Old 5th August 2006, 14:19   #121
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by BugMaster
Incorrect working of option "When loading multiple files, sort by filename". For example such dir (ascending order):
#DUMMY.MP3
01 - Set 1.mp3
02 - Set 2.mp3

After checking this option became:
01 - Set 1.mp3
02 - Set 2.mp3
#DUMMY.MP3

P.S. Winamp 5.24 also has this bug.
This is because the sorting algorithm changed (a few versions back) to allow for correct sorting of filenames without leading zeroes. e.g. 1 2 3 ... 10 11, instead of 1 10 11 2 ...

Unfortunately, as a side effect, all the numbers are put first when sorting.
Benski is offline  
Old 6th August 2006, 11:05   #122
Serpher
Senior Member
 
Serpher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 146
Quote:
that's why it can be configured to revert back to the older 0.96ff method (preferences -> jump to file -> display -> options button)
it's not working
this highlighting in this vesion is purpose?
in 5.24 it was been different
highlighting of the whole line was a better than only right side of line
it's better because you can easyer find broken files in playlist
it's my theory

Sorry for my bad English
=====================
MB: Gigabyte P35C-DS3R || CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (3.00 GHz) || RAM: 8 GB Kingston DDR3 1333MHz || Audio card: ASUS Xonar D2X || Video card: GeForce 460 GTX || OS: Windows 7 SP1 || DirectX: 9.0c (latest) || Winamp version: latest || Winamp skin: Modern
Serpher is offline  
Old 6th August 2006, 11:08   #123
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
That's because it's broken in build 787, as already explained, heh.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 6th August 2006, 11:13   #124
Serpher
Senior Member
 
Serpher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 146
ok, ok

Sorry for my bad English
=====================
MB: Gigabyte P35C-DS3R || CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (3.00 GHz) || RAM: 8 GB Kingston DDR3 1333MHz || Audio card: ASUS Xonar D2X || Video card: GeForce 460 GTX || OS: Windows 7 SP1 || DirectX: 9.0c (latest) || Winamp version: latest || Winamp skin: Modern
Serpher is offline  
Old 6th August 2006, 14:38   #125
niktheguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 120
dunno if anyone can reproduce this. but with this beta of winamp i find that if i choose a song to play and click play i hear it. Then if if click play again, it starts again but doesn't sound as rich. If i again press play, it goes back to the original sound quality. There seems to be 2 different types of sound quality for every song.

I hope this makes sense. can anyone tell me why this happens, its never happened before.

Nikhil
niktheguru is offline  
Old 6th August 2006, 21:31   #126
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
are we allowed to post about other 5.25 beta builds in this thread or just b787?
STanger is offline  
Old 6th August 2006, 21:36   #127
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
just b787 since that's what's publically available and is the discussion purpose of this thread

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 6th August 2006, 21:37   #128
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
crap ok
STanger is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 02:24   #129
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by niktheguru
dunno if anyone can reproduce this. but with this beta of winamp i find that if i choose a song to play and click play i hear it. Then if if click play again, it starts again but doesn't sound as rich. If i again press play, it goes back to the original sound quality. There seems to be 2 different types of sound quality for every song.

I hope this makes sense. can anyone tell me why this happens, its never happened before.
can you provide a file that this happens with?
Benski is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 17:14   #130
Hanschke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 127
will there be a new beta build soon?
Hanschke is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 17:32   #131
xen withanex
Junior Member
 
xen withanex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally posted by niktheguru
dunno if anyone can reproduce this. but with this beta of winamp i find that if i choose a song to play and click play i hear it. Then if if click play again, it starts again but doesn't sound as rich. If i again press play, it goes back to the original sound quality. There seems to be 2 different types of sound quality for every song.

I hope this makes sense. can anyone tell me why this happens, its never happened before.
This is exactly what I was talking about! It happens with the 28bit option enabled, and will alternate between 28bit output and normal output.

Also alternates when moving the progress bar, pressing the skip track buttons and manual playlist advance.

It happens with every MP3 in my archive. I have a soudblaster audigy 2 zs, if this helps in any way.
xen withanex is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 17:36   #132
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally posted by xen withanex
This is exactly what I was talking about! It happens with the 128kb option enabled, and will alternate between 128kb output and normal output.

Also alternates when moving the progress bar, pressing the skip track buttons and manual playlist advance.

It happens with every MP3 in my archive. I have a soudblaster audigy 2 zs, if this helps in any way.
I had that for a little while too, but it went away - I attributed it to faulty wiring in my surround system...

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 17:42   #133
niktheguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 120
i've cracked it. Similar to xen withanex i also have an audigy 2 ZS platinum pro.

This happens to ALL songs. BUT this will only occur when the "24bit playback" is enabled in the playback settings in winamp preferences. If you disable this then the fault no longer occurs.

Nikhil
niktheguru is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 17:43   #134
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally posted by niktheguru
i've cracked it. Similar to xen withanex i also have an audigy 2 ZS platinum pro.

This happens to ALL songs. BUT this will only occur when the "24bit playback" is enabled in the playback settings in winamp preferences. If you disable this then the fault no longer occurs.
That would explain why mine went away, too... I also have an Audigy 2 ZS...

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 17:45   #135
xen withanex
Junior Member
 
xen withanex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 17
unfortunately by turning off that option you don't get the better sounding 28bit output. Mines a Platinum Pro too, I didn't think that would matter as I thought it only refered to the external audigy box.
xen withanex is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 18:09   #136
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by niktheguru
i've cracked it. Similar to xen withanex i also have an audigy 2 ZS platinum pro.

This happens to ALL songs. BUT this will only occur when the "24bit playback" is enabled in the playback settings in winamp preferences. If you disable this then the fault no longer occurs.
What song types does it happen to? MP3? AAC? MP4? Does it happen on all files or only certain ones?
Benski is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 18:10   #137
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
Definitely MP3s, since I don't use much else - I'm not sure if it happened on all the files, but I'm sure Xen or Nik can answer that...

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 18:18   #138
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by bemymonkey
Definitely MP3s, since I don't use much else - I'm not sure if it happened on all the files, but I'm sure Xen or Nik can answer that...
A few more questions:

1) Do you have EAX or any other kind of onboard effects activated on your soundcard?
2) Are you using a DSP plugin?
3) What about EQ?
4) Does it change if you switch to out_wave instead of out_ds?
Benski is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 18:20   #139
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
1) Do you have EAX or any other kind of onboard effects activated on your soundcard?

Yeap... upmixing stereo to 5.1 (stereo surround mode)

2) Are you using a DSP plugin?

Nope...

3) What about EQ?

EQ is on

4) Does it change if you switch to out_wave instead of out_ds?

Can't test right now, if Nik or Xen haven't provided an answer in a few hours I'll reinstall 5.25 and put it through its paces.

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 18:48   #140
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Yeah, I can repro something weird going on here with the 24-bit stuff and the eax > cmss/stereo surround option. After a seek or replay, nothing happens when checkmarking any of the 3 options, until after another seek/replay.

Anyway... bring on b801

/me updates the changelog below
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 18:51   #141
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Build 801 posted.

Changelog
- New: [ml_playlists] m3u8 playlist exporting
- New: [in_dshow] AVI metadata reading
- New: [ml_pmp] video sync support for portables
- New: [ml_pmp] devices can now be renamed
- New: [ml_pmp] added progress to portables tree item (no more switching views)
- New: [pmp_ipod] support for iTunesLock
- New: [pmp_p4s] video support
- New: [enc_lame] 24bit input support
- New: added ml views & playlists to Play-> submenu of right click popup menu
- Improved: preference cleanups
- Improved: [in_dshow] better WAV support
- Improved: [ml_local] better non-english query support
- Improved: [ml_pmp] metadata guessing based on filename
- Improved: [ml_pmp] improved GUI performance
- Improved: [ml_pmp] faster direct playback
- Improved: [in_wave] better bit-per-sample choosing
- Improved: [gen_ff] better sample rate display
- Improved: faster .pls writing
- Fixed: bad Layer 1 & Layer 2 playback (double speed + distorted)
- Fixed: slow enqueue/play from media library views
- Fixed: open playlist from media library broken (in playlist editor)
- Fixed: saving playlists to PLS format
- Fixed: crash when directdraw fails to create primary surface
- Fixed: [gen_jumpex] hi-liting of playlist entries for jump-to-file
- Fixed: [in_dshow] crash when using DSP/EQ on anything bigger than 16bit stereo
- Fixed: [ml_pmp] copy playlist to local media now works
- Fixed: [ml_online] Online Media bugfix (don't try to play NULL streams)
- Fixed: [ml_disc] CD Ripping view showing up when clicking on other ml views
- Fixed: [ml_disc] Showing ???? in taskbar and freeze on exit under Win9x
- Updated: [gen_jumpex] Jump-to-File 0.97.7
- Updated: libsndfile 1.0.16


No fix for the EAX playback bug, yet, sorry (EAX effects alternating on & off in 24bit mode)
Benski is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 19:05   #142
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
Build 801 posted.

Fixes the following 5.25 specific bugs:
- bad Layer 1 & Layer 2 playback (double speed + distorted)
- slow enqueue/play from media library views
- hiliting of playlist entries for jump-to-file broken
- open playlist from media library broken (in playlist editor)
- saving playlists to PLS format


No fix for the EAX playback bug, yet, sorry (EAX effects alternating on & off in 24bit mode)
Right on, installing now...

Quick question though - What exactly does the "use dither" option do in the playback settings?



-edit-

Are you completly sure the media library enqueue/play speed thing is fixed? Still seems a bit slow compared to 5.24 - so does the view loading in the ML itself...

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 19:14   #143
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by bemymonkey
Are you completly sure the media library enqueue/play speed thing is fixed? Still seems a bit slow compared to 5.24 - so does the view loading in the ML itself...
It's a tad slower than 5.24, because there is an ANSI-to-Unicode conversion on all of the filenames. However, view loading in build 801 is much faster than build 787.
Benski is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 19:17   #144
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
Ah, that would explain it... Any chance of a toggle function for that?

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 19:18   #145
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by bemymonkey
Quick question though - What exactly does the "use dither" option do in the playback settings?
Right now, it's only used by in_vorbis, but will be used by in_mp3 and in_mp4 in the future. When decoding, calculations are done at a higher precision than playback. Dithering is a method to improve sound quality when truncating the number of bits, e.g. from 64bit internal precision to 24bit output precision.
Benski is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 19:22   #146
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
man this is shaping up to be real nice! still haven't run across anything real nasty yet.
STanger is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 19:24   #147
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
Right now, it's only used by in_vorbis, but will be used by in_mp3 and in_mp4 in the future. When decoding, calculations are done at a higher precision than playback. Dithering is a method to improve sound quality when truncating the number of bits, e.g. from 64bit internal precision to 24bit output precision.
Sounds good...

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 19:53   #148
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Full b801 changelog now edited/posted above :-)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 20:25   #149
xen withanex
Junior Member
 
xen withanex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 17
I noticed has been updated in the new build bugs, but thought I'd fill this out anyway, in case it helps.

1) Do you have EAX or any other kind of onboard effects activated on your soundcard?
Yeah, upmix to 7.1, Creatives EAX Advanced EQ and CMSS2.

2) Are you using a DSP plugin?
Nope.

3) What about EQ?
I have it turned off, as the creative one does the job nice enough.

4) Does it change if you switch to out_wave instead of out_ds?
Yes! Actually does. Works fine like this! Bit fuzzy round the audio edges, and trading the crossfader though...
xen withanex is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 20:43   #150
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by xen withanex
4) Does it change if you switch to out_wave instead of out_ds?
Yes! Actually does. Works fine like this! Bit fuzzy round the audio edges, and trading the crossfader though...
I think it might be a soundcard driver bug. I can't reproduce on my Audigy 2 NX (which is quite a bit different than the ZS), but DJ Egg can reproduce on his 2 ZS. I've got a contact on the Creative Labs device driver team that I'm working on getting more details from.
Benski is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 21:38   #151
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
It's a hardware limitation of the Audigy 2 ZS. Basically, it only supports a single 24bit audio path. Time to upgrade, heh. You can get rid of the problem by disabling hardware acceleration in 'sound control panel > audio > advanced > performance',
but hey, who wants to do that?

[edit]

a better solution is to disable 'fade on seek' in out_ds config > fading :-)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 21:40   #152
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
It's a hardware limitation of the Audigy 2 ZS. Basically, it only supports a single 24bit audio path. Time to upgrade, heh.
Meh... I should've guessed, Audigy 2 ZS has always had pretty shoddy 24-Bit support...

Is there any way to get the media library loading speed back up to 5.24 levels for people who don't really need Unicode stuff? The difference is really quite noticable (even in the latest build...).

-edit- I should probably add that most of my smart views are filled with 20k+ files, which probably makes the difference between 5.24 and 5.25 loading times far more pronounced than with smaller smart view queries...

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 22:03   #153
niktheguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 120
lol, suppose you guys have cracked the issue without my extra input!! But yeah i'm experiencing the same symptoms. (Damn creative....first they don't create decent vista drivers....now THIS!! :-) )

Nikhil
niktheguru is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 22:03   #154
darkdragon3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Crash

I recieved a crash while watching an AVI. But the send report feature wasnt able to send the attachment to winamp support so im posting it here. I have ffdshow installed late4st version.
Attached Files
File Type: zip report.zip (33.3 KB, 631 views)
darkdragon3 is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 22:04   #155
niktheguru
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 120
oh and is it just me or have we lost the emusic icons thing for good!!

Nikhil
niktheguru is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 22:14   #156
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
i have an x-fi xtreme music, if i enable the 24bit support in winamp, there are better performance with mp3 etc ?
if yes how i can enable it?
djsolidsnake86 is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 22:16   #157
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally posted by djsolidsnake86
i have an x-fi xtreme music, if i enable the 24bit support in winamp, there are better performance with mp3 etc ?
if yes how i can enable it?
Preferences>Playback

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 22:17   #158
lord_ah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 4
in_snes.dll

hey

my collection of snes 'rsn' files doesnt play with these beta's. will this be fixed?

*for those that dont know, rsn is just a renamed rar archive with lots of .spc sound files which are ripped using zsnes etc.

kind regards
lord_ah is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 22:28   #159
djsolidsnake86
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally posted by bemymonkey
Preferences>Playback
but in this way there are better performance in what?
thank you 1000
djsolidsnake86 is offline  
Old 7th August 2006, 22:32   #160
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
I don't think the performance will change much... but you MIGHT hear a difference in sound quality... supposedly better.

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump