Old 8th August 2004, 13:25   #1
murassmeblade
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 47
Is 5.04 perfectly compatible with SP2?

considering this is the last version for some time was any SP2 issues dealt with in the build since SP2 is coming in the next few days?
murassmeblade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2004, 13:53   #2
JonnyMac
Moderator
 
JonnyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 14,384
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=183515
JonnyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2004, 21:57   #3
Kanpai
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to Kanpai
Those are some seriously harsh tradeoffs - i guess i won't be installing SP2 anytime soon...
Kanpai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2004, 23:48   #4
squall14716
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 349
Send a message via ICQ to squall14716 Send a message via AIM to squall14716 Send a message via Yahoo to squall14716
SP2 2149 works perfectly for me since it was released. I'm too lazy to go searching for 2180 so I'll get it tommorow when it goes on Windows Update.
squall14716 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2004, 02:50   #5
UltraZelda64
Senior Member
 
UltraZelda64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Alliance, Ohio
Posts: 390
I hope you guys realize that the FINAL version of WinXPSP2 is not even out yet... chances are any problems with it will be fixed by the time it's officially released. Besides, I'm sure that even though WA5 will not see an update for a while, if there is a major problem with it running SP2 it will probably be fixed. If they leave something too big go for too long, it won't look good for Nullsoft.
UltraZelda64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2004, 03:16   #6
squall14716
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 349
Send a message via ICQ to squall14716 Send a message via AIM to squall14716 Send a message via Yahoo to squall14716
The final version of SP2 is out. It's just not at Windows Update yet, although it will be tommorow.
squall14716 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2004, 03:42   #7
auhsor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 159
Oh wow thats cool I guess. Lets hope it doesn't mess with WA like it seemed to in the betas.
auhsor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2004, 02:23   #8
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
the only thing that you'll get using XP Sp2 is if you use the new Windows Firewall ..it's not really a problem

if you try to connect to anything in the Streaming Media section in ML you'll get a popup from Windows Firewall asking you if you want to keep blocking, unblock or ask me later

click unblock and windows Firewall will create a exception and after that it should always allow you to connect without any more firewall popups

That's how it's worked for me even in the betas and it's still working that way for me with build 2180
STanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2004, 10:39   #9
enceladus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Installed SP2 and haven't had any problems with Winamp. Only issue I had was that it readded all the annoying WMP and Winamp options to the context menu meaning I had to do some registry editting.
enceladus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2004, 11:23   #10
Zulithe
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 62
I just (earlier this morning) did a clean install of Windows XP Pro and then immediately installed SP2 (which I DLed to a spare hard drive before formatting), and then installed Winamp 5.04

I don't have the problem you explain above ... sorry. Works perfectly! Now, granted, I haven't installed any of the other items the person in the linked thread installed (NAV, AdAware, etc.) so who knows if those are related O.o

Anyway, SP2 is flawless so far for me, I recommend Winamp users upgrade when possible.

BTW, the only reason I did a clean install was because I hadn't done one in over 2.5 years, I really needed it
Zulithe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2004, 06:21   #11
SS64
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
just installed SP2 few days ago and it work as if i never installed SP2.
SS64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2004, 15:22   #12
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
if you use nLite to make a sp2 integrated windows share there is an option under component removal to take out WiMP along with the codecs but since Winamp can use those leave the codecs in. Doing so lightens your xp sp2 install by about 120 meg or so ...don't believe me check it out for yourself

nLite can be found at http://www.msfn.org
STanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2004, 23:25   #13
TechBoy
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 66
EDIT: Nevermind...

All's well with SP2, I highly recommend you get it.
TechBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 05:44   #14
auhsor
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 159
Well i've installed SP2, and so far have had no problems with any programs.
auhsor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2004, 15:01   #15
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,910
winamp works 100% with sp2.

cant say the same for third party plug-ins, they may or may not work.
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump