Old 16th November 2005, 09:40   #1
markhaslehurst
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
is this possible?!

Hi, I am not really a programmer tho I am trying to learn at the mo... I mainly do electronics...

I wanted to try and make something that can sit on my network and have a winamp plugin send the audio data to it, for it to be played on a hifi, as well as playing on the laptop... guess it doesnt matter if it is sent the mp3 data or actual audio data...

I also want to try and send it title information and allow it to control winamp, in addition to being able to control it from keyboard/computer screen...

do you think this would be possible? is it very difficult to write plug ins? what language is the best/easiest/most common to use?

Thanks for any help!

Also, is it possible to get a plugin to read the part of the playlist that isnt playing, say, songs 2-8 (get titles/artists) of a playlist of 100 where song 88 is playing...

Thanks!!

Mark
markhaslehurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th November 2005, 19:14   #2
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
Quote:
Also, is it possible to get a plugin to read the part of the playlist that isnt playing, say, songs 2-8 (get titles/artists) of a playlist of 100 where song 88 is playing...
Yeah... the SDK has all the info you need to do that


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2005, 15:47   #3
markhaslehurst
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
..sorry... bit new!?... SDK?!

thanks!

mark
markhaslehurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2005, 18:45   #4
Joel
Debian user
(Forum King)
 
Joel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Arch land
Posts: 4,917
The little topic above us?


* PC: Intel Core 2 DUO E6550 @ 2.33 GHz with 2 GB RAM: Archlinux-i686 with MATE.
* Laptop: Intel Core 2 DUO T6600 @ 2.20 GHz with 4 GB RAM: Archlinux-x86-64 with MATE.
Joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2005, 07:52   #5
markhaslehurst
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3
oh right! makes sense now... sorry... im a bit new to the whole programming thing!?

well... is gd to know that it should be possible then.. rather than spend ages building the hardware and then realise the software wont work!?

thank a lot!



p.s. anyone know about sending the audio/id3 data out over a network?

mark
markhaslehurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Developer Center > Winamp Development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump