Old 14th December 2003, 16:13   #161
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Latest updates for 5.0F internal
...
* new Signal Processing Studio DSP plug-in
...
Awesome. That's sweeeet. And now the DSP area of the preferences doesn't seem so depressingly lonely on fresh install .

-=Gonzotek=-

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 16:54   #162
c014
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 12
DJ egg,
Oh shit, this bug is even in this version, i thougt it was fixed, What i can se no one have reported it,
I dont know how to reproduce it, It happens sometimes, The last time i just choosed sum41 in the library and minimazed it and now its plays the music, but are locked,

Note, i DONT use classic i have another skin so the skin that i shown there is the classic of some? reason.

http://ekelund.50free.org/bug.gif

c014 is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 17:16   #163
unfnknblvbl
Member
 
unfnknblvbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 69
Send a message via ICQ to unfnknblvbl
well... it's Monday now... (in Australia), where's my Winamp?

<-- Makes it all OK
unfnknblvbl is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 17:30   #164
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by unfnknblvbl
well... it's Monday now... (in Australia), where's my Winamp?


someone had to do it

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 17:59   #165
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Quote:
Originally posted by sinnema
DJ Egg, can you be more specific?
* New Nullsoft Signal Processing Studio DSP plug-in by Justin


@DJ Radio
Can't reproduce that problem here.
Start a new thread in Winamp Tech Support.
Provide all relevant system specs

@c014
Nice screenshot.
Umm . . . I didn't get much further than the wallpaper
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 18:08   #166
c014
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 12
But did you understand what i mean=
c014 is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 18:22   #167
swhite
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 84
The new plugin wouldn't happen to run DirectX effects, would it? That would be cool.

Shayne
swhite is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 19:28   #168
AtiUser
Member
 
AtiUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany
Posts: 90
Send a message via ICQ to AtiUser
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
* New Nullsoft Signal Processing Studio DSP plug-in by Justin
This sounds really good.
Quote:
@c014
Nice screenshot.
Umm . . . I didn't get much further than the wallpaper
AtiUser is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 19:55   #169
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Quote:
Originally posted by c014
But did you understand what i mean=
Yeah, lol

System specs?
cpu/mobo/ram, sound card, graphics card, windows os, directx version

Any 3rd-party winamp plugins installed?

umm, that looks like an old old issue.
Was this a clean install, or did you install over some old version of Winamp 2.x ?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 20:09   #170
c014
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
Yeah, lol

System specs?
cpu/mobo/ram, sound card, graphics card, windows os, directx version

Any 3rd-party winamp plugins installed?

umm, that looks like an old old issue.
Was this a clean install, or did you install over some old version of Winamp 2.x ?

AMD 1.66ghz Nivida Geforce 440mx 768ram directx 8.1 Windows XP

This was not a clean install,

No other modules.
c014 is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 20:35   #171
Kaadi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Romania
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by unfnknblvbl
well... it's Monday now... (in Australia), where's my Winamp?

<-- Makes it all OK
Who cares about yours! BUT WHERE IS MINE?

... oh well, IT (WA5) is probably still sleeping in the US, or waiting for the sun to rise...
Kaadi is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 20:42   #172
Dextro
Senior Member
 
Dextro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 293
How much longer need we wait for the long awaited Winamp 5?!?!?!?!

WE WANT WA5 NOW!!!!! jk I want WA5 When it's ready (that means 1 month ago :-P )

Dextro is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 21:02   #173
ChaosBlade
Senior Member
 
ChaosBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to ChaosBlade Send a message via AIM to ChaosBlade Send a message via Yahoo to ChaosBlade
Well its not monday here in israel yet, so ill get up , go to school, and hopefully find WA5F when i come back from a tiring long day ^^
ChaosBlade is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 21:07   #174
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Actually, you'll have to wait 'till the end of the day I believe...

YtseJam is offline  
Old 14th December 2003, 21:08   #175
ChaosBlade
Senior Member
 
ChaosBlade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Israel
Posts: 115
Send a message via ICQ to ChaosBlade Send a message via AIM to ChaosBlade Send a message via Yahoo to ChaosBlade
Hmm, Probably, but not too bad .. its not like the final is going to have some feature ive been waiting for years to see .. and if it does, another day is nothing near a couple of years
ChaosBlade is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 00:00   #176
Prorok
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 39
should i go to sleep?
its dead on midnight, is it worth sleeping or not?
Prorok is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 00:11   #177
evil_oj
Senior Member
 
evil_oj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 476
Prorok, yah just get some sleep, if they even release it at midnight, it'd be Pacific time, which would be way too late for someone in the UK. Hopefully we'll see it tomorrow, and it should be cool, but it wouldn't be worth staying up that late.

5
3 I encode my music in Ogg Vorbis
2
I know enough about music and computers not to like computerized music.
evil_oj is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 00:17   #178
Prorok
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 39
your right. i dont even care that much, rc.666 sounds cooler than anything else whatever im so tired
Prorok is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 00:32   #179
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Let's just hope the changeover to the new site is seemless
and doesn't take like 10 hours or something... lol
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 00:35   #180
Prorok
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 39
looks like DJ Egg is staying up. not me, im off to sleep. night y'all. i mean, errr, how do yorkshire people say goodnight?
Prorok is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 01:13   #181
WhiteRayven
Major Dude
 
WhiteRayven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 682
still 6 hours and 43mins here in BC

Why make something idiot proof?? Someone will only make a better idiot!
WhiteRayven is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 01:22   #182
evil_oj
Senior Member
 
evil_oj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 476
DJ Egg:

When will Winamp 5 Pro go on sale?

5
3 I encode my music in Ogg Vorbis
2
I know enough about music and computers not to like computerized music.
evil_oj is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 01:40   #183
unfnknblvbl
Member
 
unfnknblvbl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 69
Send a message via ICQ to unfnknblvbl
dammit, it's been the 15th for 12 hours already!
unfnknblvbl is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 01:57   #184
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Yeah, well you're like 10-12 hours ahead of where I am in the UK
and I'm like 8 hours ahead of where the Nullsoft clock is in SF
and . . . ummm . . . I'm sure there was supposed to be a point to this post, but it totally slipped my mind halfway through posting it.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 02:01   #185
shuzz
Member
 
shuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 50
oh hell,i hope this doesnt turn out as dec 4!!!
[last release date!!!]
shuzz is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 02:24   #186
spleef420
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lost Wages
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to spleef420 Send a message via Yahoo to spleef420
is there a time scaling option somewhere in winamp 5? I may just have to rerip some of my cds but a few of the songs i have play very slowly and the time is all screwed up. the ones that don't work right say they are 45-75 minutes long.

anyone know how to fix this without reripping?

winamp 5.0rc666
2.4 ghz pentium4
256 RAM
SB Audigy2
GeForce4 mx420
spleef420 is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 03:38   #187
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
What did you use to rip them with?
(software & encoder)

And what format did you rip them to?
mp3, ogg, aac, wma, wav, other?

Using any 3rd-party Winamp plugins?
eg. a replacement mp3 input plugin, or any dsp/fx plugin?
Using WaveOut or DirectSound Output? (or 3rd-party output)

Does the same problem occur with other players?

As for Audigy2 . . . well, that's a whole different story
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 06:09   #188
spleef420
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lost Wages
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to spleef420 Send a message via Yahoo to spleef420
i ripped them with WMP lossless and converted using Advanced WMA workshop to 320k bitrate mp3 (this probably is the culprit but it's only on a few songs)

I'm running a fresh install of rc666 with only avs presets and the .ogg encoder added for ripping. no dsp/fx plugins. and yes, it's on directsound output.

this only happens with winamp 5(all versions used - rc8-666)
spleef420 is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 06:23   #189
2boobs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
is there a possiblity that it's not going to be released?
2boobs is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 06:41   #190
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
no
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 06:58   #191
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Quote:
Originally posted by spleef420
i ripped them with WMP lossless and converted using Advanced WMA workshop to 320k bitrate mp3 (this probably is the culprit but it's only on a few songs)

I'm running a fresh install of rc666 with only avs presets and the .ogg encoder added for ripping. no dsp/fx plugins. and yes, it's on directsound output.

this only happens with winamp 5(all versions used - rc8-666)
Hmm, bad method of ripping.

My advice to you:
Rip straight to MP3 (or OGG, etc)
Avoid WMA at all costs

Use CDex or EAC with LameEnc
Heck, even use Winamp 5 Pro
anything but WMP -> Lossless WMA -> MP3

What MP3 encoder does Advanced WMA Workshop use?
320kbps cbr/abr/vbr? or just plain --alt-preset insane? hmm?

Just experimented by ripping a CD to 320kbps
with CDex / Lame --alt-preset insane
and Winamp 5 is displaying & playing them perfectly
(gonna delete them though, 'cos I've already ripped this cd to OGG q6.0)

Most ponderous...
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 07:16   #192
WinBump
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 6
I have to say this a great video utility for playing nsv videos and mp3's but everytime I try to play common video files such as mpg's and avi's winamp crashes.
WinBump is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 07:30   #193
Jugalator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally posted by squall14716
Wheee, the third (I think) 666 release of Winamp, this time in a beautiful Winamp 5 form.
Or in "beautiful Doom form". After all, it was id Software that introduced the "666" versions (i.e. Doom II v1.666) to fit with its demonic theme. :-) I'm 99% sure Winamp borrowed this idea.

I have no probs with that -- it's great to see the uber Doom series honored this way.
Jugalator is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 07:36   #194
spleef420
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Lost Wages
Posts: 166
Send a message via AIM to spleef420 Send a message via Yahoo to spleef420
thanks DJ Egg. it was actually an experiment to see what kind of quality I could get. once I discovered that the average lossless WMA was over 30 megs I tossed the idea...well, off to rip my CDs again.

thanks again, Egg
spleef420 is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 07:36   #195
Carnicero
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 62
I thought it originated from the infamous port number id used?
Carnicero is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 08:18   #196
gaekwad2
Foorum King
 
gaekwad2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: bar2000
Posts: 11,411
while we're waiting for Santa...
@spleef420: try --alt preset standard or musepack --quality 5 --xlevel and use higher settings only if you can hear a difference (I can't). 320kbps cbr is just a waste of space.
@DJ Egg: I thought encoding from lossless shouldn't make a difference (except that it takes longer than reripping).
gaekwad2 is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 09:07   #197
Paparazzi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 358
I wonder if the .dat extension used for VCDs can be supported as well. I mean, if I can copy the whole .dat file and remname and play it on WA5, why can this just not be done internally to avoid hassels?

Cheers!

PS: I've been telling a friend of mine for a while now not to go in for other players as WA5 will definetely do this. Unfortunately, this guy keeps bugging me every other day asking if WA5 does it now or not
Paparazzi is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 09:09   #198
Sawg
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Preferences (Ctrl-P) > Plugins > Input > Double Click "Nullsoft DirectShow Decoder..." > add ";DAT" (no quotes) to the end of the extension list.
 
Old 15th December 2003, 09:26   #199
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Quote:
Originally posted by gaekwad2
while we're waiting for Santa...
@spleef420: try --alt preset standard or musepack --quality 5 --xlevel and use higher settings only if you can hear a difference (I can't). 320kbps cbr is just a waste of space.
@DJ Egg: I thought encoding from lossless shouldn't make a difference (except that it takes longer than reripping).
Yeah, under normal circumstances maybe. But we're talking WMA here, not Monkeys, WavPack, FLAC, Shorten, etc.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 15th December 2003, 09:27   #200
daven
Senior Member
 
daven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Southampton, UK
Posts: 119
Send a message via AIM to daven Send a message via Yahoo to daven
Seeing as wa5 will definitely be released today, can we now be told AOL's reasons for why it wasnt released on the 4th?

@DJ Egg: where in the uk are you?

I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory.
daven is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump