may know, many composers wrote large amounts of certain types of works, like String Quartets and Symphonies.
Unfortunately, the ML doesn't list them properly, it lists like this:

String Quartet no. 1
String Quartet no. 10
String Quartet no. 11
String Quartet no. 2
String Quartet no. 3
I second that!
starwiz is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 17:44   #265
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
Quote:
Originally posted by my good self
We don't know as yet, but it won't be much. As stated in the winamp pro FAQ, it is just to cover the costs of licencing the PRO technology.
I've asked, and you'll find out in this many days
||
||
\/

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 19:34   #266
unfnknblvbl
Member
 
unfnknblvbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 69
Send a message via ICQ to unfnknblvbl
would it be possible to get the Mousewheel (along with a modifier key) captured as a Global Hotkey?

Like Shift+Wheelup for skipping forward a few seconds
unfnknblvbl is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 20:22   #267
cosmocosmo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 4
The only thing I miss from Winamp3, is the ability to choose the playing order in a playlist without moving the files, using the alt-button.

Will we see this great feature in Winamp5?

*hope*, as I like to keep the default album order in my playlist, but sometimes need to listen to some different songs in a specific order!

Last edited by cosmocosmo; 25th November 2003 at 21:03.
cosmocosmo is offline  
Old 25th November 2003, 20:27   #268
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Some news: as rumours tell, MP4 support with iTunes tagging is currently worked on!

It will probably not make it into 5.0 but maybe 5.01.

see: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/index.p...ic=14848&st=0&

As AAC is currently implemented in in_mp3.dll, maybe apev2 support is added to mp3s this way? (not likely because MP4 uses a tagging system that is different from ape2, but equally powerfull).

just speculations.

EDIT: clairfications

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8

Last edited by amano; 25th November 2003 at 21:35.
amano is offline  
Old 26th November 2003, 00:54   #269
evil_oj
Senior Member
 
evil_oj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 476
So Winamp 5 Pro is out on the Dec. 4th? ie. Winamp 5 Final == Winamp 5 Pro ?

5
3 I encode my music in Ogg Vorbis
2
I know enough about music and computers not to like computerized music.
evil_oj is offline  
Old 26th November 2003, 01:18   #270
WhiteRayven
Major Dude
 
WhiteRayven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 682
Yes and no. Winamp pro is the one that will be able to rip mp3s at full speed, and play dvds. Winamp5 final will be available at the same time.

Why make something idiot proof?? Someone will only make a better idiot!
WhiteRayven is offline  
Old 26th November 2003, 01:22   #271
shins
Senior Member
 
shins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 157
for now pro is built into the normal version, you just have to enter a code to unlock it.
shins is offline  
Old 26th November 2003, 01:25   #272
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
There is currently no DVD support in Winamp or Winamp Pro.
 
Old 26th November 2003, 02:25   #273
WhiteRayven
Major Dude
 
WhiteRayven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 682
Yeah what they said

Why make something idiot proof?? Someone will only make a better idiot!
WhiteRayven is offline  
Old 26th November 2003, 03:58   #274
Stratyon
Senior Member
 
Stratyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 132
I can't believe they're actually gonna release it on my birthday... What better present could anyone ask for?
Stratyon is offline  
Old 26th November 2003, 04:38   #275
unfnknblvbl
Member
 
unfnknblvbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 69
Send a message via ICQ to unfnknblvbl
they could give you a free uncrippled copy on your birthday? :P
unfnknblvbl is offline  
Old 26th November 2003, 04:41   #276
kiilu
Major Dude
 
kiilu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Houghton
Posts: 667
please make sure everything is good before releasing... i don't want to see history repeats itself.... i really don't mind if you released in on christmas day...
kiilu is offline  
Old 26th November 2003, 04:48   #277
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
If there's any problems with 5.0F, then these will be fixed in the following updates, eg. 5.01, 5.02 . . . 5.1x . . . 5.xx . . . etc.

This isn't going to be another Winamp3 v1.0 situation, where no updates are publically released (remember, Winamp3 was built from scratch, and wasabi wasn't ready when aol forced Winamp3's early release).

Winamp 5.0 is already built on the solid rock that was 2.x,
and wasabi (which drives Winamp 5 freeform/modern skin support) is now complete (and still maturing beyond that original goal).

I expect lots of 5.x releases, just like it used to be with 2.x
Well, I certainly hope so anyway, lol

However, apart from one or three minor glitches here and there (which is to be expected), and a few potentially missing/unimplemented features, I don't see any major flaws in 5.0

Of course, if p133 (and similar range cpu) users come here bitching re: performance is too slow with modern skins, then that's their problem, not ours
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 26th November 2003, 04:59   #278
WhiteRayven
Major Dude
 
WhiteRayven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 682
@DJ egg.... *applause*

Why make something idiot proof?? Someone will only make a better idiot!
WhiteRayven is offline  
Old 26th November 2003, 08:36   #279
badsykes
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Romania
Posts: 1
A LITLLE BUG IN WINAMP5 RC8 :)

Hello all!!
I think this is a bug a litlle hard to obeserve i think.....I shutdown my computer with Winamp running a mp3 and after power it again or restart it the winamp is lunched without Main window (only playlist....ps:I have only the Main window and plylist window active as default when player starts )...but when i press left-click the main window is checked like is active but it isn't and when i press Alt-w to activate nothing happen....the fix for this problem is: close the playlist and click on the winamp5 rc8 in taskbar and the main window will apear or left-click on it and activate main window like usual ).....thanks
badsykes is offline  
Old 26th November 2003, 08:44   #280
WhiteRayven
Major Dude
 
WhiteRayven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 682
Ok you need to read the first post in this thread. The bug testers will ignore bug reports that dont meet that criteria.

Why make something idiot proof?? Someone will only make a better idiot!
WhiteRayven is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump