Old 15th October 2001, 19:39   #1
mcavoy76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 6
On-Demand Sample Rate

Is there anyway to set the stream sample rate on the fly, through DNAS?

I am on-demand streaming some high quality mp3's, and it's killing my bandwidth. I don't know if I need to find a program to lower the sample rates manually, or if there's a way to do it on the fly with shoutcast.

Sorry if this is a FAQ topic, I've been searching for about 20 minutes, and haven't found the topic previously.

Thanks for your help,
Chris McAvoy
mcavoy76@hotmail.com
mcavoy76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2001, 20:29   #2
QuantumMonkey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21
Not entirely sure what you're wanting... if you want your broadcast audio to use less bandwidth then just change the rate in the DSP by going Encoder -> Encoder Settings. You don't have to touch your files - the DSP downsamples them accordingly.

If this isn't what you're talking about, could you give some more detail please?
QuantumMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2001, 20:36   #3
mcavoy76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 6
More Info

I've had not problems setting the rate of the live stream, but I don't know if there's a way to set the rate of the on-demand content.

For instance, if I have file1.mp3, originally sampled at 64kbs, and I drop it into my /content/ directory, it will stream (on-demand) at 64kbs.

I'd like to be able to set a stream rate of 32kbs for all on demand (i.e. in my /content/ directory) programs. Is there a way to do this? Or do I need to change the sample rate of the files?

Thanks again,
Chris
mcavoy76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2001, 21:15   #4
Tom
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 4,491
You need to manually re-encode the files at the desired bitrate and samplerate. The DNAS only serves, all the encoding is done by the DSP, therefore the DNAS cannot re-encode the on-demand content for you.

Tom

Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2001, 21:27   #5
mcavoy76
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 6
Thanks

Can you recommend a good program to re-encode? Preferably Windows based.

Thanks,
Chris
mcavoy76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2001, 21:50   #6
QuantumMonkey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21
CDex

http://cdex.n3.net

Works every time for me... free too!
QuantumMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Shoutcast > Shoutcast Discussions

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump