Old 3rd March 2004, 00:00   #1
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Talking Dialogs.dll: My new plugin.

Hello dudes!

I just create Dialogs.dll. A plugin for call the Open and Folder browse dialogs.

Test it. Please post your opinions.
Thanks

PS: See the readme file for details!
Attached Files
File Type: zip dialogs.zip (3.8 KB, 681 views)


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2004, 02:55   #2
deguix
Major Dude
 
deguix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Everett - MA, USA
Posts: 1,354
Send a message via ICQ to deguix
Yeah, basically it works, but how about adding more options, like to add support to appear the "Save File" dialog for example...

But I'll continue to try the System way, I'm planning to make a new header file using all the codes with System plugin... Now, about the Open dialog for my program, I'll use your plugin. Thanks.

Your DLL size is too small I think you just used 2 API for dialogs, am I right?

My Wiki Pages

Working now on:
New projects. (language: any)
deguix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2004, 14:52   #3
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
I use like 10 APIs, but mostly...yeah... for those two.
I could add the "Save" dialog.... is not hard...

*Add it in the TODO list.

Thanks


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd March 2004, 15:25   #4
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Updated to versions 1.1:
Add it the "Save" dialog.
Attached Files
File Type: zip dialogs.zip (4.3 KB, 342 views)


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2004, 23:27   #5
KirillKr
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kaliningrad, RF
Posts: 74
Send a message via ICQ to KirillKr
2Lobo Lunar
Did you add source and binary of your plugin in nsis development snapshot?
KirillKr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2004, 23:38   #6
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Cool Lobo Lunar is in "da house"

Done it!
Now you can add you custom filter as many you want.
Updated to version 1.2:
  • Change syntax.
  • Added the custom Index filter.
  • Added the multiple filter for both Open and Save Dialogs.
  • Added "Create Folfer" button on Folder Dialog.
  • Remove the current selection folder label in Folder Browse (maybe I'll put it back).
Please see the readme file for the updated syntax.
Comments, please!!! Specially from users with Win95/Win98/NT

@KirillKr: No. This is my personal work. If the dev's want it, sure.... why not
Attached Files
File Type: zip dialogs.zip (4.7 KB, 534 views)


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2004, 23:52   #7
KirillKr
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Kaliningrad, RF
Posts: 74
Send a message via ICQ to KirillKr
>> No. This is my personal work. If the dev's want it, sure.... why not
Yes. I meant this too.
KirillKr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2004, 15:30   #8
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
So... no comments? Than later today I'll put it in the Archive...


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2004, 17:36   #9
Brummelchen
Major Dude
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 681
>> So... no comments?

Sorry, no app for that moment now...
Maybe in my experimental when i finished current update..

Greets, Brummelchen
Brummelchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2004, 07:50   #10
benchetrit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vincennes, France
Posts: 15
A comment :
I have used your dll for folder with success. It help me to remove the Page Directory that can not be executed inside the sections. Now my installation is more user friendly.

A feature request :
Could you had the possibility to select a disk only after selection of a file or a folder.
benchetrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2004, 14:56   #11
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
And know...
You can get it from the Web Archive.
Thanks to all the members that test the plugin. Thanks

@benchetrit: I didn't quite understand. Do you want to select a Drive unit?


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2004, 15:05   #12
benchetrit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vincennes, France
Posts: 15
Exactly, I want the user will be able to select a drive unit only. Moreover, if you could had some filters or exclusion list, it will be great. For instance, exclude a list like "C,D". Filters to exclude or include like : exclude "cdrom,networkdrive" or include "localdisk,removabledisk,floppy".
benchetrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2004, 16:23   #13
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Ok, now I understand... However I think that will be adding another dialog, I have in mind "Drive Dialog".
And yeah, maybe some filters too, although I don't know how do that, yet .

I'll work in that tonight


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2004, 14:03   #14
benchetrit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vincennes, France
Posts: 15
@lobo lunar

If you continue in that direction, I will appreciate to have a string dialog for asking the user for a string, and a selection list for asking a user to select a (and why not multiple) value.
benchetrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2004, 14:54   #15
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Hi benchetrit!

I try the Drive list, and there's isn't like a special dialog for units. There's an API for detect the phisical installed drives, but It can be done using system plugin. The code for this is simple, or I can point you in the right direction (and API).

Now, I can make the "asking" string dialog but, whay kind of values the users will select? Maybe some example of it will be handy...

TODO:
I will make a dialog-style like those InputBoxes that come with Visual Basic. This will be handy if you'd like to password protect your installer without the INI thing.

Good luck to me!


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2004, 17:25   #16
benchetrit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vincennes, France
Posts: 15
When I tell string dialog I mean input text.

I have a question concerning Open. Is it possible to select the list of the files to display in the file selector. For instance, if I put *.txt, *.txt will be in the file name input, and only *.txt file and obviously folders of the initial folder wil be displayed for selection.
benchetrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2004, 23:22   #17
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
oh, do you mean multiple selection files?
Is possible!

[edit]
I try a simple code snipet and NSIS doesn't give more features in looping and string manipulation. I should try another way to make NSIS outputing the multiple selection.
[/edit]


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.

Last edited by Joel; 9th March 2004 at 23:43.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2004, 00:51   #18
deguix
Major Dude
 
deguix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Everett - MA, USA
Posts: 1,354
Send a message via ICQ to deguix
There is a little thing called "Callback Function", it loops everytime when a result is returned, but to return to the original function, you have to end pushing something to stack to the original function know you want to continue...

Have some examples like "Detect Drives" Archive page (see my signature) of that.

My Wiki Pages

Working now on:
New projects. (language: any)
deguix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2004, 02:03   #19
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Well...that little thing is the easy part, dude
The plugin have the callback function for the user selected outputvar.
That's not important, the important is get out the files since all are store in one var. Is not the "loop", is the handle for each file. I need separator, is not a typical "String function" or "Callback function", a separator to get path of the file in some place.
Nsis, as my begin question here is very limited.
Yes, there some ways to get that! I just need time.


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2004, 03:05   #20
deguix
Major Dude
 
deguix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Everett - MA, USA
Posts: 1,354
Send a message via ICQ to deguix
If I understood right:

Quote:
the important is get out the files since all are store in one var.
Has a function called "StrTok" inside "StrFunc.nsh" in the include directory, it returns the string you want to be returned from a complex string. Like "Text" from string "Number|Variable|Text|GUID". It is not included on Archive (that is my AdvStrTok).

My Wiki Pages

Working now on:
New projects. (language: any)
deguix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2004, 09:49   #21
benchetrit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vincennes, France
Posts: 15
Hi Lobo Lunar

I do not want multiple selection for files, I just wants that the dialog Open only displays the files that respect a string for instance *.nsi, like the standard Open File dialog do.
benchetrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2004, 10:06   #22
deguix
Major Dude
 
deguix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Everett - MA, USA
Posts: 1,354
Send a message via ICQ to deguix
Maybe you should say "Files Filter".

My Wiki Pages

Working now on:
New projects. (language: any)
deguix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2004, 14:14   #23
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
lol
Yeah! Filtering....
code:

Dialogs::Open $HWNDPARENT "Nsis Files (*.nsi)|*.nsi|" "1" "Choose a file from the list" "$EXEDIR" .r0


Like this?


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2004, 14:38   #24
benchetrit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vincennes, France
Posts: 15
Yes like this.

If fact I am sorry I have made a mistake, I did not understood your examples. Now it works.

Bad code :
Dialogs::Open $HWNDPARENT "SYD Licence (*.syd)|" "1" "Select Licence File" "t:\" .r0

Right code :
Dialogs::Open $HWNDPARENT "SYD Licence (*.syd)|*.syd|" "1" "Select Licence File" "t:\" .r0

Thank you. And tell me when I could have a dialog for asking a string to the user.
benchetrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2004, 14:45   #25
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
lol!

No problem.
And about that dialog, is in progress now


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2004, 01:41   #26
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Updated to version 1.3

what's new:
Added the InputBox with password support. Great to password-protect your installer.

Web Archive

Comments, please!


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th March 2004, 14:37   #27
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Updated to version 2.0.

What's new?
1. New CHM help file.
2. New output syntax style (see examples)
3. Some minor bugs.

The Web Archive.


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2004, 19:30   #28
celli
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 3
Lobo Lunar,
I like what you did -
But when I drag the .nsi file into the compiler of the NSIS Application -
I keep getting a compile error. Am I doing something wrong ?
This is my first time using the NSIS Application.
-
Thanks.
celli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2004, 20:28   #29
celli
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 3
Lobo.
Got it to work.
-
How can I specify a specific file that
I want users to save ?
-
This setUp will launch from another .EXE living on a CD-Rom
and the file that I will want to save lives on the CD-Rom as well. Can I use this to perform this task ?
-
I feel like I'm close.
-
Thanks
celli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2004, 22:17   #30
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Quote:
How can I specify a specific file that
I want users to save ?
I have to change the source code, or you can use the filter telling the user wich one he/she have to use (see Save parameters).
Quote:
This setUp will launch from another .EXE living on a CD-Rom
and the file that I will want to save lives on the CD-Rom as well. Can I use this to perform this task ?
Since the Installer (EXE) and file (to run) is in the same folder, you can use $EXEDIR with Exec functions from NSIS to execute the file.


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2004, 16:00   #31
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Updated to version 2.3

New:
New algorithm in the InputRegCode.
Web archive


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2004, 15:19   #32
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
no major update, just add the password flag in InputRegCode

Web Archive


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2005, 06:54   #33
Comperio
Major Dude
 
Comperio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oregon Coast
Posts: 737
I had finally come across a situation where I needed an InputBox and found your plugin. EVERYTHING WORKS GREAT!

But just in case you get "bored", I though I'd throw a few suggestions your way.


1. It would be nice to be able to specify a default button on the InputBox to allow the user to simply press "ENTER" and have it accept the answers.

2. Another nice option would be limit to the number of characters the user would be allowed to type.

I know that I could use a StrLen operation AFTER the InputBox is closed, but I was thinking perhaps the InputBox could me made to just not accept any more characters after x number that you specified. This would then eliminate the need for the extra error checks in the NSIS code. (Of course, it would then be up to the NSIS developer to explain this to the user in the InputBox text promt.)

3. (perhaps more of a challenge) the open/save dialogs have the standard shortcuts for "history" "my Documents", etc. Is there any way to change this and allow a user to specify his/her own icon and folder? I know you're probalby using a standard Windows control which may not have this ability, but I'd thought I'd throw it out there anyway for you to ponder. (I've always thought this might be a useful feature in other applications as well...)

Keep up the great work!
Comperio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2005, 18:43   #34
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Hi Comperio

Thanks for your post...

1. In my TODO list will be an option to press enter and continue the installation

2. Yes, I can... but than again... will be increasing the parameters procedure....but ok, added in my TODO list

3. I don't know... I'll have to check that...


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2006, 11:59   #35
RobGrant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 263
Heya, just come across this excellent plugin.

I am trying to recreate the behaviour of the built-in file select control (a text box and a browse button) with this plugin, so I can have a custom dialog, and thought I could use this.

2 questions:
1) The save dialog takes a variable (e.g. ${VAR_5}) to be used as an output. Do I need to push this before I call and pop it twice (once to get the data, the other to restore the stack) to make my function "clean" in terms of stack management?

2) Can I suppress the automatic messagebox which asks if I want to replace the file? I check this later, on page exit, as this catches filename clashes if the user enters the file in the textbox themselves, as well.
RobGrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2006, 20:54   #36
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Hi there:

1) No, you don't.

2) No, is a flag that it might come handy if the file is already there. But If you want to overwrite w/o warnings try FileOpen from nsis.


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2006, 05:32   #37
rxs2k5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 66
Hi Joel,

I test some examples especially the inputregcode.nsi

Could u increase the examples details on how to add multiple ones and where does the username and key and serial be placed to allow a successful entry
rxs2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2006, 17:08   #38
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
I could...I'll try to work it on this weekend, but those features will be enabled on dialogsEx


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2006, 05:48   #39
rxs2k5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 66
Your plugins are interesting especially the nsweb so does this but more details on each example to how can one add more users into it.

Thanks for trying your best
rxs2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2006, 08:45   #40
RobGrant
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 263
Hm ok thanks, I literally didn't want the word "Open" - I wanted "save". Oh well, I found a (memory-sucking) way of doing it involving an extra global variable.

Thanks for the reply and the plugin!
RobGrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump