Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp for Android

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th February 2012, 00:24   #1
HaroldBishop
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Missing Data from Winamp on PC to Android

New smartphone user here so apologies if this is basic stuff.

I have music stored on my PC as aac files. I have been using itunes with my ipod but recently bought a Samsung Galaxy S.

I downloaded Winamp on both my PC and phone. All data on Winamp PC is complete, i.e. artist, song title, album and genre. All good.

However when viewing music on my phone through the winamp free app every song is missing the artist and genre.

Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.
HaroldBishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2012, 22:19   #2
HaroldBishop
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
I managed to sort this out.

Many thanks to the overwhelming respones, what a fantastic forum.
HaroldBishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2012, 14:34   #3
Saintex
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
Missing Data from Winamp on PC to Android

I have the exactly the same issue. Could you please explain how you was able to solve that issue?
Thanks.
Saintex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2012, 17:47   #4
tbrodale
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Artist Name now "Unknown Artist"

I have a Samsung Mesmerize. Winamp seems to work great and all the songs look fine after transferring over WiFi but if I ever turn off my phone or unmount my SD in any way I lose the actual artist name which is then replaced by "Unknown Artist". My phone has Alzheimers...

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I love the app and the PC version and would really like this to be viable option on my phone.
tbrodale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2013, 03:24   #5
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
What was the solution?

Hi All,

What was the solution to this problem?! I'm experiencing the same thing. :/
I've been searching for a solution but I can't find anything.
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2013, 08:24   #6
stranded
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Poland
Posts: 41
Send a message via ICQ to stranded Send a message via AIM to stranded Send a message via Yahoo to stranded
This sometimes happens with the MP3 file has an ID3v1 tag filled out and an empty ID3v2 tag. Right-Click on the song on playlist, pick File info and see if the tags are filled out on both ID3 versions.

I always had the problem (not only on the phone) with songs who had ID3v1 filled out and ID3v2 partially complete.

Maybe that will solve the problem.

Also OP is a *****, he complained that no one answered and when he found the solution he just said he did and never explained how.
stranded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2013, 19:31   #7
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Thanks for your help stranded. I've checked literally 100's of files now. They all have ID3v1 and ID3v2 tags fully (or mostly) populated. If any of my files are missing anything, it's the year and genre.

Do you have any other suggestions?
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2013, 19:42   #8
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,696
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
i strip all id3v1 tags, as that avoids the issue.

perhaps there are weird characters in your filenames or paths or tags? diacritics?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2013, 05:08   #9
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
I tried what you suggested on 3000 tracks MrSinatra. Still no go. I experience the same problem when only using ID3v2 tagged MP3s.
Besides I don't like the idea of stripping ID3 tags from over 60k tracks just because of this.
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2013, 07:38   #10
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,696
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
well, you don't normally need or want id3v1 tags if you have id3v2.3 tags.

i would also try running the files thru mp3val.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2013, 18:32   #11
JMullins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 30
I have been clearing up this same issue. The problem appears to be connected to an invalid ID3v2 tag. In particular the comment field. The way I saw this was ending up with 324 unknown album/unknown artist file on my Galaxy S3. All of the files are identified properly on my pc. What I did to track it down. On your portable select one of the files and long press. On the menu that pops up select play. Often it will show you what is playing, but if it does not just keep trying until you recognize the song. Once you have identified one, look at it on your pc. Probably everything will look OK. Use the program MP3tag (it is available for free) and open the file. WARNING: If it shows an invalid tag warning, do not save the file or you will erase all the missing tag info. Open your winamp library and select that song. Right click and select edit Metadata for song. In the comment box if it shows 0 select and delete it if it does not show anything still select the comment box Click update. Now reopen in MP3Tag and you should see everything. Including a very long hex comment. I feel comfortable erasing anything I don't need because my library is 100% CD and LP rips. If you have downloaded any music do not do this on those songs.

Now I do understand the position that Nullsoft finds itself in. That does not mean that they can not at least give a warning about songs that cannot be transferred.
JMullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2013, 01:55   #12
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
well, you don't normally need or want id3v1 tags if you have id3v2.3 tags.

i would also try running the files thru mp3val.
Thanks for your help MrSinatra. I have not seen/used mp3val before.
While mp3val did detect & repair a few tracks there were some left over that could not be repaired (VBR header missing). I simply deleted (all 5 of) them.
After that, I removed all of the media from my phone and tried again... Still no joy.

--

BTW - I gave MP3Tag and the comments thing a shot too.
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2013, 03:53   #13
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,696
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
did u try stripping only the id3v1 tags?

and moonbases ver of vbrfix would probably fix your problem vbr files.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2013, 17:20   #14
JMullins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 30
While I am happy that you did try the comment fix, I am embarrassed by an omission. Winamp reads the ID3 tags when the file is first loaded. It seems to cache that info and not reread it until forced to do so. Try deleting that song from the library and re-adding it. You probably want to check the configuration of the mpeg audio decoder input plugin. But don't feel bad I had to correct 15825 songs so far. 8(
JMullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2013, 21:03   #15
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
did u try stripping only the id3v1 tags?
Yes. I did. I can't remember what program it was that I used to remove it. It was something that one of you recommended.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
and moonbases ver of vbrfix would probably fix your problem vbr files.
I have the originals, so I'll re-rip. My collection consists of over 60k tracks so if I find too many problems, I'll give vbrfix a go!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMullins View Post
While I am happy that you did try the comment fix, I am embarrassed by an omission. Winamp reads the ID3 tags when the file is first loaded. It seems to cache that info and not reread it until forced to do so. Try deleting that song from the library and re-adding it. You probably want to check the configuration of the mpeg audio decoder input plugin. But don't feel bad I had to correct 15825 songs so far. 8(
I have not been adding files directly to the library, just to the play list. I'll drop my library anyway. I can see by looking at the playlist that Winamp is re-reading something out of these files (file names and track times are updating during scroll).


BTW - Sorry for the late replies. Getting online recently has been a challenge.
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2013, 21:21   #16
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,696
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
i have 65k+ files, but most are my own cbr 256kbps rips. otherwise some flacs and some vbrs, those mostly from DLing.

track time issues are almost always a header issue, not a tag issue.

you are seeing problems on your phone, not desktop winamp, right?

what phone do you use? how do you get the music on it? describe the process.

just fyi:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=345521

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 00:02   #17
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Hi MrSinatra,

I have Winamp (5.6.3) installed on my work and home PCs. Home has the entire collection. Work only has my favorites (~3K tracks). I connect my phone (HTC One X running ARHD 18.4 (JB 4.1.1)) to both machines to manually upload / remove tracks. I'm running Winamp 1.4.10 on my phone.
Everything works fine on the PC's in terms of local Playlists, local Tracks and the Media Library.

Adding content to my phone:
  • Attach phone to PC.Wait for MTP to pop up (cry and wonder what ever happened to UMS)
  • Wait a little longer for my phone to appear under Devices.
  • Select one or many tracks from the current playlist.
  • Right-click music and select Send to:> EndeavorU
  • Eject

Removing content from my phone:
  • Attach phone to PC.Wait for MTP to pop up (cry and wonder what ever happened to UMS)
  • Wait a little longer for my phone to appear under Devices.
  • Expand out Devices, EndeavorU.
  • Select one or many tracks.
  • Press Del.
  • Eject

How important is eject? If I don't do it, will things stuff up?

I would like to use Wifi but work blocks the traffic and at home the phone does not always connect.

--

Another annoying thing that I have not mentioned - If I create a playlist on the PC, the name of the playlist does not appear on the phone. I just get a new 'Unknown playlist'. When I plug the phone back in to the PC, the playlist disappears (only from Winamp on the PC).
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 00:30   #18
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0xFFFF View Post
Another annoying thing that I have not mentioned - If I create a playlist on the PC, the name of the playlist does not appear on the phone. I just get a new 'Unknown playlist'. When I plug the phone back in to the PC, the playlist disappears (only from Winamp on the PC).
it's due to how things work on Android and via the P4S / MTP handling which means that the first time the playlist appears on the phone, it's recognised with a specific name ("Unknown playlist" in this case as that's the default internally used) but the file is then renamed once you've chosen what is wanted.

unfortunately that renaming of the playlist isn't seen (as WAFA is relying on what Android informs it) and so until you change the name in WAFA, it will show what it does). having seen it first hand, the only i can think off is when pmp_p4s (the plug-in used to handle things) is asked to create a playlist, it needs to wait until a name has been entered (though that complicates the handling of things in the plug-in) so i don't know if that's a viable solution or not.


additionally, as you're using that plug-in, you may want to try out the 5.7 beta as it has a number of fixes in the plug-in as well as portable support in general for trying to obtain metadata from the original files for transfer, etc (as there were a number of scenarios where it didn't get it all correctly). if you're not happy trying out a beta then that's ok though would be nice if you are ok to see how things fare.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 01:45   #19
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Hi DrO,

I removed 5.63. I deleted the program directory and then installed 5.7 beta. The installation went fine. Testing everything again did not.
Creating playlists results in a 'New playlist' on the phone. When I re-connect the phone to the PC, I cant see the playlist.
Tracks transferred to the phone still have the same problems.
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 01:50   #20
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
oh well, was worth a shot. apparently there's a newer set of OS api's which could be used for handling MTP devices, so it's not clear if that might improve things or not (though that's not a simple thing to re-code). oh well, at least it didn't crash which is better than i was experiencing until a week ago.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 02:41   #21
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,696
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
so strange.

have you considered making smartviews to replace your playlists? i don't know why, but i'm thinking that copying the results list of a smartview to a phone might be more robust than trying to copy a playlist's entries to a phone.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 21:12   #22
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
oh well, was worth a shot. apparently there's a newer set of OS api's which could be used for handling MTP devices, so it's not clear if that might improve things or not (though that's not a simple thing to re-code). oh well, at least it didn't crash which is better than i was experiencing until a week ago.
Thanks for the suggestions DrO. I'm happy to try anything to try and get this thing going.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
so strange.

have you considered making smartviews to replace your playlists? i don't know why, but i'm thinking that copying the results list of a smartview to a phone might be more robust than trying to copy a playlist's entries to a phone.
I tried smartviews. No difference. I hadn't used them before. Kind of funny given that I've been using Winamp for such a long time
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 21:30   #23
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
one thing might be is providing a small copy of an original and a transferred file so the tags can be checked i.e. see if it's a file tag issue or down to how / what WAFA is getting the information or something else.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 21:51   #24
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Files are unaffected when transferred. If I do a binary compare, they are identical. I can upload a few files so you can look at the headers. How much of the file do you need?
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 22:06   #25
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
just needs a full tag and a bit of the audio e.g. use the demo.mp3 and alter it to have the tag in the manner of your other files (and make sure that this one exhibits the issue as well).
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 22:32   #26
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Interesting results. Maybe it's a beta thing but the first time I opened Winamp I had 118 tracks with no information. There's just 118 empty items on my phone (according to Winamp).
I closed and re-opened Winamp and I'm back to where I was (No Artist, Album, Genre). I renamed demo.mp3 and changed the header to match my other tracks. Link.
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 23:06   #27
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,696
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
the first thing i notice, is that that file has id3v1 tags, and they're mostly blank.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 23:36   #28
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
Arrrrrhhhh. Stuffed up. Trying again...
BTW - How do I stop Winamp from finding media elsewhere on my phone? I'm getting ringtones and other rubbish showing up.
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 23:40   #29
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
2nd attempt. Link.

--

I've noticed that if you open Winamp while a portable device is enumerating, it kinds of freaks out a bit. Instead of getting the name of the portable device, you just get the device icon and no description. You can't click on the device to select it. To resolve the issue, close and re-open Winamp.

Last edited by 0xFFFF; 12th March 2013 at 23:48. Reason: More information
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2013, 17:07   #30
JMullins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 30
I just made a break though. I have been struggling with this issue for a while. I went though over 15000 songs repairing the id3 mess iTunes created. Then I synced (some of them) to my phone. Everything looked good until I notice that there were still 537 unknowns. I looked at those songs. I even pulled them off the phone to my desktop. Couldn't find anything wrong with them. I was checking other forums (this is not an unusual problem) and stumbled onto a very big help.
On my Galaxy S3:
Bring up Settings -> Application Manager
Select All column
Scroll down to Media Storage and click it
Press delete data
It will warn you of the dire consequences click OK
You have now dropped the Android ID3 database. My phone reread all of the installed media and added the songs back in. Fire up WinAmp and nervously check unknown again 2 songs. yippee-qay-ayy
Evidently android will not reread the data unless the file name changes.

Things that I think should happen.
WinAmp should let us know if the ID3 information is not suitable for transfer. (i.e. illegal tags that would mess up the other side need to be flagged).
WinAmp should not try to fix these automatically.
The default setting for downloading tag information should be changed to OFF.
The default setting for tag information should be ID3v2.3 not v2.4.
WinAmp for Android would be better served by using its own tag database and not the default OS db. By using the Android DB you accept their limitations and problems. You also prevent yourself from improving what is a flawed implementation.
Sync options should be configurable for both wireless and wired.
JMullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2013, 22:31   #31
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
You got me all excited JMullins. I tried what you said but it still didn't work :/

You said "Media Storage... ...Press delete data". I only have Clear data. I pressed that instead but there was no 'beware of falling sky' or whatever. I suspect that I may be doing something wrong here.
I hope we're on the right track.
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th March 2013, 23:12   #32
JMullins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 30
Sorry it is Clear Data. The dire consequences warning is just it letting you know it is going to erase everything.

This did work for me so far. I have not done another sync yet, I will get to that in a few days. Now keep in mind that before it worked I had to:
Copy the files to a new directory. (Most of the family still uses iTunes and I didn't want to mess them up.)
Turn OFF the ID3 updates in winamp first to save a lot of work.
Import them all into a new winamp on the pc.
Select all the files in the library.
Right Click and Edit meta data.
Select comment. Enter a space.
Click Save. (This should overwrite any comment that was there.)
Exit Winamp.
Go to the library folder (I worked with a Maximum of 1 album at a time).
Select all the files and open with a tag editor (I used Mp3Tag and you can right click to get it once installed.)
Now is the hard part. You have to make sure that all the songs are tagged correctly. For me I had to correct almost every song. Winamp had downloaded new id3 tags because it could not see the old ones. I ended up with duplicate tags in the file. So it would show Album name//Album name Song//Song etc. Some of them were different so I had a very confused library. I cleaned up and eliminated all duplicates.

Very important. Select all files in MP3Tag, right click and select Extended tags. Just to the right of the info you will see 3 buttons Click the top button "Add Field". Next to the Top field there is a right arrow, click it and select "Remove all fields". When it prompts you tell it yes. (If you are worried about this simply try it on a duplicate copy first.) This will eliminate all of the tags that are not easily visible to you. When you close the extended tags dialog it will save the files. Once the files have been saved, try to resync them.
JMullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 01:24   #33
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,696
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
jmull,

i'm not really following you.

winamp does NOT automatically, by itself, alter id3 tags. u have to direct it to via initiating "autotag" or manual edits or whatnot.

did u read the link i posted earlier in the thread?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 02:00   #34
JMullins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 30
MrSinatra, yes I did read your link thank you. I may be mistaken in blaming winamp. There have been 4 programs that have touched my music files. iTunes - this piece of xxxx is what originated most of the problems and I am certain deserves most of my disdain. Windows Media player - I have had tagging turned off from day 1 (although I can not be certain they listen to preferences). MP3Tag - this certainly has touched my files, but I have not had it dl tag info. Mainly used it to delete unwanted info. Note that the original problem was an invalid comment tag. MP3Tag identified the tag as invalid, but was not able to read past it. Then of course was winamp. I have since configured the tag function to not write to any files. I could not find a configuration for autotagger so probably made a bad assumption.

However, the files did get damaged, winamp was part of the solution. But it would certainly be helpful if it identified files with invalid metadata before sending them across, or at the least reporting it.
JMullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 02:21   #35
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,696
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
what i do, is i make sure my files are in a non-default location, like C:\audio\music\ that neither itunes nor WMP is aware of, b/c they do frequently ignore their own prefs and alter tags. for example, WMP will replace your Folder.jpg even if you set it to "only add missing metadata" in the WMP prefs.

imo, mp3tag is much better suited to set all your tags to id3v2.3 and check them to be sure they are valid. that kind of thing is basically beyond winamps scope.

afaik, winamp does use id3v2.3 by default. as said in my link, u can turn off creating v1.x types.

EDIT:

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMullins View Post
Sync options should be configurable for both wireless and wired.
see my suggestions for WFA 2.0

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=356951

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 05:46   #36
JMullins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 30
Yes I did use mp3tag to repair the files. However I first had to use winamp to delete the comment tag. Without that mp3tag lost almost all of the info since it couldn't see it. Together they worked well.
JMullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 05:51   #37
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,696
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
no... it works different. winamp merges differing tag types into a result, while mp3tag will show you just one tag at a time, but it is still "aware" of the other tags and info.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 06:21   #38
JMullins
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 30
My copy of mp3tag shows all of the base tags album/song/artist/genre etc on the same screen. But when I had the problem (I may duplicate it and send you the results), it would open a warning dialog in the center of the screen. If I did anything and saved it I would need to re-enter all of the information. After I cleared the illegal tag it operated as expected.
JMullins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th March 2013, 06:27   #39
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,696
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
sure, post the problem file, i'll play around with it.

but idk what u mean when you say "your copy shows all the base tags."

for the mp3tag "tags" column, i have this formula:

%_tag_read%[ (%_tag%)]

it will show you what tag ('type' or 'layer' ...whatever you want to call it) you are seeing the data for in the other columns, as well as what all tag types are in the file. i have never seen mp3tag merge tag types. it only shows me one at a time.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2013, 23:10   #40
0xFFFF
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 14
I found the cause... sort of. I think it's MTP.
Since Google punished me by removing UMS I tried everything to get it back. In the end I gave up because of all of the hacky solutions, none of them worked well enough. I decided to revert to a previous ROM with UMS just for the sake of testing and everything worked.

So it looks like I'm going to have to work with a mostly functional Winamp for now. Hopefully Google sees the error of their ways.
0xFFFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp for Android

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump