Old 13th October 2004, 17:24   #1
muzikmann
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Golden, CO - Colorado School of Mines
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to muzikmann Send a message via Yahoo to muzikmann
WinMX - Slow as molasses on a T1/T3 Network

Hey everyone,

Wondering if some folks could help me out. I'm on a network at the Colorado School of Mines, which is on T1 or T3 lines as far as I know. I can download programs at 400kb/s on a busy day no problem. However, I recently downloaded the new version of WinMX after reformatting and it's slow as hell. Slow as hell meaning 2kb/s or less even when connected to other T1 and T3 connections. I got faster speeds on dialup. This is the first time I've tried using it on the network. What could be causing this? Any settings I've missed or ccan someone suggest how I set it up? Any other programs that could be recommended? Thanks

Jeff P.
muzikmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2004, 17:28   #2
NJK
The Frisian
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 15,005
settings problem - on the first page you can choose between direct line or secondairy line, if you went with the direct line it could be your network blocks ports.
try the secondairy line to connect.
if that doesn't work
well start buying cd's or change to another p2p client

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2004, 18:13   #3
dlinkwit27
has no CT
(Forum King)
 
dlinkwit27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 13,235
Send a message via ICQ to dlinkwit27 Send a message via AIM to dlinkwit27 Send a message via Yahoo to dlinkwit27
use warez >> http://www.warezclient.com/
dlinkwit27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2004, 19:14   #4
missyob
Angel of Winamp
 
missyob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Winamp House
Posts: 4,578
go with the secondary option on the first page.

Also, the school you are at may have a bandwith block on Winmx. It is set from their servers so that students dont use the bandwidth on p2p. I have no clue how to override it though.

Good Luck
~ Missy
missyob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2004, 21:58   #5
Bilbo Baggins
Wind Chime of the Apocalypse
 
Bilbo Baggins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: The Forest
Posts: 17,229
More than liekly it will be your scholl network as Missy said. Stop leeching their bandwidth and get back to class.
Bilbo Baggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2004, 22:12   #6
deeder7001
Jesus Freak
(Forum King)
 
deeder7001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 5,520
Send a message via AIM to deeder7001 Send a message via Yahoo to deeder7001
i had a problem like that when i used XP with the firewall. i just used the secondary connection instead of primary.

There is no sig.
deeder7001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th October 2004, 23:08   #7
Myxomatosis
aka bRiAnFuRY
Fuck it dude...
let's go bowling.
(Major dud)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,162
Send a message via AIM to Myxomatosis
WinMX is always slow for me.

Alex Jones: Do you want the puppet on the right or the puppet on the left? What a bunch of garbage; liberal democrat, conservative, republican. It's all there to control you! Two sides of the same coin. Two management teams bidding for control, the CEO job of Slavery, Incorporated! The truth is out there in front of you, but they lay out this buffet of lies. I'm sick of it, and I'm not going to take a bite out of it, do you got me?
Myxomatosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2004, 02:53   #8
k_rock923
\m/
(Forum King)
 
k_rock923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: /bin/bash
Posts: 7,850
Send a message via AIM to k_rock923
Colorado school of mines? My uncle went there. nice place.

Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.
k_rock923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2004, 03:56   #9
Timbaland
Senior Member
 
Timbaland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Underground
Posts: 328
Most WinMX songs take about 6 minutes for me, Im on cable btw.

Most of the time I use Bittorrent..
Timbaland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2004, 06:17   #10
mrharhar
Senior Member
 
mrharhar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From:
Posts: 233
Same thing in my college, they use a packet shaper, so although every p2p client can connect, none of them give decent speeds. But for some reason Ares Lite does work somewhat.
You could try it out.

-there is no signature-
mrharhar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump