Old 20th December 2009, 00:48   #1
djpete
Major Dude
 
djpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 940
Winamp 5.57 sounds better too

I am sure it ain't my imagination.
This version sounds clearer too playing mp3!!
Big bonus..

But I can't see anything in the release notes...

Cheers, Pete

Anything & Everything Winamp - All In One Place...
Winamp Enthusiasts Group

Last edited by djpete; 20th December 2009 at 01:16.
djpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 02:40   #2
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Placebo. Doesn't sound different and as you pointed out, no changes were made.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2009, 03:00   #3
djpete
Major Dude
 
djpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 940
must be the drugs again.
:-(

Cheers, Pete

Anything & Everything Winamp - All In One Place...
Winamp Enthusiasts Group
djpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2009, 05:13   #4
djpete
Major Dude
 
djpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 940
Are you completely sure nothing has been done to improve the sound or which may have inadvertadly had an effect on the sound.
I tell you there is much more detail from where I am sitting!
I live on this program and know what it sounds like pretty well.
I don't have any of the enhancers on eg surround etc but it IS different here.

???

Cheers, Pete

Anything & Everything Winamp - All In One Place...
Winamp Enthusiasts Group
djpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2009, 16:31   #5
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
I'm 100% sure. Unless you haven't activated something like 'Fast Layer 3 EQ' under Prefs > Plugins < Input > Nullsoft MPEG Audio Decoder or using a DSP plugin it excatly sounds the same like before.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2009, 21:20   #6
djpete
Major Dude
 
djpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 940
no that's at default too.
ok
Thanks Koopa

Cheers, Pete

Anything & Everything Winamp - All In One Place...
Winamp Enthusiasts Group
djpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2009, 00:05   #7
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,650
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
could be a lot of things... driver update, quieter environment, even simply playing the music even a bit louder.

placebo seems most likely to me. winamp has sounded great for a longtime now.

koopa, whats the idea behind the fast layer 3 eq feature?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th December 2009, 09:04   #8
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
Originally posted by MrSinatra
koopa, whats the idea behind the fast layer 3 eq feature?
That's a built in Equalizer in in_mp3, which was enabled as default for many years.

If that option is checked, Winamp doesn't use the main 4Front Equalizer, like all other input plugins do.

Some people think it's sounds better, others, like me think the main EQ sounds better.
Koopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump