Old 17th January 2005, 06:45   #1
dlichterman
Forum King
 
dlichterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Where Hell Froze Over
Posts: 2,466
wireless

I finally got a laptop(its an IBM R50) and now I have a question about wireless cards. I have the choice to get a mini-pci card that is integrated or a USB/PCMIA card. Im trying to maximize battery life, which I can squeez about 4 hours out of this thing. Anyone have any expenience with this?

Thanks
-Daniel

Software is like sex: It's better when it's free.-*-If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0-*-Guess the band from pics game
dlichterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2005, 06:54   #2
drewbar
Sawg 2.0
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,916
Integrated will probably have slightly less power consumption when using it. But with a PCMCIA or USB option you can take it out when not using it and that power usage will drop to zero. With an integrated one, unless you physically disable it, it will always be looking for a wireless network even if you are not. So if you are out and not planning to be wireless, it might hurt you a bit.

But when it comes down to it, the difference will be minimal. And it defiantly won't make a four hour difference, or probably not even a few minute difference.

So when it comes down to it, I would say go with integrated for the shear fact it is less shit to carry around.

Count with us!
Jan 1st, 12AM (PST, GMT -8) 2010 - 282,246
drewbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2005, 07:06   #3
Mattress
Forum King
 
Mattress's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Milwaukee
Posts: 4,577
integrated, it's annoying having that dumb little tab sticking out of the side of your computer. especially when you're packing it up to go somewhere.
Mattress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2005, 07:27   #4
dlichterman
Forum King
 
dlichterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Where Hell Froze Over
Posts: 2,466
yeah the tab thing is kinda annoying but when i remove it my time goes up, im not sure really. Im going to see how much it costs again. I can get a PCMIA card for 15 bucks, so thats looking good right now

Software is like sex: It's better when it's free.-*-If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0-*-Guess the band from pics game
dlichterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2005, 07:50   #5
nybergh
Dialup Junkie
(Major Dude)
 
nybergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,219
Too much wireless tech might cause cancer.
nybergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2005, 15:20   #6
Wolfgang
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,069
I just bought an integrated one on ebay, but it comes without the antenna.

Is the antenna necessary? (haven't tried it out because it's not arrived yet)
Wolfgang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2005, 15:26   #7
nybergh
Dialup Junkie
(Major Dude)
 
nybergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,219
If you use it without the antenna you will get even more cancer.
nybergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2005, 16:02   #8
Wolfgang
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,069
and if I put two antennas on it, will I get less cancer?
Wolfgang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2005, 16:40   #9
Phyltre
Forum King
 
Phyltre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Freefall
Posts: 2,751
Send a message via AIM to Phyltre Send a message via Yahoo to Phyltre
No, you will receive twin, smaller cancers.

With good reception.
Phyltre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2005, 17:21   #10
Wolfgang
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,069
I can't think of anything to say now.
Wolfgang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2005, 18:38   #11
nybergh
Dialup Junkie
(Major Dude)
 
nybergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,219
Well, you could call me a morbid freak
nybergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2005, 18:41   #12
ElChevelle
Moderator Alumni
 
ElChevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: the MANCANNON!
Posts: 22,436
I can.
ElChevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2005, 09:33   #13
Wolfgang
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,069
Is it rude?
Wolfgang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2005, 10:42   #14
Too-DAMN-Much
The Big Bad Boots
(Forum King)
 
Too-DAMN-Much's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: 420 Big Buds Way
Posts: 3,964
Send a message via Yahoo to Too-DAMN-Much
what? no i'm not a prude! :P

I hate everyone, so you don't have to.
Too-DAMN-Much is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2005, 11:09   #15
nybergh
Dialup Junkie
(Major Dude)
 
nybergh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 1,219
Quote:
Originally posted by Wolfgang
Is it rude?
Under certain circumstances, but not now.
nybergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2005, 11:25   #16
ctn|chrisw
Forum King
 
ctn|chrisw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,309
get it built in. Usually there will be a switch to turn if off when you arent using it anyways.


ctn|chrisw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2005, 12:07   #17
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
yeah, they probably have to have that. what if you wanted to use it on an airplane?

btw, maxthon sucks donkey dong.
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2005, 15:12   #18
Wolfgang
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,069
what's maxthon got to do with it? And please don't be rude.

seriously, is the antenna necessary?
Wolfgang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2005, 16:05   #19
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
i was using maxthon in school since i needed to use internet explorer to go through the schools proxy. it was pissing me off.

If the antenna is removable, try it without. If its not removable its obviously necassary
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2005, 16:44   #20
Wolfgang
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,069
it comes without the antenna, that's the thing. The damn thing hasn't arrived yet anyway and it's been 5 days. I may have been conned, since I won the auction for £0.01, £3 postage. He had decent feedback though...
Wolfgang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2005, 20:30   #21
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
£? i thought you were peruvian?
mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2005, 20:33   #22
Schmeet
Major Dude
 
Schmeet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The timid west
Posts: 1,444
I think he is in the UK for university.
Schmeet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th January 2005, 21:24   #23
mark
Forum King
 
mark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Norn Ir'nd, leek...
Posts: 6,287
ah, i see. poor starving student, surviving on ramen and any rats he can catch in his cesspit of a dirt cheap apartment, cant afford to be conned out of £3.01....

mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2005, 14:27   #24
Wolfgang
Forum King
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,069
yes, that's true, I'm a student in London. Ramen is horrible shit, and I haven't been lucky enough for there to be rats in our house, otherwise I'd eat them.

And it's not that I can't afford a losss of £3, I just hate being conned, wasting money for no reason and the fact that I still haven't received the bloody thing.

If you want to give me money to feed me and help me get through university though, by all means do so!
Wolfgang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Community Center > General Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump