Old 3rd June 2018, 11:47   #1
myminpins
Junior Member
 
myminpins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 47
Unhappy Winamp Modern Skin (old modern)

I used this skin for years and years and wanted to continue to use it but it keeps messing up I love that I can detach the library from the player/playlist and work without using the entire screen. I've used Winamp for years and years and continue to use it on all my iPods and to listen to music. I do wish there were new versions coming but so far 5.6.6 or whatever it is seems to work okay until you're trying to modify your iPods then it seems hit and miss but it's old now so....

Anyway, I'd really like to use that modern skin again and have it work flawlessly but it keeps messing up - the player itself with the play/stop/pause buttons vanishes into a single line where I can't see anything which makes it virtually unusable As you can see, the upper bar is where the playing is supposed to show - play/pause/stop etc. It's just gone


Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
Winamp Pro 5.666 Build 3516
myminpins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2018, 12:08   #2
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 327
I have seen such weird behavior several times in the past 4 years while working on my skin:



All of the sudden the Main Player was cut small. The only advice I could give would be deleting the studio.xnf file, which you will find in here: C:\Users\****\AppData\Roaming\Winamp and restart Winamp.

P.S This file contains a skin's settings like window size and its position on the desktop.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cut main player.png
Views:	143
Size:	37.9 KB
ID:	53872  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2018, 12:11   #3
myminpins
Junior Member
 
myminpins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
I have seen such weird behavior several times in the past 4 years while working on my skin:



All of the sudden the Main Player was cut small. The only advice I could give would be deleting the studio.xnf file, which you will find in here: C:\Users\****\AppData\Roaming\Winamp and restart Winamp.

P.S This file contains a skin's settings like window size and its position on the desktop.
Thank you. Tried that. No change. I'm using Cpro Winamp Modern as an alternative. It's not QUITE the same but very close.

Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
Winamp Pro 5.666 Build 3516
myminpins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2018, 12:25   #4
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by myminpins View Post
... I'm using Cpro ...
Ask Victhor, he created some CPro skins, he might know the issue.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2018, 12:26   #5
myminpins
Junior Member
 
myminpins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
Ask Victhor, he created some CPro skins, he might know the issue.
It's not the CPro skin that's the problem, it's the old Modern Winamp skin that doesn't work properly that I'd like to be able to use once again Thanks

Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
Winamp Pro 5.666 Build 3516
myminpins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2018, 12:40   #6
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by myminpins View Post
... it's the old Modern Winamp skin ...
And deleting the studio.xnf file did not help?
Try to switch between skins: Modern - Classic - Bento - Modern. Does the issue still persist?
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2018, 12:42   #7
myminpins
Junior Member
 
myminpins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
And deleting the studio.xnf file did not help?
Try to switch between skins: Modern - Classic - Bento - Modern. Does the issue still persist?
Correct, it did not help. Still the bar above the playlist instead of the proper window showing play/stop what's playing, etc. Switched amongst many skins in the last few days. Once in awhile it comes back but then it messes up again.

Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
Winamp Pro 5.666 Build 3516
myminpins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2018, 12:50   #8
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by myminpins View Post
...Once in awhile it comes back but then it messes up again.
Well, the last thing that comes to my mind would be a fresh installation. Grab the winamp5666_full_en-us_redux.exe and run it.

Edit: Unless it is the same kind of problem I see randomly with my skin in the MediaLibrary while switching between NoFrame-StandardFrame-PlaybackFrame. There are some "leftovers" which definitely should not be there:



Are you running Windows10?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	leftover.png
Views:	141
Size:	14.1 KB
ID:	53873  
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2018, 12:53   #9
myminpins
Junior Member
 
myminpins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK. View Post
Well, the last thing that comes to my mind would be a fresh installation. Grab the winamp5666_full_en-us_redux.exe and run it.
I have winamp5666_full_all exe file. Is that different? If so, I will definitely try that. Thank you.

EDIT: Did that (Installed
winamp5666_full_en-us_redux.exe). Installed fine. Same problem. Guess I'll stick to the newer version of this skin. Thank you for trying

Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit SP1
Winamp Pro 5.666 Build 3516
myminpins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2018, 13:10   #10
PeterK.
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by myminpins View Post
...Thank you for trying

You are welcome.
PeterK. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd June 2018, 16:23   #11
Victhor
Late skinner & Moderator
 
Victhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Argentina
Posts: 1,533
I never saw this behaviour, even though I use Winamp across several PC's / OS / Setups. So I bet it's something related to graphic or system drivers (more so if the issue is persistent after a fresh install too). What all my setup have in common is that I always have updated video drivers and latest Windows updates too (specifically DirectX and .Net framework). Do you want to try that and see if it helps?

· · TMCT · KOMODO X
Victhor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump