Old 29th August 2013, 22:57   #1
Mr. Python
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
Can't see mobile devices.

I have some problems getting sync working.

Under devices, I wont see my android, and if I click discover, nothing happens.

The phone is a Nexus 4, running Android 4.3.
The computer is a Dell Latitude E6400, was running Windows 8.1 prerelease, but as that did not work, I did a reinstall, and am now on Windows 7 pro, and same thing happens.
I have turned the firewall off, both when I ran 8.1 and 7.
Running Winamp 5.65.

Does anyone have a clue, what might be wrong, or how I can troubleshoot?
Mr. Python is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2013, 16:10   #2
Mr. Python
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
As a test I installed XP on a old Dell Latitude D620. Worked perfectly on that computer, so the problem must be on my computer.

Are there any hardware requirements for the PC, when connecting with a android device?
Are there any settings that should be configured in some special way, when it's Windows 7?
Mr. Python is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2013, 22:05   #3
Mr. Python
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4
I have now tried connecting with a USB cable, and if I do that, the device appears, and I can attach it, but when I unplug, it's gone again.

... does anyone have a clue,... and perhaps some advice ?
Mr. Python is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th August 2013, 22:09   #4
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,873
the wifi sync mode is flaky and the only reliable way is to do it via a hard-connection. it's because of the protocol being used and is all i can say on the matter (as i have to disable most of VMWare to get my Nexus 4 to work as parts of VMWare's networking eats the messages the wifi sync uses). other than ensuring there's nothing like VPN software or anything that hooks into the network stack of the OS, etc then you're probably going to get hit and miss results. as such we know about it, but it's not a simple fix sadly.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd September 2013, 16:46   #5
catsknit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
I am having the same problem. I'm running Windows 7, Winamp 5.65. Last week it recognized my Samsung SIII mini and synced over wifi. In the past it has also seen my android tablet. Yesterday and today it doesn't see either one and hitting Discover does nothing.
If it's that flaky, probably best not to list it as a feature.
catsknit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2013, 21:48   #6
frezzze
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
I have the same problem. It's very frustrating, actually. So usefull function and so broken. Connected for the first time, uploaded smth, then i had to reboot my phone and thats all, it cant be discovered. Le Fu~
frezzze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2013, 22:09   #7
TarsolyGer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
My problem is not with wi-fi sync, it works perfectly.
I could transfer a playlist (and the music files too) to my phone (Sony Xperia Sola, Android 4.0.4), and after disconnecting the USB cable, I could not set up the connection again via USB. I preferred the USB connection becouse in wi-fi sync I can only transfer to the built-in drive of the phone, not to the MicroSD card.
After this one, the same issue happened on my Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 (GT-N8000), android version 4.0.4

Has anyone have experienced / solved this issue before?
TarsolyGer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2013, 22:36   #8
frezzze
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Argh. Beta versions dont solve the problem. Winamp still blind. No wired connection, no wi-fi :C I dont understand, why it work at first time and stop working after. TarsolyGer, it seems that we have same sad. Sob-sob.
frezzze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2013, 02:43   #9
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
as dro says it lies in protocols
aslo some routers are notorious for acting like vpns and dropping the signal packets between the phone and the computer

you can check for wireless isolation on your router
and check your firewall connections on your computer (all current systems have one built in or installed)

as it is said the thing is hit or miss
some days when my computer boots it wont see any phone i have
other days it sees 1 phone
rarely it will see all phones i have

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2013, 10:21   #10
frezzze
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
Ya, but it wont see my phone via USB to, thats the problem.
frezzze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2013, 15:47   #11
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
check on your phone to see how its connecting via usb
some phones have multiple connections
1 act as installer
2 mtp mode
3 act as camera (PTP)
4 msc mode (not all phones)

if you phone is using mtp or msc mode
make sure winamp has not blacklisted it
for msc mode (acting like a usb flash drive)
go to "options/preferences\portables\usb devices\find your drive letter\
see if either connect or un blacklist is available
(also can be done through the android plugin)

mtp winamp should see automatically
may take a little while to recognize

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2013, 16:05   #12
frezzze
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
robdog2004 you mean this window?



But my phone connected as... I dunno, without a letter



And yes, it connected as MTP.
frezzze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2013, 16:44   #13
robdog2004
Major Dude
 
robdog2004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to robdog2004 Send a message via Yahoo to robdog2004
since mtp relies on the ns playforsure plugin (pmp_p4s.dll) you will need to rerun the setup and enable that plugin for install

since the plugins you have installed are meant for drives with a letter not as a device name

thanks rob
(c)rob 2013 (picture & SN)

(please note) As users we can't give others help unless we get full details of the problem that you are having
robdog2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2013, 17:28   #14
frezzze
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 5
robdog2004yeah, nice, tnx for the help. At least this function is fine.
frezzze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump