Old 8th November 2001, 21:50   #1
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
volume knob for bluecog skin

i'm trying to do the volume knob for my bluecog skin. i originally made it gear shaped but i decided to make it round instead as then i can use the same trick as used on probe.

i get the idea of volume maps and that but i've got no idea how to use the rotate lib in conjunction with a map to create the volume control. can anybody help me?

lucas (or kinwashi), is there any chance of taking a look at the source code for probe's volume knob?

tah in advance

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2001, 22:09   #2
Dallas
Junior Member
 
Dallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florida
Posts: 45
Send a message via AIM to Dallas
Exclamation !!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!!??!

what are and how do i use volume maps? are there also seek maps?

irc.dal.net ,-` #Packeting ,-` DJ----
Dallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2001, 22:33   #3
simarilius
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 14
I'd like to know too.

I have the same problem on my pod skin, I've created the map and mask images, just dont know what to do to use the script.
I may just be being dense (a pretty common occurance) but I havent got a clue.
simarilius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2001, 23:42   #4
Lucas
Guru Meditation (Alumni)
 
Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 191
Ok, it's very well explained in the rotationlayer lib header comments, but I'll try to illustrate how to do it...


- - - - cut here - - - -

#define ROTATION_LAYER_VAR newRotation
// you may want to change the path for the lib
#include "rotationlayer.m"


// init
_newRotationInit(parentGroup, layerToRotate);


// when you want to rotate ...
_newRotationRotateDegree(theAngleYouWant);


- - - - cut here - - - -


as simple as that!

cheers,
-L
Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2001, 10:29   #5
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
cool! ok thanks lucas i think i get it now. i guess i could have looked a bit harder

i'll come back here with more questions if i have a problem, if that's ok by you of course.

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2001, 15:43   #6
Lucas
Guru Meditation (Alumni)
 
Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally posted by danbee
i'll come back here with more questions if i have a problem, if that's ok by you of course.
That's what the Forum is for... discussions, questions, etc.

-L
Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2001, 16:36   #7
simarilius
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally posted by Lucas
Ok, it's very well explained in the rotationlayer lib header comments, but I'll try to illustrate how to do it...


- - - - cut here - - - -

#define ROTATION_LAYER_VAR newRotation
// you may want to change the path for the lib
#include "rotationlayer.m"


// init
_newRotationInit(parentGroup, layerToRotate);


// when you want to rotate ...
_newRotationRotateDegree(theAngleYouWant);


- - - - cut here - - - -


as simple as that!

cheers,
-L
I read the header in the m file and it was this bit that gave me the feeling I was being dense, in that I have no idea where I'm meant to put that code. I'm presuming its a wasabi script but cant find any tutorial on how to do basic stuff with wasabi, (anywhere got some sample code?)
I found basics about the language syntax, classes etc but nowhere telling me how to link the scripts to the xml. any pointers to examples of using em would be appreciated.
simarilius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2001, 21:59   #8
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
Quote:
Originally posted by Lucas


That's what the Forum is for... discussions, questions, etc.

-L
yeah i know, i just didn't wanna bother you too much. coz if you're as busy as i am sometimes...

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2001, 23:02   #9
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
ok, well i've written a script file and it's bollox. don't wanna compile.

code:

/* script foile for dis yer bluecog skin
- danbee
http://www.danbee.co.uk
*/

#define ROTATION_LAYER_VAR volumeRotation
#include "../../../lib/rotationlayer.m"


// init
_volumeRotationInit(layout, player.volume.mark);

/* _volumeRotationRotateDegree(290); */




lucas, could you give me some pointers as to what's wrong with this as it stands? ie, does the _volumeRotationInit need to be within a function of some sort?

from examining the rotationlayer.m file it looks like the Init function requires three parameters, but you only put two. what do each of the parameters refer too? containername = player perhaps?

cheers!

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2001, 07:34   #10
Naamloos
Forum King
 
Naamloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: irc.tehflap.org/*******
Posts: 3,085
Doesnt the "layout" needs to be normal ? (the layout in yer XML file)
Naamloos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2001, 14:27   #11
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
ok, current script reads...

code:

/* script foile for dis yer bluecog skin
- danbee
http://www.danbee.co.uk
*/

#define ROTATION_LAYER_VAR volumeMark
#include "../../../lib/rotationlayer.m"


System.onScriptLoaded() {
_volumeMarkInit("player", "normal", "volumemark"));
}

/* _volumeMarkRotateDegree(getVolume() * 2.9); */




still won't compile, i get the message:

code:

MC - Maki Compiler v1.1.0.a9
(c)2001, Nullsoft Inc.

Preprocessing...
OK: 32 macro expansions, 2264 bytes, 78 lines, 2 files
syntax error at ../../../lib/rotationlayer.m:13 [28] (near 'R')
Exited with code 4



just not sure what i'm doing wrong

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th November 2001, 14:55   #12
Lucas
Guru Meditation (Alumni)
 
Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 191
First of all, never ever forget to include std.mi in any script you make. And I noticed that you sent 3 parameters to the init and it requires 2. Plus, there was an extra and unwanted ")" at the end of the function call. The following should compile:

- - - - cut here - - - -

#include "../../../lib/std.mi"

#define ROTATION_LAYER_VAR volumeMark
#include "../../../lib/rotationlayer.m"

System.onScriptLoaded() {
Layout mainnormal = getContainer("Main").getLayout("Normal");

_volumeMarkInit(mainnormal, "volumemark");
}

- - - - cut here - - - -

Cheers,
-L
Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2001, 18:03   #13
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
ok, it compiles now (although for some reason copying and pasting didn't work, i had to re-type it ). but i get the error 'Assertion Failed - Expression: sv.type == SCRIPT_STRING
File: C:\projects\studio\Studio\Script\vcpu.cpp
Line: 1251'

here's the code:

code:

#include "..\..\..\lib\std.mi"

#define ROTATION_LAYER_VAR volumeMark
#include "..\..\..\lib\rotationlayer.m"

System.onScriptLoaded() {
Layout mainnormal = getContainer("Main").getLayout("Normal");
_volumeMarkInit(mainnormal, "volumemark");
}


:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th November 2001, 11:28   #14
Lucas
Guru Meditation (Alumni)
 
Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 191
Be sure that "volumemark" is defined in XML as the layer ID of the layer you want to rotate.

If it still doesn't work you could try to delete studio.xnf, it even made my mom look prettier.

-L
Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2001, 12:04   #15
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
i already tried deleting studio.xnf. as for the volumemark thing, i'm pretty certain it's defined in player-normal.xml although i'll check tonite when i get home (as i'm at work right now).

thanks again for taking time to help me out, if there's anything you think i might be able to help you with, let me know.

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2001, 17:30   #16
Lucas
Guru Meditation (Alumni)
 
Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally posted by danbee
i already tried deleting studio.xnf. as for the volumemark thing, i'm pretty certain it's defined in player-normal.xml although i'll check tonite when i get home (as i'm at work right now).
I took the skin linked on your website and i made some quick'n'dirty rotation volume script for it with some pngs of my own, can I e-mail the skin to you?


Quote:
thanks again for taking time to help me out, if there's anything you think i might be able to help you with, let me know.
I need a job, badly

Cheers,
-L
Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2001, 17:46   #17
Naamloos
Forum King
 
Naamloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: irc.tehflap.org/*******
Posts: 3,085
Quote:
Originally posted by Lucas

I took the skin linked on your website and i made some quick'n'dirty rotation volume script for it with some pngs of my own, can I e-mail the skin to you?



I need a job, badly

Cheers,
-L
Check the Job at the winamp.com page
Naamloos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2001, 21:41   #18
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
Quote:
Originally posted by Lucas

I took the skin linked on your website and i made some quick'n'dirty rotation volume script for it with some pngs of my own, can I e-mail the skin to you?

I need a job, badly

Cheers,
-L
lucas man you're the best!

feel free to email it to me.

i presume you can get my email address? otherwise, let me know what you want me to do.

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2001, 00:11   #19
Lucas
Guru Meditation (Alumni)
 
Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 191
Okay, here's a zip with the updated files. You should enlarge the png files tho. Mine aren't large enough, that's why you'll notice that the rotation isn't perfect.

Note: This patch should be applied on the skin linked on your webpage.

Anyway, if something's missing let me know. Don't forget to backup your files before applying this patch.

-L
Attached Files
File Type: zip update.zip (8.9 KB, 102 views)
Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2001, 00:13   #20
Lucas
Guru Meditation (Alumni)
 
Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally posted by Naamloos


Check the Job at the winamp.com page
Trust me, I know the status of Nullsoft right now and AOL won't allow 'em to hire someone in the near futur.

-L
Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2001, 11:25   #21
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
ok, your precompiled script worked fine, i changed all the bitmaps, got the volume control working well. except that it went 365 degrees round when it only needs to travel 290 degrees. so i changed the script, recompiled it and guess what. it didn't work?!?!?!

is this a problem with my mc.exe? do i need to get an update or something? i even tried changing the script back exactly how it was (re-extracted it from the zip) and it *still* wouldn't work after compiling.

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2001, 12:23   #22
Naamloos
Forum King
 
Naamloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: irc.tehflap.org/*******
Posts: 3,085
Quote:
Originally posted by Lucas

Trust me, I know the status of Nullsoft right now and AOL won't allow 'em to hire someone in the near futur.

-L
Aww that sucks
Naamloos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2001, 14:06   #23
Lucas
Guru Meditation (Alumni)
 
Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally posted by danbee
so i changed the script, recompiled it and guess what. it didn't work?!?!?!

is this a problem with my mc.exe? do i need to get an update or something? i even tried changing the script back exactly how it was (re-extracted it from the zip) and it *still* wouldn't work after compiling.
oh shit, i'm using my own mc.exe, hmm. what's the error it's giving you?

-L
Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2001, 15:43   #24
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
the same one as i was getting before

'Assertion Failed - Expression: sv.type == SCRIPT_STRING
File: C:\projects\studio\Studio\Script\vcpu.cpp
Line: 1251' with 'OK' and 'Cancel'

so it's not me being thick then?

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2001, 18:16   #25
Naamloos
Forum King
 
Naamloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: irc.tehflap.org/*******
Posts: 3,085
Quote:
Originally posted by Lucas

oh shit, i'm using my own mc.exe, hmm. what's the error it's giving you?

-L
You have an other version? GIMME GIMME GIMME (*greedy mode*)
Naamloos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th November 2001, 13:33   #26
Lucas
Guru Meditation (Alumni)
 
Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally posted by danbee
the same one as i was getting before

'Assertion Failed - Expression: sv.type == SCRIPT_STRING
File: C:\projects\studio\Studio\Script\vcpu.cpp
Line: 1251' with 'OK' and 'Cancel'

so it's not me being thick then?
Oh great. Let me try to tweak it to make it work with beta 1, but I can't promise. More on that later.

-L
Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2001, 19:35   #27
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
sorry, haven't been able to check this thread for a while, i've been moving.

so, what's the story?

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2001, 15:32   #28
Lucas
Guru Meditation (Alumni)
 
Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally posted by danbee
sorry, haven't been able to check this thread for a while, i've been moving.

so, what's the story?
Sadly, you'll have to wait for beta 2, I really don't have time to look at it.

-L
Lucas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2001, 08:19   #29
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
ok, well could you at least recompile that script for me but make the volume knob only travel 290 degrees? that would be grand.

- danbee

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2001, 22:08   #30
QHOBBES
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: I H8 Mods
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to QHOBBES Send a message via Yahoo to QHOBBES
that patch works... kind of. could you release a patched version of
the skin. mines all messed up and the wheel is just the bitmap thing.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bluecog.jpg (17.3 KB, 121 views)
QHOBBES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st November 2001, 08:12   #31
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
i want to release an update soon. the volume knob works right now but it travels too far round.

lucas, i know you're busy, but could you just recompile that script for me so the volume knob only travels 290 degrees? should only be a quick job. thanks in advance.

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump