Old 6th May 2004, 18:48   #161
Kalter Rauch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Neuschwabenland
Posts: 21
OK...like I haven't been too aware for awhile. I'm STILL using v2.91.

(whine) If I upgrade to 5.03 (L/F or P) can I still use my old plug-ins?!?!?
Kalter Rauch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2004, 18:54   #162
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
umm, yes.. ofcourse you can.
Winamp 5.x is Winamp 2.x, it's the same codebase.

-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2004, 18:54   #163
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Yes, 99% of the time. Some odd plugins may depend on certain old versions of Winamp, but if they do their authors should have little trouble updating them to Winamp5. Winamp5 is built upon the Winamp2 codebase, with additions and improvements to many areas, but at it's core, it's STILL Winamp2.

-=Gonzotek=-

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2004, 19:07   #164
Kalter Rauch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Neuschwabenland
Posts: 21
(gluuurrgh) Thanx!!! I thought as much.

Last edited by Kalter Rauch; 6th May 2004 at 20:21.
Kalter Rauch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2004, 23:58   #165
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Quote:
Originally posted by will
amano: all wrong.
Damn. Then amano shalt not win the contest

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2004, 00:03   #166
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by amano
Damn. Then amano shalt not win the contest
poor amano

/me gives amano a consolatory cookie

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2004, 00:07   #167
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
*amano grasps the cookie and moves back into his bed*

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2004, 16:50   #168
Kalter Rauch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Neuschwabenland
Posts: 21
Hmmmmmm......I just skimmed the WINAMP 5 FAQ.

It says, regarding plug-in backward compatibility with versions 2 and 3, that WINAMP 5 ONLY SUPPORTS WINAMP 2 plugins !!!
Kalter Rauch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2004, 16:56   #169
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by Kalter Rauch
Hmmmmmm......I just skimmed the WINAMP 5 FAQ.

It says, regarding plug-in backward compatibility with versions 2 and 3, that WINAMP 5 ONLY SUPPORTS WINAMP 2 plugins !!!
yes that is true since Winamp 5 is Winamp 2.x with bug fixes and a few extra plugins to expand it's abilities (decent Media Library, Modern Skin/Winamp3 skin support)

Winamp3 was a totally different product built from scratch and now no longer supported which had a completely different plugin architecture.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2004, 17:08   #170
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Yes, that's true. Winamp 5 does not support Winamp 3 components and will not.

Winamp 5 is Winamp 2 , with Winamp 2.xx skin and plug-in support.

Winamp 5 includes a plug-in, wich makes you able to use Winamp 3 skins, too.

[edit]DrO was faster than me[/edit]
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2004, 17:24   #171
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
Quote:
Originally posted by Koopatrooper
Yes, that's true. Winamp 5 does not support Winamp 3 components and will not.
Actually, that's not _entirely_ true.
gen_ff.dll has support for Wasabi components, not Winamp3 components, but still Wasabi components.
The Color Editor for example, is a Wasabi component, originally developed for Winamp3, but later changed into a Winamp 5 Wasabi Component.
However, Wasabi components will only work in Winamp 5 while using Modern skins, not Classic.

Sorry, but I just had to confuse you more..

-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2004, 17:40   #172
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
that Plague is an evil tease

Quote:
However, Wasabi components will only work in Winamp 5 while using Modern skins, not Classic.
is a _big_ limitation though

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2004, 17:48   #173
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
Especially for us maki scripters who were planning all kinds of fun add-ons for wa3.

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2004, 18:50   #174
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
Quote:
Originally posted by DrO
that Plague is an evil tease
Hehe, I try..

Quote:
Originally posted by Gonzotek
Especially for us maki scripters who were planning all kinds of fun add-ons for wa3.
Yea, That definitely sucks..
Just keep the hope up for wasabi.player..

-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2004, 06:47   #175
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Yes Plague, you are right, gen_ff supports wasabi components.

But Winamp 5 itself doesn't. As you said before, wasabi components are just supported in modern skins.

I don't think, that you are an evil tease, really.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2004, 23:22   #176
evil_oj
Senior Member
 
evil_oj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 476
hey Koopatrooper, i like your avatar

5
3 I encode my music in Ogg Vorbis
2
I know enough about music and computers not to like computerized music.
evil_oj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2004, 01:29   #177
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Thank you.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2004, 19:23   #178
Kalter Rauch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Neuschwabenland
Posts: 21
OK...now that the plug-in issue is more-or-less out of the way......

How flexible are the minimum system requirements for WINAMP 5??? See...I really like to run WINAMP with a PII-400 through my sound system BECAUSE it has an ISA soundcard (Creative AWE64) that's made to work with the AWEamp plug-in. I haven't seen any other plug-in that combines flangers, reverbs, vibrato, etc. etc. all in one package...the catch is that it's written ONLY for the AWE64 card.

Note......I HAVE made contingency plans for getting a PIII-600 CPU ($66) for this M'bd if it's ABSOLUTELY necessary.
Kalter Rauch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2004, 19:42   #179
inthegray
Major Dude
 
inthegray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 704
Send a message via AIM to inthegray
very flexible. i think dro, one of our active plug-in devs, runs winamp 5 on either a p200 or p400. another person around her mentioned it running smoothly on a p100.

have some tips on "better-ing" your winamp 5 performance.
inthegray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2004, 20:25   #180
Kalter Rauch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Neuschwabenland
Posts: 21
Sounds good to ME!!!

Other websites seemed to support the min. req. shown in the WINAMP FAQ......

I'll go 5.03 then!!! THANX!!!
Kalter Rauch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2004, 21:12   #181
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by Kalter Rauch
OK...now that the plug-in issue is more-or-less out of the way......

How flexible are the minimum system requirements for WINAMP 5??? See...I really like to run WINAMP with a PII-400 through my sound system BECAUSE it has an ISA soundcard (Creative AWE64) that's made to work with the AWEamp plug-in. I haven't seen any other plug-in that combines flangers, reverbs, vibrato, etc. etc. all in one package...the catch is that it's written ONLY for the AWE64 card.

Note......I HAVE made contingency plans for getting a PIII-600 CPU ($66) for this M'bd if it's ABSOLUTELY necessary.
Kalter Rauch: it will work great (as long as you don't expect wonders from modern skins. and i've got a P2 300 which was running an awe64 with aweamp for a few years until i needed to upgrade to a surround sound system. so you shouldn't have any problems

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2004, 17:23   #182
PatrickNeil
Member
 
PatrickNeil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally posted by Plague
The Color Editor for example, is a Wasabi component, originally developed for Winamp3, but later changed into a Winamp 5 Wasabi Component.
I really love the color editor, it's so easy that I always end up using it on all of my new skins. I'm wondering if there are other wonderful wasabi plugins which I could be using on winamp.

Patrick
PatrickNeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2004, 18:13   #183
Plague
f(caffeine){
return wasabi;
}
(Forum King)
 
Plague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 3,984
no, not yet anyways..

-Plague
Plague is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2004, 18:51   #184
Kalter Rauch
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Neuschwabenland
Posts: 21
inthegray
DrO

WINAMP 5.03(Free/Full/EVERYTHING)......I...I..I'm IN!!!
I'm playing a Klaus Schulze CD through AWEamp even as I'm posting...(gluuurggh!!!)

HAHAHAHAHAHA !!!!!!
Kalter Rauch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2004, 18:52   #185
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by Kalter Rauch
inthegray
DrO

WINAMP 5.03(Free/Full/EVERYTHING)......I...I..I'm IN!!!
I'm playing a Klaus Schulze CD through AWEamp even as I'm posting...(gluuurggh!!!)

HAHAHAHAHAHA !!!!!!
w00t

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2004, 19:20   #186
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Any new infos?

Are the devs working on Winamp again (as there was mentioned that they were busy with non-Winamp stuff)?

Are there any new killer features?

If someone is in the right mood, feel free to tell me the existing killer feature (I am already teased enough, I think).

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2004, 20:04   #187
will
Nullsoft Newbie (Moderator)
 
will's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 5,569
amano: nah, its not that good anymore, there is just too much elvis in it :/

DO NOT PM ME WITH TECH SUPPORT QUESTIONS
will is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2004, 12:49   #188
floris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1
Re: Winamp 5.03 is out!

Quote:
Originally posted by Rellik
While we wait for the main player download page to be updated, here are the direct links:

Winamp 5.03 Lite
Winamp 5.03 Full
Winamp 5.03 Pro

Here's the Changelog:
This is great news, thank you for posting it here.
The 5 serie appears to be a great product. I have tried out the free download from this web site and it works amazing. It looks very shiney and it is my #1 audio player.

Soon I will go figure out if I can purchase it using my PayPal account. $15 for a license isn't much!
floris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2004, 13:52   #189
inthegray
Major Dude
 
inthegray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 704
Send a message via AIM to inthegray
*cough*
inthegray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2004, 14:17   #190
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
*Wow* Good catch. Winamp, the FREE music store?

(thus rivalling Napster and iTunes?)

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2004, 17:14   #191
shins
Senior Member
 
shins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 157
that's the new big thing in 5.04?
shins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2004, 17:20   #192
Gonzotek
Gunslinger
 
Gonzotek's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Terminus
Posts: 4,693
That's just one of the new things.

I was away for a while.
But I'm feeling much better now.
Gonzotek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2004, 19:14   #193
shins
Senior Member
 
shins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 157
AOL in bed with Apple, don't like it at all. Hopefully we won't have Apple advertisements all over winamp. As long as the "store" isn't too obtrusive, I wouldn't mind it.
shins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th June 2004, 20:13   #194
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
I've think you've caught the wrong end of the stick my friend.

When inthegray posted that link, this was the main article on his homepage.

No, there won't be any iTunes crap in Winamp.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2004, 18:31   #195
shins
Senior Member
 
shins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 157
My mistake, thanks for clearing that up. Was a little worried there.
shins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th June 2004, 09:30   #196
-=HUNGRYMAN=-
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 20
Send a message via ICQ to -=HUNGRYMAN=- Send a message via Yahoo to -=HUNGRYMAN=-
Sweet
upgrading now!
-=HUNGRYMAN=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2004, 05:49   #197
7thJoker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2
I have really enjoyed WinAmp5, but my OS doesn't even resemble stable at the moment. For whatever reason (or settings) WA2 works much better than WA5. I look forward to finish fixing Windows (damn you Microsoft and Dell) and being able to get back to WA5. For anyone who considers buying a new computer, remember that Dell=Satan.
7thJoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2004, 05:53   #198
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
err, with the exception of modern skins support, Winamp5 /is/ Winamp2... Try removing gen_ff.dll, see if it makes any performance boost.

YtseJam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2004, 17:34   #199
lunarboy1
Forum King
 
lunarboy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Somewhere, USA
Posts: 2,233
or just use classic skins, they don't use gen_ff.dll so then you wouldn't have to worry about going back to freeform skins again.
lunarboy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2004, 21:40   #200
sci0x
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to sci0x Send a message via Yahoo to sci0x
Really like the Winamp Pro Version. Very handy the way it encodes MP3 files, and rips and burns CDs at the drive's full speed. Nice one!
sci0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump