Old 16th November 2004, 03:47   #1
teknikool
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
View Fullscreen AVS on separate Monitor

In the AVS window under 'Settings' should be a Geiss/MilkDrop/Smoke type of selection for Fullscreen. You should be able to select different display adapters and change the screen resolution (in order to view AVS on a separate video card). It would be great for parties if you had dual-monitors or a monitor and projector layout or or even S-Video out. (i.e. It would be sweet to have two (or more) monitors and have one show ONLY Winamp and edit the playlists, etcetera on one monitor and have AVS playing fullscreen all the time on a separate screen.)

I am currently limited to MilkDrop to perform this and I would like to broaden the horizon and be able to use the versitility of AVS.
teknikool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2004, 04:27   #2
Mr_Nudge
Major Dude
 
Mr_Nudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 655
I'm sure there is a way to do this already. Make sure you <b>search</b> first. But AVS is dead - it's no lomger being updated and probably never will, unless someone at nullsoft (which is also said to be dead) releases the source code. So if there's not already a way to do it, there most likely never will be. Sorry.

Life's a game, break the rules
Click here
Mr_Nudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2004, 15:45   #3
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
I agree with teknikool, this would be a very useful feature. The fact that at least once a fortnight someone makes a new thread about how to use AVS with >1 monitor highlights how poor AVS is at dealing with it.

And nudge, there's no need to shoot down everyone who makes a request by saying AVS is dead (woe is us etc...) after all this is the whole point of this sub-forum.

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2004, 01:38   #4
dsl52
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 15
you can run avs on overlay mode on desktop; Make the "application bar" automatic hide(i don't know the name in eglish because i run windows in italian and it's the bar in the bottom of the screen where you find start and the programs you have opened); then put all the icons in the second screen and winamp end avs editor too and then swich the screens, make the normal sceen like second screen and the second screen like normal screen (see the propieties of your video card). Now you have avs full screen in overlay mode in your projector or tv and in the first screen you have avs editor.
dsl52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2004, 02:43   #5
stanna
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: psy.au
Posts: 3
its all fun and good to do it that way, but almost every program requires to have some sort of interaction on the primary display, its a cheap work around. it does work in many ways but stuffs up alot of other things.. but it does work and yeh whatever. its a pity tho.. i would of really liked it to work properly.

releasing the source code would be a great idea! i would love to see how many variations could be made from it. all sorts of different branches.
stanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2004, 17:33   #6
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
I suggest you search the forums, as I implied this topic has come up at least a gazillion times.

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st December 2004, 16:03   #7
mookyrooky
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to mookyrooky
Fullscreen AVS

I am surprised at the amount of technical questions about running this in fullscreen mode. I had a lot of trouble getting it to work at first but i think I have simplified the process. Here's my setup, which works quite well. I use this as a backdrop for my band.

I attach a projector via the monitor cable to my laptop. (You could use a separate monitor of course instead of the projector).

I setup my laptop to Extend My Desktop onto the second monitor. Set the resolution according to what your video card can support.

Configure Winamp to suppress the text in fullscreen and window modes.

Start Winamp and drag the player over to the second monitor and maximize it.

This sounds basic but it seems to be generating a lot of back and forth dialogue.

If the Winamp window is EMPTY on the second monitor, but OK on the primary, it may be the frequency or display settings between your adapter and the monitor\projector. Make sure they match.
mookyrooky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd December 2004, 17:33   #8
PAK-9
Major Dude
 
PAK-9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Posts: 1,374
Re: Fullscreen AVS

Quote:
Originally posted by mookyrooky
Start Winamp and drag the player over to the second monitor and maximize it.
the player...?
Maximize...it...?

http://PAK-9.deviantart.com

...innit
PAK-9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2004, 02:19   #9
DeadPoet101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 2
There are plugi-ins that allow multi-monitor selection... (See the CDG Plug-in) Why not in AVS? Heck, adding it to the Base Winamp would be nice. Select another monitor for your movies... For your play lists... For your AVS!!!
DeadPoet101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2004, 06:52   #10
Mr_Nudge
Major Dude
 
Mr_Nudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 655
That should work, thats not updating avs, just winamp, which happens every 6 months or so, and since 5.07 was recently released, i can assume we'll be waiting a while

Life's a game, break the rules
Click here
Mr_Nudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2004, 08:21   #11
hboy
Senior Member
 
hboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Hungary
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to hboy
actually 5.08 is also out
hboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2006, 14:40   #12
teknikool
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
Multi monitor AVS

It's mid-2006 and we have Winamp 5.24 and we still don't have any solution. More and more people are getting 2 or more monitors. 4 monitors are getting to be the norm with gamers and their SLI video cards and such. We need a good solution to help solve this. We need to be able to define a monitor to fullscreen visualization instead of just primary. In some cases the fullscreen AVS spills over into the secondary monitor. Winamp is not keeping up with the technology? I can't believe that I even uttered that. I have a hard time believing that. What happened?

Is somebody going to fix this?
teknikool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2006, 16:51   #13
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,120
Nullsoft doesn't work on AVS anymore as you have read above.
Instead, they've made AVS open source software, so you're welcome to go ahead and make it so if you like.

As for now, you are able to use AVS fullscreen on four moninitors.
In short:

Primary: overlay mode (drag items to secondary)
Secondary: drag over the AVS window with a resolution that's a bit bigger than the secondary monitor's resolution.
third, fourth: clone

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever

Last edited by Warrior of the Light; 1st September 2006 at 17:09.
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2006, 04:00   #14
kostyap
Junior Member
 
kostyap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 47
This one does

This visualizer from EXSOTRON can run fullscreen on any monitor at any resolution. Some screenshots are here
http://www.exsotron.com/vp/
kostyap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2006, 10:08   #15
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,120
So can AVS if you took the effort of reading the post above yours.

You know, most of us will see this as spam which is a valid reason here for banning. Also, it's a lame kind of spam since there isn't even a download section on your site.

My opinion as based on the screenshots:
The colors miss intensity (a lot)
Most colorschemes are just.. wrong.

I could of course give a more detailed review if I were able to download it.

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2006, 11:01   #16
kostyap
Junior Member
 
kostyap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally posted by Warrior of the Light
So can AVS if you took the effort of reading the post above yours.

You know, most of us will see this as spam which is a valid reason here for banning. Also, it's a lame kind of spam since there isn't even a download section on your site.

My opinion as based on the screenshots:
The colors miss intensity (a lot)
Most colorschemes are just.. wrong.

I could of course give a more detailed review if I were able to download it.
1. Spam. Well if you say so. Please accept my apologies
2. I actually appreciate your feedback. This color schemes are not made by professional and there was simply no time for me to get deeper into this subject as I was busy with everything else. Little bit later I am going to dedicate much more attention to this particular area. Still people that saw the thing live seem to like it and IMHO even these unprofessional colors are for the most part better then chemical color mix you see in most presets on AVS/Milkdrop (take away few that are done by qualified people)
3. Download. It'll be there in a week or so. If you wish to look at it now then email me to kostya@exsotron(_remove_it_)com and we can arrange something now. Put visualizer as a subject
kostyap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2006, 08:25   #17
Loopey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 3
What you guys are looking for here can actually be done very easily with a Nvidia-based card.

Get into AVS options, under Overlay mode, select "overlay mode", and then "set desktop to color". Then hit the default-color button (if you need to), now your background is your AVS. In Nvidia, select your second monitor (or TV) to be an extension of your desktop. Looks really cool, great for parties ect. Used this solution on my last 3 Nvidia cards, the most recent being a GeForce 5700.

I'm not sure if this solution is posted somewhere else or not. I'm just searching for a way to make this work with my new ATI card, and thought I'd ad my solution for my old Nvidia card.
Loopey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2006, 10:12   #18
jheriko
Forum King
 
jheriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: a twist in the fabric of space
Posts: 2,150
Send a message via ICQ to jheriko
You need to make sure the overlay is set to output to the correct monitor too.

-- Jheriko

'Everything around us can be represented and understood through numbers'
jheriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2016, 05:24   #19
Platzformer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 11
(I used this for Milkdrop, it may apply for AVS as well but I am not sure)
I HAVE THE ANSWER! Well at least it works for me. Here is what I did:

Options>Visualization>Configure Plug In (To enter this screen you cannot have the Visualization tab open)

Common Settings Tab>
The changes you will make are in the Fullscreen Settings portion
Display Adapter> In the drop down menu select 2. Then check Use Fake fullscreen mode

Click the DualHead button (bottom right)
On this screen there are two drop down menus. BOTH should be "span both screens"

This worked for me and my setup. I hope this helps =)
Platzformer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2016, 02:25   #20
Loopey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 3
Wow, talk about reviving a dead thread... lol @ 10 YEARS.

Damn... I feel really old now
Loopey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS > AVS Wishlist

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump