Old 20th May 2009, 21:40   #1
jon_joy_1999
Major Dude
 
jon_joy_1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The box under the stairs in the corner of the basement of the house half a block down the street from Jerry's bait Shop. You know the place.
Posts: 669
Send a message via Yahoo to jon_joy_1999
something's wrong with getspec() I think

I'm not all that smart when it comes to programming or debugging, so I'm not sure if it's my preset that is wrong, or if it's a bug in AVS. before the latest version (5.5.5.2460) it was working fine, even on 5.5.5.2353 it was working. what the preset is supposed to do is take the getspec data and make sort of like VU meters. now it doesn't do that, and I don't know what is wrong. I'm posting it here because perhaps someone can help me figure out what's wrong. I have several presets based on this concept and they all are suffering from this problem.
Attached Files
File Type: zip vu meter.zip (337 Bytes, 281 views)

jon_joy_1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2009, 22:37   #2
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,363
check your avs version, the most current (2.82) is known to be full of bugs
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2009, 00:45   #3
jon_joy_1999
Major Dude
 
jon_joy_1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The box under the stairs in the corner of the basement of the house half a block down the street from Jerry's bait Shop. You know the place.
Posts: 669
Send a message via Yahoo to jon_joy_1999
I have 2.82 on 5.5.5.2353 and it doesn't do what is happening in .2460. posting in 5552 bug report thread now.

jon_joy_1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd May 2009, 16:12   #4
Mr_Nudge
Major Dude
 
Mr_Nudge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 655
i have a backup of 2.7 something that i install every time a new version of winamp comes out. haven't had a problem since.

Life's a game, break the rules
Click here
Mr_Nudge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2009, 01:18   #5
jon_joy_1999
Major Dude
 
jon_joy_1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The box under the stairs in the corner of the basement of the house half a block down the street from Jerry's bait Shop. You know the place.
Posts: 669
Send a message via Yahoo to jon_joy_1999
it's gotta be something(s) in .2460 since that is what changed. I can't understand why an older version of AVS would work properly with a broken version of Winamp, although I can imagine it happening.

jon_joy_1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st June 2009, 20:20   #6
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=303684 (which i shouldn't have needed to post... again but who bothers to read the known bug report threads nowadays...)

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2009, 00:20   #7
jon_joy_1999
Major Dude
 
jon_joy_1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: The box under the stairs in the corner of the basement of the house half a block down the street from Jerry's bait Shop. You know the place.
Posts: 669
Send a message via Yahoo to jon_joy_1999
aww, poor DrO. it's ok, we still love you. to be honest, I get a little confused with all the bug reporting locations, I'm not sure where to post and I don't want to crosspost, so I choose one location and pray for the best


Last edited by jon_joy_1999; 4th June 2009 at 00:55.
jon_joy_1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS > AVS Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump