Old 31st December 2019, 20:41   #1
mjh8905
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
Shoutcast stations won't play

I've used Winamp and Shoutcast on many computers over the years and never had any trouble. However, I recently purchased a Lenovo Ideapad S340 laptop and now have a problem. Normally, when you click on the triangle to the left of a Shoutcast station you want to hear, it connects and begins to play. However, when I do that on my Lenovo, it tries to download a file called "tunein-station.pls" It asks me if I want to open or save the file. I've tried both choices but the station I select does not play. I've tried various searchs on the Winamp forums but can find nothing which seems relevant. I had version 5.8 installed. I uninstalled it and installed version 5.666 but it had no effect. Still won't load or play any station I try. I can copy and paste a Shoutcast station URL and Winamp works fine. Would appreciate any suggestions you might have.
Mike
mjh8905 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2019, 20:46   #2
LStratmann
Senior Member
 
LStratmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 258
Hey,
Do I understand that you are trying to listen to your station through the SHOUTcast directory?

The .pls is normally only downloaded if it is AAC and therefore the stream cannot be played or if you click on the download icon.
LStratmann is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2019, 20:53   #3
mjh8905
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
I use the Shoutcast directory to locate new stations or refresh old ones that have changed their URL. When I find a new one I like or refresh an old one that has changed, I bookmark it and use the bookmark to play later. I just tried stations that use ACC and MP3. Both types gave the same message "Do you want to open or save this file? (tunein-station.pls)"
mjh8905 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2019, 20:58   #4
LStratmann
Senior Member
 
LStratmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 258
So you want to hear the stream on your SHOUTcast page?
LStratmann is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2019, 21:13   #5
mjh8905
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
I'm not sure I understand your question. When I open Winamp, it displays three windows: Winamp, Playlist Editor and Media Library. The Shoutcast stations are listed in the Media Library window. When I successfully select a station that plays, it shows up on the Winamp and Playlist Editor windows. I do not have a Shoutcast station or page.
mjh8905 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2019, 21:17   #6
LStratmann
Senior Member
 
LStratmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 258
You have set up a SHOUTcast server, haven't you? I mean the URL of the SHOUTcast Station.
LStratmann is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2019, 22:13   #7
mjh8905
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 4
It sounds as if you think I have my own Shoutcast streaming station. I have not set up a Shoutcast server because I do not have a station. I am merely a Winamp user that is trying to get other Shoutcast stations to play.
mjh8905 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2019, 22:53   #8
LStratmann
Senior Member
 
LStratmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 258
Then you are in the wrong place. You need to go to the Winamp category.
LStratmann is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump