Old 21st June 2017, 09:54   #1
az0000000
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moldova, Chisinau
Posts: 53
Change MP3 @ 192 kbps (VBR) to CBR

Hello,
My SHOUTcast Server v2.5.1.724/win32 Stream Status says:
Quote:
Stream is up (MP3 @ 192 kbps (VBR), 44.1 kHz)
I would like it to be CBR, is it possible? If yes, please help me do the changes.

Thanks!
az0000000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2017, 14:13   #2
neralex
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 576
This is a setting of your streaming-client ant not of SHOUTcast DNAS!
neralex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2017, 14:36   #3
az0000000
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moldova, Chisinau
Posts: 53
My streaming client is Winamp 2.x and SHOUTcast Source 1.x and i don't see much how i can define bitrate there. Then I'm wondering how come it is VBR, i mean what setting makes it to be VBR and not CBR?
az0000000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2017, 19:05   #4
juanamores
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 19
I found this information to change the encoder mode (CBR / VBR) for SHOUTcast DNAS Transcoder 2.

mp3mode : Specify the MP3 encoder mode (CBR / VBR) to use when encoding [Default = 0] Available options are :
Quote:
0 - CBR
1 - VBR High Quality
2 -
3 - VBR Medium Quality
4 -
5 - VBR Low Quality]
I do not know if this information can be useful, everything will depend on you use DNAS Transcoder 2.
juanamores is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2017, 19:34   #5
az0000000
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moldova, Chisinau
Posts: 53
Thanks juana, its useful indeed, at least i know this is possible to define using the v2 of transcoder, i'm using version 1.
az0000000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2017, 20:55   #6
djSpinnerCee
Forum King
 
djSpinnerCee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hollis, Queens/The Bronx, NYC
Posts: 3,511
with winamp 2.x and dsp 1.x it happens sometimes (vbr) when the mp3 playing is vbr -- if you disconnect and reconnect the source while a cbr mp3 is playing the dnas v2.5 will show cbr again.

i don't think it's a real problem because the stream is probably actually cbr, but with v1 dsp sources it was always better to make sure your source mp3s were cbr and in the broadcast bitrate for the best results.

i think the v2.5 dnas does some extra "sniffing" into mpeg frames on stream connect that causes what we see with vbr being reported for a cbr stream.

Last edited by djSpinnerCee; 21st June 2017 at 20:56. Reason: typo
djSpinnerCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st June 2017, 20:58   #7
az0000000
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Moldova, Chisinau
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by djSpinnerCee View Post
if you disconnect and reconnect the source while a cbr mp3 is playing the dnas v2.5 will show cbr again
tried that, you're absolutely right, thanks for clarifying things
az0000000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump