Old 12th August 2006, 08:23   #281
roytam1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
I should take out some evidences to proof the Winamp.m3u8 bug.
my playlist atteched.

jpop.m3u8 is my original m3u8 playlist, saved in M;\song
and Winamp.m3u8 is Winamp generated in its directory.

The problem is that, Winamp doesn't seem able to process m3u8 playlist and made an accident CRLF after some #EXTINF line.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z playlists.7z (76.3 KB, 301 views)
roytam1 is offline  
Old 12th August 2006, 09:00   #282
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Just noticed another issue with 24Bit playback.

The Signal Processing Studio plugin (dsp_sps) seems to have problems with 24Bit.

When I use e.g. the preset "justin - reverseness.sps" my left speakers just make noise. Reproduced with .ogg and .acc (in MP4 container) files.

When I uncheck "Allow 24 bit" everything is fine, the plugin works as expected.

Using Audigy 2, latest drivers, no EAX enabled, speakers setup 5.1.

Another small thing, which is annoying is, that the option to set a password in "Media Library" -> "Online Media" -> "Internet Media Rating Preferences" has no "Cancel" button, you must enter a password. It would be nice to have a "Cancel" button.

Benski, nice that you've implemented a warning, when you enable 24Bit, thanks.
Koopa is offline  
Old 12th August 2006, 22:40   #283
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Re: M3Us with http links to other M3Us or PLS don't work in 5.25, they did in 5.24

Quote:
Originally posted by Cpuroast
Hi,

I use local M3U files that reference remote http links to either M3U or PLS shoutcast playlist files which I assign to buttons on my remote.

This would work perfectly in 5.24, but in 5.25 it doesn't pull the remote playlist and starts playing. Instead, it just displays an error message : [Error synching to stream] http://etn.fm/progressive-high.m3u

If I load these remote playlists from bookmarks in winamp or from the play url option, it works fine.

This happens in all builds of 5.25 I've tried even the latest b812.

Just thought I'd point this out.

Thanks,
Thanks for the report. This has been fixed for the final.
Benski is offline  
Old 12th August 2006, 22:42   #284
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by roytam1
I should take out some evidences to proof the Winamp.m3u8 bug.
my playlist atteched.

jpop.m3u8 is my original m3u8 playlist, saved in M;\song
and Winamp.m3u8 is Winamp generated in its directory.

The problem is that, Winamp doesn't seem able to process m3u8 playlist and made an accident CRLF after some #EXTINF line.
I can't replicate your problem. I opened the jpop.m3u8 file and the winamp.m3u8 that was subsequently saved did not experience the problems you had.

Judging by your earlier post, it sounds like the ape plugin is creating bad titles (maybe with an embedded newline character)
Benski is offline  
Old 12th August 2006, 23:03   #285
MasterViVi
Senior Member
 
MasterViVi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 290
See this screen again:
http://img152.imageshack.us/my.php?i...ntitleddl3.png

"High and realtime priorities are not..." what?
MasterViVi is offline  
Old 12th August 2006, 23:15   #286
SadEye
Junior Member
 
SadEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Shangri-La
Posts: 45
Winamp Agent don't work right if it is disable.

Don't part with your illusions,
When they are gone you may still exist,
But you have ceased to live.
SadEye is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 00:50   #287
drewbar
Sawg 2.0
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,916
Well, if it is disabled of course it isn't going to work. That's what "Disabled" means. Can you try to explain the issue a little more clearer?

Count with us!
Jan 1st, 12AM (PST, GMT -8) 2010 - 282,246
drewbar is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 04:09   #288
roytam1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
I can't replicate your problem. I opened the jpop.m3u8 file and the winamp.m3u8 that was subsequently saved did not experience the problems you had.

Judging by your earlier post, it sounds like the ape plugin is creating bad titles (maybe with an embedded newline character)
But the problem is that, mp3 files also affected and the problem doesn't exist in earlier versions.
If I load m3u playlist, the first time saving of Winamp.m3u8 will have no problem but the secord time will have that problem.
roytam1 is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 06:32   #289
Juanus
Major Dude
 
Juanus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 734
Send a message via AIM to Juanus
I am getting a lockup with the latest beta 812 on my home machine. This was not happening with any of the previous betas. Clean install and no third party plugins.

In the Media Library, Click the Library button in the lower left pane > Media Library Preferences.
It automatically defaults to the Media Library preferences choice, but if I try to click on any other preferences, winamp is locked. I have to end task on it.

If I do ctrl P, I seem to be able to choose everything until I get to the Media Library Preferences, then the lock up occurs again.

I attached the crash logs if that will help.
Juanus is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 10:26   #290
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Quote:
Originally posted by Juanus
I attached the crash logs if that will help.
Yes, please do, because we can't reproduce the problem.


@MasterViVi
Prefs typo is fixed. Thanks.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 10:54   #291
SadEye
Junior Member
 
SadEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Shangri-La
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally posted by drewbar
Well, if it is disabled of course it isn't going to work. That's what "Disabled" means. Can you try to explain the issue a little more clearer?
Winamp Agent still works if it is disabled.

Don't part with your illusions,
When they are gone you may still exist,
But you have ceased to live.
SadEye is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 10:55   #292
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
Winamp Agent still works if it is disabled.
Reproduced, but I guess the problem is already known.
Koopa is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 11:18   #293
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
Nope, can't reproduce it here. What do you mean by 'still works'?

When I check 'Enable winamp agent' I see the entry added to HKLM\...\Run
and when I uncheck it the StartUp entry goes away.

Are you using some StartUp monitoring app maybe? eg. Windows Defender etc.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 12:49   #294
X7-007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Israel
Posts: 5
The program freezes with CPU 99% after entering options and going through Media Libary.

If i click directly on Media Libary it freezes right away.

Have lastest DX
XFI ExtremeMusic latest drivers
WinxpSP2 lastest updates
Amd64 +2800
Nforce 3 lastest drivers


it didnt happen in the beta before this ver.

i didnt install any of the 3rd party appz, the Sonic Encoding, no Virtuallion, no Video Support, no Wave Writing, and no CD Extracting.

exacly what Juanus talked about.

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....72#post2008572
X7-007 is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 14:48   #295
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Juanus,X7, I don't seem to be able to reproduce. Does this happen with the classic skin as well?

X7, can you attach the crash logs?

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 15:29   #296
BugMaster
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Russia
Posts: 63
Winamp incorrectly associates with playlist extensions during installation or when executing "Winamp.exe /REG=L". As I see in RegMon it creates registry key "HKCR\*.M3U;*.M3U8;*.PLS;*.B4S;*.WPL;*.ASX" but such actions is incorrect it must create 6 independent registry keys "HKCR\.M3U", "HKCR\.M3U8", etc. Also it creates some unreadable registry keys. I add the RegMon screenshot to illustrate this bug.
Un-association of playlist extensions is also incorrect.

P.S. I see such behaviour in all Winamp 5.25 Beta including build 812.
Attached Images
File Type: png playlistregerror.png (60.4 KB, 312 views)
BugMaster is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 16:10   #297
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
@BugMaster
Thanks. Fixed :-)
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 16:22   #298
BugMaster
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Russia
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally posted by BugMaster
Incorrect working of option "When loading multiple files, sort by filename". For example such dir (ascending order):
#DUMMY.MP3
01 - Set 1.mp3
02 - Set 2.mp3

After checking this option became:
01 - Set 1.mp3
02 - Set 2.mp3
#DUMMY.MP3

P.S. Winamp 5.24 also has this bug.
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
This is because the sorting algorithm changed (a few versions back) to allow for correct sorting of filenames without leading zeroes. e.g. 1 2 3 ... 10 11, instead of 1 10 11 2 ...

Unfortunately, as a side effect, all the numbers are put first when sorting.
May be it is possible to make the option in preferences to switch to old algorithm? Or completely restore the old algorithm?
BugMaster is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 18:02   #299
Kovenant
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
hi" I am new here and i have tiny request... I guess it was posted earlier so sorry about... why arent unicode names shown in tray too? I hope its going to be in final or next beta thank you

[Edit --> DJ Egg]
The winamp window itself still isn't a unicode window.
The fix would be a pretty major one, and alas won't make it in time for 5.25 final.
Maybe later, hopefully... we shall see.
Kovenant is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 18:45   #300
Giovi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
problems

Hello, I have some problems with Winamp.

1: since Winamp was born I had problem with Assistant, after each next reinstall, setting of assistant's icon in systray is always turn on, even if I each reinstall turning it off. It's small problem

2: The bigger one, I have the latest build of 5.25 (812) (the problem was with 5.24, 5.25 Beta 1 and 5.25 build 801 too) and my winamp freezes up when the random mp3-file ends, but only sometimes, over an hour Winamp playing good and in a second, after end of some track it freezes up and what's the biggest problem - I can't close it even with TaskManager in Windows. The only solution to close and reopen Winamp is restart the machine which is very annoying, please, if you want any INIs or info about machine, ask for it, I will send you, now dunno what you need to know. The only plugin I installed to standard plugins is AMIP (Mirc now playing plugin) but it everytime was working and I am not using it when the Winamp freezes up, so dunno where's the problem ...

please help thank you in advance
Giovi is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 19:40   #301
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
Nope, can't reproduce it here. What do you mean by 'still works'?
When I disable the agent and reboot my system, the agent is still in the systray. Reproduced on 2 systems.

Only workaround: Disable agent via msconfig or another tool.

Quote:
Are you using some StartUp monitoring app maybe? eg. Windows Defender etc.
No
Koopa is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 20:40   #302
Bubba Smith
Major Dude
 
Bubba Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bubbaville, USA
Posts: 599
Well, no matter how many times I try, I can't reproduce the above behavior with 5.25 beta build 812. If I disable the agent, it's disabled and does not reappear, unless I re-enable it. Though, on occasion, I will have 2 instances of the agent in the systray. Simply closing one will leave the other active. This however, happens very infrequently.
Bubba Smith is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 20:50   #303
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Bug don't mean that it's reproducible on all maschines. 1000 PCs, 1000 different configurations.

I reproduced it on 2 different maschines, also reinstalled 5.24 to be sure, that this is related to 5.25 Beta.

5.24 works fine, 5.25 has this bug, at least on my systems.
Koopa is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 21:01   #304
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
I've noticed strange behavior with Winamp agent, and having multiple users logged into the computer.
Benski is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 21:04   #305
Giovi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
please help me (above)
Giovi is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 21:11   #306
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Giovanni, just try renaming the amip plugin to amip.dll.off when winamp is closed and see if the bug is still reproduceable. You can rename it afterwards back. But it is the only valid method to see if isn't related to this plugin. Sometimes plugins break and a mirc plugin seems to be likely to be affected by the new unicode stuff.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 21:58   #307
Giovi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
I will try, but like I said, the problem was the same with 5.24 and there wasn't unicode support. I will try.

EDiT: I've uninstalled it. Now we will see...
Giovi is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 22:07   #308
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
Unicode support was added partially even before 5.24, eg. in gen_ff for version 5.22. I just ask because it doesn't crash for me.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 22:12   #309
Giovi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
ohw, okey, so now Winamp is playing correctly, I will see in few tens of minutes ... thanks anyway!
Giovi is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 22:14   #310
ujay
Forum King
 
ujay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: London
Posts: 6,072
Quote:
Originally posted by Koopatrooper
When I disable the agent and reboot my system, the agent is still in the systray. Reproduced on 2 systems.
This was reported back at the start of this thread.

It is an installer problem, not a winamp problem.

If you set up the Agent in the installer it creates a 'Winamp Agent' run at boot entry in the registry.

When you then run winamp it also creates an entry 'WinampAgent' in the run at boot entries. No amount of turning this on an off will clear the 'Winamp Agent' entry. You will need to do this by editting the registry. (or use HJT if you have it).

Maybe this is only a problem with the beta install files and wil be gone in the final release.

UJ
ujay is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 22:34   #311
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by ujay
This was reported back at the start of this thread.

It is an installer problem, not a winamp problem.

If you set up the Agent in the installer it creates a 'Winamp Agent' run at boot entry in the registry.

When you then run winamp it also creates an entry 'WinampAgent' in the run at boot entries. No amount of turning this on an off will clear the 'Winamp Agent' entry. You will need to do this by editting the registry. (or use HJT if you have it).

Maybe this is only a problem with the beta install files and wil be gone in the final release.

UJ
Thanks for the details, UJ. This has been fixed for final.
Benski is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 22:48   #312
X7-007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Israel
Posts: 5
I forgot , i didnt say so, i havent installed the agent nor enabled it anyhow.

and i always used the Modrem skin, havent use the classic since the modren replaced it. and yes i just tried to install it when its with classic skin and it did freeze same as before.

as for the error report, i have no idea how to use it, thee is no log or file in C:\ as default location. it doest leave any logs because it closes with CTRL + ALT + DEL, end Winamp.exe.
X7-007 is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 22:48   #313
X7-007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Israel
Posts: 5
bhaa sorry for the 2posts, it said i cant post every 60 but i didnt see it the first time, it said that on the first time i tried so i was confused.
X7-007 is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 23:30   #314
savagcl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: kentucky
Posts: 187
Been waiting for 24 bit for the longest. Sounds great here.
Build 812, winamp pro.

Only problem i can see is no vis. Tried 5 different skins
and all give "illegal operation" message and suggesttion to
restart winamp.

sound card: Creative Audigy 2 ZX with ft. panel. Running
with 5.1 channel and EAX is off (off or on seemed to make
no difference in sound.

Well Done! Cant wait for the formal release,
savagcl

clif
savagcl is offline  
Old 13th August 2006, 23:44   #315
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by savagcl
Been waiting for 24 bit for the longest. Sounds great here.
Build 812, winamp pro.

Only problem i can see is no vis. Tried 5 different skins
and all give "illegal operation" message and suggesttion to
restart winamp.

sound card: Creative Audigy 2 ZX with ft. panel. Running
with 5.1 channel and EAX is off (off or on seemed to make
no difference in sound.

Well Done! Cant wait for the formal release,
savagcl
The crash when opening the visualizer has been fixed for the final release.
Benski is offline  
Old 14th August 2006, 00:51   #316
Giovi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
Well, the problem seems to be eliminated by uninstalling amip thanks in advance to amano

BUT AGAIN: After each reinstall of Winamp, WinampAgent icon in systray is shown even if I turned it off in previous version of Winamp ... will you fix this bug please?
Giovi is offline  
Old 14th August 2006, 01:31   #317
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
1. Re: amip

3rd-party plugins aren't supported here. Please do not post any issues about 3rd-party plugins in this thread, unless it is a global issue which effects all plugins of a particular category.

2. Re: Agent
Quote:
Originally posted by Benski
Thanks for the details, UJ. This has been fixed for final.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 14th August 2006, 02:29   #318
X7-007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Israel
Posts: 5
Guys sorry to be anoying but i want to use the prog Winamp but i cant get it configurated without it to freeze after couple seconds, after couple travels in the options it get stuck, but if u go to the media right away it stuck instant, could u get it fixed, because i just cant use it without hearing mp3 with 24bit :P
X7-007 is offline  
Old 14th August 2006, 02:37   #319
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by X7-007
Guys sorry to be anoying but i want to use the prog Winamp but i cant get it configurated without it to freeze after couple seconds, after couple travels in the options it get stuck, but if u go to the media right away it stuck instant, could u get it fixed, because i just cant use it without hearing mp3 with 24bit :P
Does it lock up on any particular part of the preferences? Or on any of them?

Also, have you tried deleting your C:\Program Files\Winamp directory and installing again? (to eliminate the possibility of a third party plugin causing problems)
Benski is offline  
Old 14th August 2006, 03:08   #320
X7-007
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Israel
Posts: 5
it stuck in any of the related in the Media Libary. i can change in any other of the first group, but if i just click on media llibary or any related group it freezes. and it stuck when i click on skins or any related in the group. but in all others it doesnt happen, i can click on them all day long.
i did delete the whole folder with nothing left inside , clean installion.
X7-007 is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump