Old 6th September 2017, 15:13   #1
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 209
Quinto Black CT v1.4 (Release)

Skin Name: Quinto Black CT v1.4

Author: PeterK.

Type: Modern Skin

File Extension: wal

SHA-1: 2CAC311BEB0E6B9AB7D37023486AD788DC3BE97F

Size: 1.25 MB

Change log:

- added: Offline Lyrics window

- added: "About" section

- added: Dark color for PLAYBACK buttons

- added: Quinto's own context menu options

- changed: AlbumCover window is now detached from the MainPlayer

- changed: analog VU Meter's background is now as wide as MainPlayer's

- fixed: snapping between windows and MainPlayer


Download Link: Click here.

Enjoy!



Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot v1.4.png
Views:	124
Size:	412.4 KB
ID:	53506  
PeterK. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2017, 10:42   #2
ariszlo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 278
Wow! This has long been the best-looking radio lookalike but it is still getting better.
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2017, 17:56   #3
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariszlo View Post
... it is still getting better.
Happy to hear that!
PeterK. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2017, 04:00   #4
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,395
Excellent work! Enjoying the digital VU meter particularly XD.

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2017, 09:13   #5
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Victhor View Post
... Enjoying the digital VU meter particularly XD.
PeterK. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2017, 21:11   #6
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,564
I'm enjoying version 1.4, but I can't figure out how to open the "About" section.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2017, 08:34   #7
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
... but I can't figure out how to open the "About" section.
And how do you open and close the MediaLibrary window using the context menu? Huh?
PeterK. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2017, 14:21   #8
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,564
Clicking on the "About Quinto Black CT" option in the grouped Quinto context menu options does nothing on my computer (but leave a checkmark). It was the first thing I tried. There is a display of changing credits and an image of part of the main player window on the "Current Skin" tab in the Preferences - Skins - Modern Skins section. Is this what you're talking about? If so, what happened to the 3D image you were talking about?

As for the Media Library window, I usually leave it open and I open it with the button on the main player window. I use ML's own close button to close it. These actions require 1 less click than going thru the context menu. After Quinto loads, I usually hide the main player window behind the playlist editor window (the one with player controls). I can post another screenshot if you would like.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2017, 14:36   #9
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Clicking on the "About Quinto Black CT" option in the grouped Quinto context menu options does nothing on my computer

On my both laptops (XP and Win10) I do see the content window with the 3D image and all the credits. Right now I could not tell what is wrong with Quinto (or your computer.)

Can someone else please confirm if they can or cannot see the "About" window.

EDIT: You have to enable this option:



I never knew there was a correlation between the alpha background of the "About" feature and this option. And since I have always had it checked I never got problems with the "About" window.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	alpha blending.png
Views:	83
Size:	72.4 KB
ID:	53524  
PeterK. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2017, 19:37   #10
ariszlo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Hungary
Posts: 278
Btw About window, is there a quicker way to close it? Popping up the right-click menu and then hovering over Options > Quinto Black CT and then unchecking About "Quinto Black CT" is not very convenient.

And another question if it is not a trade secret: how do you dim the screen behind the About window?
ariszlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2017, 20:03   #11
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by ariszlo View Post
Btw About window, is there a quicker way to close it? Popping up the right-click menu and then hovering over Options > Quinto Black CT and then unchecking About "Quinto Black CT" is not very convenient.

1) How many times a day are you going to open and close that particular window Ariszló?
2) While creating the "About" content my intention was to give it a different touch, avoiding putting it in another boring frame. So I decided to make a frameless window which would act as a container - like both VU Meters do and which do not provide any CLOSE buttons. And this is the reason, why you have to move your mouse pointer ALL the way down in order to close it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ariszlo View Post
And another question if it is not a trade secret: how do you dim the screen behind the About window?

alphabackground="alpha.background" in the <layout>
PeterK. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2017, 22:12   #12
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,395
Damn! I love that About window! The surprise effect plus the awesome 3D pic is definitely a winner.

Two observations:
1. Maybe "Forum" link should point to this thread instead of "mine"?
2. Maybe the About window should be closed with a simple or double click on the opaque area, pretty much like Lightbox image pop style, which this resembles a lot (I imagine a lot of user will try that in fact).

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2017, 23:09   #13
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,564
Yeah! Enabling the desktop alpha bending gets the new Quinto about window working. I love the way it dims everything else. You rock PeterK.

Also, it was not expected (nor necessary), thank you for including me in the "Thanks to:" line. Much appreciated. All I try to do is try to help people like you keep Winamp alive. Your success is what motivates me.

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2017, 09:11   #14
MarkRH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 405
Cool skin. Looked at the About box and noticed some odd pink text on the bottom-left:



Suppose I should mention I am using this with DrO's Wacup but it does the same in normal Winamp. Windows 7 Pro 64bit.
MarkRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2017, 17:13   #15
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,564
Hi MarkRH,

I'm also running this skin with WACUP and don't see the corruption shown in your screenshot. Have you changed anything in the "Font Rendering" tab options?

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2017, 17:31   #16
MarkRH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminifu View Post
Hi MarkRH,

I'm also running this skin with WACUP and don't see the corruption shown in your screenshot. Have you changed anything in the "Font Rendering" tab options?
Not to my knowledge. Here's what I have:

MarkRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2017, 18:06   #17
Aminifu
Forum King
 
Aminifu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 4,564
I have the same selections as you, except I also have the 1st option enabled (which appears to be disabled in your screenshot).

I don't really know if it will make a difference, since I don't see your issue with that option enabled or not. Your issue may also be related to the Windows font handling options. Is this the only place where you see strange font rendering?

Winamp Pro 5.666.3516 fully-patched - Komodo X Touchscreen by Victhor skin
Windows 10 Home 64-bit desktop - Logitech Z906 5.1 speaker system
Aminifu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2017, 19:14   #18
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 209
Thank you very much for your kind words.

@Ariszló:

I forgot to mention that you have to create a transparent bitmap file for your background. So in a nutshell:

- create a transparent png file (using a program which can handle png file with alpha channel)
- add alphabackground="alpha.background" to the <layout> (you may change the name if you please)
- make sure the "Enable Alpha Blending" option is checked.
- ( I also tried the "forcealpha="1" command in order to show the "About" window regardless whether the "Enable Alpha Blending" option is checked or not. But it did not work.)

That's it.

@Victhor:
How am I supposed to add a http address to a new skin release while the link does not exist yet? I think "your" thread is the perfect place in order to catch some news or ask questions. And since you mention it: would it be technically possible to change the "starter/owner" of "your" thread and put my nickname in there?

@Aminifu:
My "success" is based on your feedback! (which I also call "productive complaining"). And this is and always will be a clear win-win for all of us.

@MarkRH:
I am sorry for those "corrupted" lines on your desktop but the fact that all other lines are displayed properly leads to a problem which seems to be not skin-related.

1) there are no issues on my both laptops (XP and Win10)
2) you are at this moment obviously the only one having this oddity
3) I compared my "Font Rendering" settings with yours and there is one difference: the first option is checked.
4) I spoke yesterday with Dr.O and he did not mention any "weird looking" text lines. And I bet he has WACUP installed on his machine.

Hence I would not know how to help you right now MarkRH.

And I added a CLOSE button the the "About" window:



... which gets brighter once the mouse pointer is over it.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	close button.PNG
Views:	96
Size:	287.8 KB
ID:	53526  
PeterK. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2017, 20:34   #19
MarkRH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 405
I figured out my issue or at least a contributing factor. It's the Windows Theme. I run with a Windows Classic Theme. If I pick one of the Aero based themes then the text looks normal.

This is the only place I've seen the messed up characters like this, in any program. Why is it only that section of the About box that is messed up? Strange.

I can't check that first box regardless of the Windows Theme used so I'm not sure what might be blocking that. That box is checked in my normal Winamp but I get the same behavior with it.
MarkRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 06:38   #20
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 209
I just double checked the "About" window running the Classic Theme on XP and Window7 (in a Virtual Machine) and see no issues.

This is Windows XP:



... and this one is from Window 7

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	XP.PNG
Views:	58
Size:	138.3 KB
ID:	53527   Click image for larger version

Name:	Win7.PNG
Views:	54
Size:	79.0 KB
ID:	53528  
PeterK. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 08:41   #21
MarkRH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 405
I dunno then. Just not going to worry about it. Not going to break other things just to figure it out LOL. If you can't reproduce it, tough to correct it anyway.

If I drag the about window around I can make the pink bits shift around or disappear and sometimes get light blue looking things. Weird.
MarkRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 11:21   #22
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 209
@MarkRH:
How did you get the yellow frame around the Preferences box? Is this your wallpaper?
PeterK. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 18:01   #23
MarkRH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 405
Go to Personalize -> Window Color at bottom and get this window -> Change Active Window Border size and color:



Only available with Windows Classic theme.
MarkRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 18:10   #24
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 209
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkRH View Post
Go to Personalize -> Window Color at bottom and get this window -> Change Active Window Border size and color.
Oh, I get it. Would you please set the Classic Theme to default and open the "About" window again.

P.S. Right now you have a yellow frame around an active window. Opening the "About" window makes it also active and the text line is over yellow background.
PeterK. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 20:19   #25
MarkRH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 405
Using the default Windows Classic without any of my customizations, Windows 7 Basic, or High Contrast White themes will cause it. The High Contrast Dark themes don't do it.

Strange.

Oh, in case there is any confusion, happens in both my normal Winamp and Wacup so it's not something specific to one or the other.
MarkRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 21:25   #26
MarkRH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 405
Well, I unpacked the Skin and played around a little. I changed the color of the text in the about.xml from 255,255,255 to color="229,229,208" and now I get this:



Still some slight off color pixels but it does look much better.
MarkRH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump