Old 30th November 2001, 11:58   #1
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
desktopalpha on win98

don't worry this isn't a thread about getting it to work on win98, i know that's impossible.

i actually have a suggestion (which brennan and co have probly already thought of) about how to handle this better on win98.

would it be possible to specify a tolerance (in the layout tag perhaps?) setting for the transparency on win98? ie, if you set it at 50%, all pixels more that 50% opaque draw as 100% opaque and all pixels less than 50% opaque appear transparent.

it looks to me like winamp3 only renders pixels when they're 100% opaque right now and this causes the edges of antialiased skins (particularly mine and kinwashi's probe) to look a bit crap.

if i didn't explain this very well then i apologise. feel free to ask questions and i'll try and explain it better. hopefully the dev team will understand what i'm harping on about!

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2001, 12:26   #2
Naamloos
Forum King
 
Naamloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: irc.tehflap.org/*******
Posts: 3,085
I think you keep that edges if its 50%, I think (and it will be i guess) that an option (in the config or else)will be for using win98 or something and then using a other bg of the skin with no anti alias...
Naamloos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2001, 16:38   #3
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
huh?

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2001, 17:32   #4
Naamloos
Forum King
 
Naamloos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: irc.tehflap.org/*******
Posts: 3,085
[edit]/me reads again.. aww dumb me! yeah this sounds like a good idea, but I think it should be 99% so you wont get weird backgrounds [/edit]
Naamloos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th December 2001, 09:14   #5
mc^^^^
Forum King
 
mc^^^^'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Perth, Australia MSN: mcbriar@ii.net Posts: All your posts are belong to me!!!!
Posts: 2,608
i remember when i had 98 i got some proggy (cant remember which) but it made menus opaque to whatever you specified (97%, 43%, etc) and it did, but when the background changed under the menu it would go all wierd, eg you were on a loading webpage and right-clicked.

mc^^^^ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th December 2001, 12:17   #6
danbee
Senior Member
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Devon, UK
Posts: 320
Send a message via ICQ to danbee Send a message via AIM to danbee Send a message via Yahoo to danbee
Quote:
Originally posted by Naamloos
[edit]/me reads again.. aww dumb me! yeah this sounds like a good idea, but I think it should be 99% so you wont get weird backgrounds [/edit]
i'd want to be able to tailor it for the skin i was working on, perhaps by putting another attribute in the layout tag. like this...

code:
<layout id="normal" background="player.main.bg" desktopalpha="1" alphatolerance="50%">


so that, if a pixel is below that tolerance it's not rendered, and when it's above that tolorance, it is rendered.

:: danbee :: www.danbee.co.uk ::

"old programmers never die. they just terminate and stay resident."
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Skinning and Design > Modern Skins

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump