Old 7th April 2012, 05:05   #1
joshuaw491
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Socket Error

Whenever someone other than my own host computer tries to connect to the server, I receive this error message

Socket error while waiting to send data. err=Broken pipe(32)

I've checked and forwarded Port 8000 and 8001, and I cannot think of anything else that can be done. If anyone has an Idea, I would be thankful to hear it.

Thanks,
-Josh
joshuaw491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2012, 05:21   #2
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,013
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Please post your system specs and attach the actual log file from the DNAS if you can.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2012, 14:32   #3
joshuaw491
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
This may or may not be the DNAS, but it seemed like it was useful.

sc_serv.log
Quote:
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:<***> Logger startup
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:<***> version 2.0.0.29
2012-04-07 09:19:34 D msg:<***>
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:***************************************************************
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:** SHOUTcast Distributed Network Audio Server (DNAS)
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:** Copyright (C) 1999-2011 Nullsoft, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:** Use "sc_serv filename.conf" to specify a config file.
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:***************************************************************
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:[SHOUTcast] DNAS/mac v2.0.0.29 (Jul 31 2011) starting up...
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:[MAIN] PID: 1431
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:[MAIN] Loaded config from sc_serv_basic.conf
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:[MAIN] Calculated CPU count is 2
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:[MAIN] Starting 2 network threads
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8000
2012-04-07 09:19:34 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8001
2012-04-07 09:20:00 I msg:[SRC 174.74.118.85:35001] SHOUTcast 2 source connection.
2012-04-07 09:20:00 I msg:[SRC 174.74.118.85:35001] Password accepted. Stream id is 1
2012-04-07 09:20:00 I msg:[SRC 174.74.118.85:35001 sid=1] stream configuration complete. [
type=SHOUTcast 2
mimeType=audio/aacp
maxPayloadSize=16377
avgBitrate=56000
maxBitrate=56000
desiredBufferSize=140
minimumBufferSize=0
icyName=1064 Radio
icyGenre=Alternative
icyURL=http://www.north1064.*******/1064Robotics/
icyPub=0
]
2012-04-07 09:20:01 I msg:[YP2] Connecting to yp.shoutcast.com
2012-04-07 09:20:01 I msg:[SRC 174.74.118.85:35001 sid=1] Got complete metadata message type=3902 [318 bytes] id=1 span=1 content=
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" ?>
<metadata>
<TIT2>05 Lovers In Japan _ Reign of Love</TIT2>
<extension>
<title seq="1">05 Lovers In Japan _ Reign of Love</title>
<title seq="2">11 Lost_</title>
<title seq="3">06 Yes</title>
<title seq="4">01 Paradise</title>
<soon>11 Lost_</soon>
</extension>
</metadata>

2012-04-07 09:20:01 E msg:[DST 205.188.202.174:43935 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection rejected. Stream not available. SHOUTcast Directory Tester
2012-04-07 09:20:01 I msg:[DST 205.188.202.174:43935 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection closed (0 seconds) [Bytes: 0] Agent: `SHOUTcast Directory Tester'
2012-04-07 09:20:02 I msg:[YP2] Connected to yp.shoutcast.com. The station should now be listed in the SHOUTcast Radio Directory (YP).
2012-04-07 09:20:11 I msg:[YP2] Connecting to yp.shoutcast.com
2012-04-07 09:20:14 I msg:[DST 10.0.1.75:62877 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection accepted. iTunes/10.5.3 (Windows; Microsoft Windows 7 x64 Ultimate Edition Service Pack 1 (Build 7601)) AppleWebKit/534.52.7
2012-04-07 09:20:31 I msg:[DST 10.0.1.22:54132 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection accepted. iTunes/10.6.1 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.7.3) AppleWebKit/534.53.11
2012-04-07 09:20:55 E msg:[DST 10.0.1.75:62877 sid=1] Socket error while waiting to send data. err=Broken pipe(32)
2012-04-07 09:20:55 I msg:[DST 10.0.1.75:62877 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection closed (41 seconds) [Bytes: 377552] Agent: `iTunes/10.5.3 (Windows; Microsoft Windows 7 x64 Ultimate Edition Service Pack 1 (Build 7601)) AppleWebKit/534.52.7'
2012-04-07 09:21:02 I msg:[DST 10.0.1.75:49878 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection accepted. iTunes/10.5.3 (Windows; Microsoft Windows 7 x64 Ultimate Edition Service Pack 1 (Build 7601)) AppleWebKit/534.52.7
2012-04-07 09:21:26 E msg:[DST 10.0.1.22:54132 sid=1] Socket error while waiting to send data. err=Broken pipe(32)
2012-04-07 09:21:26 I msg:[DST 10.0.1.22:54132 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection closed (55 seconds) [Bytes: 593922] Agent: `iTunes/10.6.1 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.7.3) AppleWebKit/534.53.11'
2012-04-07 09:21:27 I msg:[DST 10.0.1.22:54141 sid=1] SHOUTcast 1 client connection accepted. iTunes/10.6.1 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10.7.3) AppleWebKit/534.53.11
2012-04-07 09:56:48 E msg:[SRC 184.164.111.28:50694] Remote socket closed while waiting for data
2012-04-07 09:56:48 E msg:[SRC 184.164.111.28:50693] Remote socket closed while waiting for data
Specs:
Quote:
Apple Late 2009 iMac
Intel Core 2 Duo 3.06Ghz
4GB 1067 DDR3 SDRAMM
OS: Mac OS X Lion 10.7.3
joshuaw491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2012, 15:41   #4
thinktink
Forum King
 
thinktink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: On the streets of Kings County, CA.
Posts: 3,013
Send a message via Skype™ to thinktink
Remove or comment out the "dstip" configuration parameter from the DNAS config file and restart.
thinktink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2012, 16:00   #5
joshuaw491
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
dstip was never in my configuration.
Quote:
; NOTE: for any relative paths specified are relative to
; sc_serv and not to where the conf file is being stored

; here we will setup where the log and other related files
; will be stored. make sure that these folders exist else
; sc_serv will throw an error and will close itself down.
; we will make the logs save to the sc_serv2 directory
logfile=logs/sc_serv.log
w3clog=logs/sc_w3c.log
banfile=control/sc_serv.ban
ripfile=control/sc_serv.rip


; for testing we will make the server only work locally
; (i.e. localhost / 127.0.0.1) though if this is left out
; or set to publicserver=always then we attempt to make a
; connection to the YP for listing - do not forget to add
; in a 'streamauthhash' value for any public streams made
publicserver=always


; if you're wanting to use a different port to use for any
; connections then you can use this option e.g. to use 80
; otherwise port 8000 is used as the default to listen on.
portbase=8000


; password used by sc_trans or the Winamp dsp plug-in
; NOTE: remember to change this to something else
password=********


; password used for accessing the administation pages
; NOTE: remember to change this to something else
adminpassword=*******


; now we will specify the details of the stream we're going
; to serve which can be done as follows
streamid=1
streampath=/1064robotics.aac

Last edited by DrO; 8th April 2012 at 20:29.
joshuaw491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 21:46   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
if anything, i'd say that is just the client connection ending but without a means to try the stream to see what happens, i cannot say much else as the config file is fine (i assume you have removed the streamauthhash line - which is the correct thing to do - based on the log output showing a YP connection was made).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 21:57   #7
joshuaw491
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
I did not remove the AuthHash, but I will try doing so and see what happens.
joshuaw491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 22:02   #8
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
noooooo!!!! don't do that.

i only mentioned it since it wasn't in the config file contents provided and just wanted to clarify not publically posting it was correct and just to get confirmation that you were running with one.

all i wanted was a link to the stream to see if it cut out or acted weirdly.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2012, 22:18   #9
joshuaw491
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Yeah, I just commented it out, did't work, so it's back in. here's a link :

http://174.74.118.85:8000/listen.pls?sid=1

http://174.74.118.85:8000/index.html?sid=1
joshuaw491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 09:12   #10
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
ok that explains everything. for some reason the DNAS is getting the host address from the client connection as being a VPN based address which causes it to be provided as 10.0.1.22:8000/1064robotics.aac

try setting dstip=174.74.118.85 in your config file as it should force the client-side address to be what is needed. if that doesn't work then i'll need to at least send you a newer build to try out and then try to go from there - though most likely it's something with the network setup which is altering the 'host' value in the http headers which are analysed when the client connection is attempted.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 20:31   #11
joshuaw491
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
Alright. I will give it a shot.

Quote:
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:<***> Logger startup
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:<***> version 2.0.0.29
2012-04-09 15:41:24 D msg:<***>
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:***************************************************************
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:** SHOUTcast Distributed Network Audio Server (DNAS)
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:** Copyright (C) 1999-2011 Nullsoft, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:** Use "sc_serv filename.conf" to specify a config file.
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:***************************************************************
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:[SHOUTcast] DNAS/mac v2.0.0.29 (Jul 31 2011) starting up...
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:[MAIN] PID: 4468
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:[MAIN] Loaded config from sc_serv_basic.conf
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:[MAIN] Calculated CPU count is 2
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:[MAIN] Starting 2 network threads
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8000
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:[MICROSERVER] Listening for connection on port 8000
2012-04-09 15:41:24 E msg:Error opening port 8000 because Could not bind to 174.74.118.85:8000 because Can't assign requested address
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:[MAIN] Runner shutdown
2012-04-09 15:41:24 I msg:<***> Logger shutdown

Last edited by joshuaw491; 9th April 2012 at 20:42. Reason: Included Error Messages
joshuaw491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 21:05   #12
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
ok, wasn't sure if you were going to be able to bind to the address or not.

basically there's not too much i can do as no one else seeing this issue has had anything in the http headers detected by the request which provides the external url/ip that the client used to access it i.e. the ip that is actually wanted.

i do have a workaround in the internal DNAS builds but it also requires usage of an updated YP backend to provide the external IP the YP has i.e. the address which is known to work so that's not going to be an option at the moment.

unless someone else can provide some way to work out what in the network config is causing the issue (as the machine appears to be on a vpn - and i'd assume you're not going to be able to locate it outside of that), i'm not sure there's much which can be done until the next build of the DNAS happens with it's matching YP update (which i don't have any eta on it happening).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th April 2012, 21:51   #13
joshuaw491
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
The computer is not on a VPN, but what do you think about a direct-connect to the modem?
joshuaw491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th April 2012, 10:12   #14
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
you can try that to see if it helps. i can only base it on being on a VPN type setup due to the IP address reported beginning with 10.xxxx which is what is used for VPN's.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2012, 00:27   #15
joshuaw491
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 8
And some routers. But I will try changing some settings.
joshuaw491 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump