Old 28th July 2006, 10:42   #41
roytam1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
Quote:
* New: Unicode filename and title support
* New: M3U8 (Unicode) playlist support
They doesn't seem to work properly.
*SOME* of the files doesn't load properly from M3U8 playlist.
Attached Images
File Type: png 未命名.png (76.5 KB, 535 views)
roytam1 is offline  
Old 28th July 2006, 11:04   #42
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
And are the affected files all Monkeys Audio .ape files?
ie. mp3, ogg, wav, m4a, wma with unicode filenames/tags all load ok?
If so, then it's probably an issue with the 3rd-party Monkeys Audio plugin.
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 28th July 2006, 13:57   #43
roytam1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ Egg
And are the affected files all Monkeys Audio .ape files?
ie. mp3, ogg, wav, m4a, wma with unicode filenames/tags all load ok?
If so, then it's probably an issue with the 3rd-party Monkeys Audio plugin.
not only ape/apl files, but also some mp3 files.
roytam1 is offline  
Old 28th July 2006, 13:59   #44
roytam1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 81
P.S.: The files will load properly when they plays.
So I think it is a bug of m3u8 playlist loader.
roytam1 is offline  
Old 28th July 2006, 14:49   #45
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
Hooray, editing ID3 tags no longer crashes everything... w00t!

Seems pretty stable all in all... haven't found any bugs that haven't been mentioned already... Kudos to the devs!

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 28th July 2006, 15:12   #46
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
I have some problems with the OSD, sometimes the OSD just shows "Progress", sometimes I see the progressbar twice, one on botton and one on top.

Using latest beta with FFDShow. Video format doesn't matter, happens with MPEG, AVI etc.

The other things work fine, nice update.
Koopa is offline  
Old 28th July 2006, 15:41   #47
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & Shoutcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,822
What font do you have selected in Prefs > Playlist, if any?
The fullscreen OSD uses whatever font is selected there.
Maybe there's a problem with whatever one you're using?
DJ Egg is offline  
Old 28th July 2006, 16:33   #48
JayBaddd
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 9
M3U PLAYLIST TROUBLE

Hi, DJ Egg and devs,

I created an M3U playlist in Winamp 5.25 Beta build 787 and then tried to transfer it to the SanDisk Sansa m230 w/firmware version 1.3.0A. I received an error during the sending of the playlist: "Could not create folder or files."

I have been able to transfer files and play them back from the m230 fine in the 5.25 Beta. Hope you can help with the Playlist problem.

Thanks in advance!


Jay Bader
Orlando, FL
JayBaddd is offline  
Old 28th July 2006, 18:37   #49
Koopa
16-Bit Moderator
 
Koopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,341
Quote:
What font do you have selected in Prefs > Playlist, if any?
Standard. "Use Skin or language pack font", using default modern skin.
Koopa is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 07:53   #50
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Okay, this is just too long to read, so I'll report this anyway...

1. While playing various mp3s (which used to play fine with 5.24), in the middle of the song, it'll just stop playing and I will have to move the seek bar in order to make it continue playing, pressing play will just restart it so the song isn't really paused but rather stuck.

2. While hovering the systray icon, the info. line no longer shows up.


Last edited by YtseJam; 29th July 2006 at 08:43.
YtseJam is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 11:09   #51
bemymonkey
Senior Member
 
bemymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally posted by Koopatrooper
I have some problems with the OSD, sometimes the OSD just shows "Progress", sometimes I see the progressbar twice, one on botton and one on top.

Using latest beta with FFDShow. Video format doesn't matter, happens with MPEG, AVI etc.

The other things work fine, nice update.
That's been happening to me for the last few releases... Sometimes the playback controls in the OSD are scrambled or jumbled up too... or the progress bar is missing... lotsa weird stuff... Nothing too horrible, but it is a bit weird :-P

Weeeeeeeeeeee
bemymonkey is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 11:09   #52
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Quote:
Originally posted by YtseJam
2. While hovering the systray icon, the info. line no longer shows up.
reproduced

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 11:28   #53
Hanschke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 128
i cannot send u the log files. the email adresse is wrong
Hanschke is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 11:41   #54
Kanpai
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to Kanpai
I am very excited about the addition of unicode support but i seem to have hit a stumbling block. I have some songs with japanese characters which originally show up right on modern skins. However, the second they're added to the media library, i get ???? instead of characters. I have 'use library title information for Playlist Item Formatting' off, as well as 'Use skin or language pack font.' Am i missing something, or is this a bug?
Kanpai is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 11:43   #55
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
Kanpai: http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....d=251985#notes

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 11:54   #56
Kanpai
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 60
Send a message via AIM to Kanpai
I think my original post was unclear. The characters show up right in the PLAYER originally, but once the file's added to the library, i get ???? in the PLAYER. I apologize if this is the behavior it's supposed to have and i'm just dumb.
Kanpai is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 12:32   #57
Hanschke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 128
Winamp client version: 5.25 build 787 Beta
Winamp caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
in module Winamp.exe at 001b:00000000.

Exception handler called in Winamp.

i wanna load a m3u and got an error every time. use vista 5472. i want to send the dump to Nullsoft Bug Reporting <bug@winamp.com> but i got the mails back
Hanschke is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 13:49   #58
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by Hanschke
Winamp client version: 5.25 build 787 Beta
Winamp caused an Access Violation (0xc0000005)
in module Winamp.exe at 001b:00000000.

Exception handler called in Winamp.

i wanna load a m3u and got an error every time. use vista 5472. i want to send the dump to Nullsoft Bug Reporting <bug@winamp.com> but i got the mails back
Our e-mail server has been on the fritz for the past two weeks. If the report.zip file is under 100k, you can attach it here.
Benski is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 14:05   #59
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Benski, your PM mailbox is full.

As for your question, it is not easily reproduced, or so I think -- I did not pay attention as to when it happens.

I waiting for it to happen again, at which case I'll provide what you asked from me with more details.

YtseJam is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 14:40   #60
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Well as far as I can see, it happens randomly, to no specific file nor format (happened both to mp3s as well as to ogg files).

YtseJam is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 15:06   #61
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by YtseJam
Well as far as I can see, it happens randomly, to no specific file nor format (happened both to mp3s as well as to ogg files).
Very strange, does switching output plugins (e.g. out_wave instead of out_ds) resolve it?
Benski is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 15:17   #62
Hanschke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 128
ok here is the first one
Attached Files
File Type: zip report.zip (42.9 KB, 341 views)
Hanschke is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 18:14   #63
Danez
Junior Member
 
Danez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 11
Bug (?) with 24bit playback.

If I turn on the option "Allow 24bit" in Preferences->Playback my system stopps playing on all channels. I don't know if this problem is related to winamp, windows or soundcarddriver, but i just wanted to mention it.

so i have a 5.1 sound system and with 24bit sound enabled it only playes on the 2 front channels.
Disabled everything works fine.

Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Audigy Platinum (with newest driver)
Danez is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 18:16   #64
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 952
That should be a driver issue. Not Winamp related.

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 19:26   #65
osmosis
Major Dude
 
osmosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cananada
Posts: 841
i tracked down a copy of Arial Unicode MS on my office 2k pro cd. installed it. followed egg's directions and selected it as the font for playlist but i'm still not seeing the chinese characters i should.. it IS Unicode MS v.0.84 could that be the problem? i hear they're up to 1.01 and that there were issues with the older ones.

it'll show the correct one briefly while it's still showing the filename but then it switches back to ???.

Request: A little SmartView Query Language love.
osmosis is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 20:04   #66
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by osmosis
i tracked down a copy of Arial Unicode MS on my office 2k pro cd. installed it. followed egg's directions and selected it as the font for playlist but i'm still not seeing the chinese characters i should.. it IS Unicode MS v.0.84 could that be the problem? i hear they're up to 1.01 and that there were issues with the older ones.

it'll show the correct one briefly while it's still showing the filename but then it switches back to ???.
What kind of files are these? And are they in your media library?
Benski is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 20:53   #67
osmosis
Major Dude
 
osmosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cananada
Posts: 841
mp3. it is in the ML but i've disabled the Local Media Option "Use Library title information.."

Request: A little SmartView Query Language love.
osmosis is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 20:56   #68
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
mp3. it is in the ML but i've disabled the Local Media Option "Use Library title information.."
Try removing it from the media library and then playing it.
Benski is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 21:31   #69
osmosis
Major Dude
 
osmosis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cananada
Posts: 841
can't find it in the library because the filename's chinese.. and also it seems that it may not have been in the ML since i just moved it out of the watch folders scope and did Remove Missing Files and it didn't remove any. and also it still doesn't work. What settings should i have under Modern Skins, Font Rendering?

Request: A little SmartView Query Language love.
osmosis is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 21:45   #70
STanger
Senior Member
 
STanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 399
Send a message via AIM to STanger Send a message via Yahoo to STanger
Quote:
Originally posted by Danez
Bug (?) with 24bit playback.

If I turn on the option "Allow 24bit" in Preferences->Playback my system stopps playing on all channels. I don't know if this problem is related to winamp, windows or soundcarddriver, but i just wanted to mention it.

so i have a 5.1 sound system and with 24bit sound enabled it only playes on the 2 front channels.
Disabled everything works fine.

Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Audigy Platinum (with newest driver)
Make sure that "5.1 surround sound speakers" is chosen in "Sounds and Audio Devices" in control panel ... click open that and click the advanced button at the bottom right. I have an X-Fi Platinum and I had the same problem and that fixed it ..I'm also using the newest drivers for my X-Fi as well.
STanger is offline  
Old 29th July 2006, 23:58   #71
vjacques
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 17
seems like the CUE Player v0.5b plug-in doesn't work anymore with this version. player just skips through the .cue points (in the same manner like if a .cue file has errors/target .mp3 has a different name). .cue files support is such a long going issue and without native support things still don't look pretty. i mean for how long it's sitting on the wishlist already?

thanks for the nice update otherwise.
vjacques is offline  
Old 30th July 2006, 09:44   #72
BoyNG
Member
 
BoyNG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Russian Federation
Posts: 60
Send a message via ICQ to BoyNG
Errors on many computers (in older versions too):
1. Winamp minimize to tray and playng in Modern skin mode
2. Try close from right click menu on tray icon
3. but Winamp stay in running processes.
BoyNG is offline  
Old 30th July 2006, 12:35   #73
Hanschke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 128
we need a cue support without a third part plugin.
Hanschke is offline  
Old 30th July 2006, 12:52   #74
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
I believe I read it is planned for a future version, 5.3 perhaps?

YtseJam is offline  
Old 30th July 2006, 13:03   #75
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
and we need x, y and z to be native as well
things will come with time if dev work can be done/it's perceived as a useful feature to implement. just look at how long it's taken for the streaming id3v2 tag support to make it into the player despite it having been on the wishlist for what 5+ years now (and that the wishlist is just that and is not something set in stone).

so really waiting a while longer for cue/flac/[insert whatever mainstream feature] isn't that hard to ask for now is it?

YtseJam: you might want to fix the images for you signature link

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 30th July 2006, 15:26   #76
Hanschke
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: germany
Posts: 128
it is so difficult to add cue support? hmm i dont can believe it because player like foobar can do it. in my opinion things like ipod sync can much longer wait. i think it is much better to add the "standard" features earlier and than have more special features so winamp will come to the ultimate overkill.
Hanschke is offline  
Old 30th July 2006, 15:39   #77
YtseJam
Forum King
 
YtseJam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Israel
Posts: 2,399
Send a message via ICQ to YtseJam Send a message via AIM to YtseJam
Actually I think more people use the iPod or other portable music players than people who require CUE support.

It's more about priority than difficulity.

YtseJam is offline  
Old 30th July 2006, 15:40   #78
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
different people have different things that they want and the portable media player support was pushed through due to what the people in suits wanted and thought would be 'the thing' to have.

so in this case cue support is more important whereas for me i'm not bothered by it all since it's not something i'm ever likely to use or any of the online media crap which has taken a lot of development focus but that's just me.

as for how hard it is to add, i'm not entirely sure since it depends on the internal implementation of playlist entries, etc and how that would equate to cue file support which may only be a few minor changes or could require a massive change. refering to other players doesn't really fit in this instance since different products have different implementations/feature sets/useability goals so just because player x has something doesn't mean player y has to have it.

all i can say is that it has been talked about in the past and is something that is more likely to be looked at for implementation but with all of the changes, etc that have and still have to go on (unicode support to the level that it now is at has taken all of the 5.2x series and some of the 5.1x series) mean it's better to concentrate on only a few major changes at a time and not to implement it all in one go to then end up breaking other things and causing more bugs than it's worth. patience is your friend

-daz
DrO is offline  
Old 30th July 2006, 16:17   #79
xen withanex
Junior Member
 
xen withanex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: England
Posts: 17
I think I might have discovered a small bug regarding the new 24bit output thing: With the 24bit option turned on, if you load up a tune in the playlist then press 'enter' on the playlist the track will start again but without the 24bit thing- there is an audible difference. What's more, if you press enter again the 24bit thing kicks in again, so it alternates between being on and off.
xen withanex is offline  
Old 30th July 2006, 16:49   #80
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,057
Quote:
Originally posted by xen withanex
I think I might have discovered a small bug regarding the new 24bit output thing: With the 24bit option turned on, if you load up a tune in the playlist then press 'enter' on the playlist the track will start again but without the 24bit thing- there is an audible difference. What's more, if you press enter again the 24bit thing kicks in again, so it alternates between being on and off.
With what file type?
Benski is offline  
Closed Thread
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump