Old 22nd December 2002, 14:19   #361
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
Quote:
Originally posted by X-Fixer
[B]RIV@NVX, I can't fix this before, at least, you'll tell me if this happens on startup, exit, loading, playing, using preferences or when? I have some ideas, but they will give a [b]stable effect - not random drops.
I think it happens on startup. Not on exit definitly. It is not dependant to using preferences. It doesn't happen during playback, maybe on start of playback (and lasts until I change it and restart playback).

So generally - it is either Winamp startup or playback startup (i think I saw both cases). More?
And please, can you update your in_mod_bu.zip with that ideas so you don't break anything with fixing this problem.

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2002, 11:51   #362
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
It happens on startup definitly, it doesn't have anything with starting playback. Can it be Winamp's fault and not yours.
Reproduced with MODs, ITs, S3Ms.

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2003, 12:04   #363
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
It seems that Dec 15 build fixed it - I don't know how, but it did

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2003, 12:10   #364
B3d30x
Senior Member
 
B3d30x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Void - perfection itself
Posts: 119
I think this could be called 'stable'.
Can't wait to see this in foobar2000...
Just don't use hacks this time, okay?
Maybe you'll get unbanned or something.
B3d30x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2003, 12:49   #365
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
"hacks". LOL. don't start this again. mikmod itself is half a hack, FYI.
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2003, 13:41   #366
B3d30x
Senior Member
 
B3d30x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Void - perfection itself
Posts: 119
It was very funny to read yours
and Peter conversation in HA.
But I'm against exploiting undocumented functionality
in any program, because it breaks compatibility.

I don't know why Peter gave you this ban
and why I'm banned from foobar's IRC channel...
Hell, he was like that all the way along.
Probably because of doing Winamp tech support.
B3d30x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2003, 14:49   #367
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally posted by B3d30x
But I'm against exploiting undocumented functionality
in any program, because it breaks compatibility.
don't start this I've said

Quote:
Originally posted by B3d30x
Hell, he was like that all the way along.
Probably because of doing Winamp tech support.
or because of coding tab control.
(for mikamp sources:
// Note to self: Despite their inhernet use in interfaces, coding tab controls
// apparently REALLY sucks, and it should never ever be done again by myself
// or anyone else whom I respect as a sane individual and I would like to have
// remain that way. As for me, it is too late. Bruhahahaha!K!J!lkjgkljASBfkJBdglkn.
)
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2003, 22:24   #368
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
Quote:
Originally posted by X-Fixer
"hacks". LOL. don't start this again. mikmod itself is half a hack, FYI.
LOL, it is probably because mods are mostly broken... but still it works good
And, just to say, I am banned from fb2k channel too

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2003, 08:58   #369
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
btw, Bedeox, do your ears hear FIR interpolation in foo_mod? I've got a strong impression (from cpu usage and file size/contents, at least) that there's no FIR indeed.
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2003, 09:24   #370
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
It indeed seems to register very low CPU usage. Try loading a module that induces a heavy strain. Perhaps nb_seaso.it, but there are probably others. I can reproduce with a different module decoder, it stays at zero unless some serious work is going on. Currently using my own foo_mod, based on libmodplug, yet to have a configuration page because designing a GUI is new to me, just as new as coding classes is/was. It also lacks compressed module support, not sure yet how Peter hooks in the archive reader for the extra extensions from inside the plug-in, so for now I just rename to .RAR and let the player take care of it.

Hmm, yikes, player seems to be using a lot of memory, perhaps I should optimize this crap... Or maybe it doesn't need it...

Anyway, I leave this messy response for you to gather insight or smth, perhaps into what garbage I post when it's time for me to rest. Adieu.
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2003, 14:00   #371
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
update: I've found FIR table in foo_mod. but now I know that it's linear interpolation that isn't actually used - FIR is used instead (that's why I haven't found any difference ). and cpu usage turns out to be nearly the same as in Winamp (just need to do testing on same modules ).
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2003, 15:08   #372
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
can you implement one thing that foo_mod has - editing titles?

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2003, 19:41   #373
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
Does it actually save titles to the file, or just the database?
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2003, 00:37   #374
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
I'm quite sure it does not, since mikmod specs does not allow this.
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2003, 02:22   #375
JFD62780
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 26
Send a message via ICQ to JFD62780 Send a message via AIM to JFD62780 Send a message via Yahoo to JFD62780
to Kode54: CPU usage test

SO, you mentioned low CPU usage? I got a song for you to test. Just discovered this song that unleashes a record 179 virtual channels!

ace-unrel.it (from the MOD Archive)

I hope to whomever downloads this song that their CPU's survive the usage.

Until next post...
JFD62780 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2003, 17:37   #376
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
got 181 channels in winamp once. sparsely used imho. used up to 33% of cpu. found a funny bug in modplug player - it can't display that more than 99 channels are in use (seems to play more, though; takes up to 16% of cpu)

thanks for the tune, now I have something to test optimizations on my athlonXP. also, you can hard-limit number of channels, if you're afraid for your cpu
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2003, 13:38   #377
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
I have more info on cutoff reset problem - it occurs if I run winamp and close it and if I played MP3 files in one winamp session (important - non-modules). Still can't reproduce this way, but sometimes after few run play non-mikmod close it happens.
X-Fixer, what could it be?

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2003, 18:21   #378
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
just some unlucky coincidence
try today's build.
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2003, 18:45   #379
RIV@NVX
Senior Member
 
RIV@NVX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rijeka, Croatia
Posts: 396
Send a message via ICQ to RIV@NVX Send a message via AIM to RIV@NVX Send a message via Yahoo to RIV@NVX
OK, I will report if anything happens...

DriverHeaven Moderator
kX Product Quality Tester
RIV@NVX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2003, 22:18   #380
JFD62780
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 26
Send a message via ICQ to JFD62780 Send a message via AIM to JFD62780 Send a message via Yahoo to JFD62780
Quote:
Originally posted by X-Fixer
thanks for the tune, now I have something to test optimizations on my athlonXP. also, you can hard-limit number of channels, if you're afraid for your cpu
Aww, it was nothing! All's it took was a certain guy that ran a certain radio show to complain about the music skipping in places (he was playing the original file), mistakenly blaming the filters for the CPU usage (this plugin doesn't currently do filters, so I asked him for the tune and played it myself counting the channels via the info window.) When I heard it I was like 179? Whoa!

So in short, thanks for letting me provide y'all with a benchmark.

Until next post...
JFD62780 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th January 2003, 22:28   #381
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
Just FYI, foo_mod is currently hard-configured to max at 128 virtual channels.
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th February 2003, 19:27   #382
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
beta29 is finally out. phew!
code:

- mixer
- some unused stuff removed
- dynamic FIR table generation
- player
- fixed arpeggio
- fixed pattern loop effect (to work like in MPT, damn)
- FT2 pattern loop bug emulation
- fixed pattern break
- corrected sample offset effect
- optimized loops detection (memory usage)
- one more seeking bug fixed
- some minor changes
- S3M/IT
- "ignore eof" option in prefs (was always on before)
- S3M
- fixed yet another rare mess-up
- fixed default panning
- proper handling of muted channels
- removed unused channels detection (for much faster loading)
- changed interpolation config
- interpolation options in url-parameters
- option to play muted channels
- internal changes inspired by peter
- displaying of samples' filenames



most bugs where found when listening to "don't listen in Winamp" tunes from modarchive (for example, Sippi-22 and roadblast). (mikamp is now the only player I know (except FT2, of course) that plays roadblast correctly ).
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2003, 21:31   #383
bigboo
Member
 
bigboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 54
Hi
I don't know if somebody still read this thread but I have something that may be interesting.
I found a site describing many bugs in winamp module plug-in. I don't know what version was tested but some bugs may still exist.

http://koti.mbnet.fi/~tympanic/bugs.htm



1. WinAmp doesn't understand volume command 00 in IT format at all. It interprets is as a blank volume command. Instead of 00 use 01 or ^^^ (press §) command.

2. WinAmp doesn't understand "jump to order" (Bxx) command at all. It just starts to play the song from the start. WinAmp also loads the mod to the buffer every time it starts playing it. This causes a small delay, which might be a bit annoying in loop songs.

3. WinAmp doesn't understand tremor command (Ixx) properly.

4. If you use "slide to note"-command (Gxx) and you put it to the first note to be slided, WinAmp doesn't make any slide at all. It just plays the first note. To prevent this, don't put Gxx to the first note of the slide session at all.

5. WinAmp doesn't play some mods (especially XM's) at all.

6. WinAmp plays sometimes only the first minute properly.

7. In some cases WinAmp takes kind of "sprints".

8. In some mods in any format made with ModPlug tracker, WinAmp might say that the playtime is hundereds of minutes but it plays only first ½ minutes or it doesn't play it at all. When the same file was saved to some other format the problem disappeard in some cases.

9. WinAmp sometimes slows down or jumps to the end of the pattern if it's quiet.

10. WinAmp plays also the "bonus parts", patterns which have one or more empty rows distance to the previous pattern in the playing order list.

11. If you use Gxx-command and volume envelopes in IT-format, WinAmp doesn't restart the volume envelope, when you use the Gxx-command, but Impulse Tracker does.

12. WinAmp doesn't understand short commands (Gx, Fx Ex...) in the volume-column at all.

13. If you use arpeggio in IT-format, remember to put the value on EVERY row, because WinAmp plays only arpeggios with the value included. This is weird, because there no such problem with other effects.

14. WinAmp doesn't understand IT-filter effects .

15. WinAmp doesn't understand all kinds of reversed patterns (pattern plays from bottom to the top).

16. WinAmp stops playing if you use break to row-command (Cxx) with a value that doesn't even exist.
bigboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th April 2003, 22:20   #384
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,813
At a guess, that page is about 2 years old.
Winamp's module plugin has come a LONG way since then.
I doubt if you can reproduce ANY of those old bugs any more.
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2003, 06:12   #385
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
bigboo: why have not you tried to reproduce any of these bugs before posting the whole shitty page? FYI, I've found this page several months ago and even contacted with it's author (nothing interesting). the only "bug" left, is the lack of resonant-filters support. (and the fact that I don't know how to create a "reverse pattern")

Egg: hi
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2003, 11:58   #386
bigboo
Member
 
bigboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 54
ok no problem I'm sorry it was just to be sure!
and I didn't tried to reproduce these bugs because I don't know what they mean that's all

and now a real bug (I think):

I found a module (with a funny name) not playing right at all in in_mod (compared to modplug), the problem is easy to hear.

ftp://ftp.scene.org/pub/parties/2002...y_trayrace.zip

hey hey it's not a joke
bigboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2003, 13:13   #387
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
fixed. what a lame bug this was! someone (Air?) was really drunk...

I've never understood why people say "don't play in winamp", instead of reporting bugs? takes 1 minute to report and 1 minute to fix. seems that I still need someone (who can use tracker) to check that all effects are played correctly.

bigboo: it would be cool, if you'll learn to use a tracker (MPT is one of the easiest). your reports will become much more informative
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2003, 13:29   #388
bigboo
Member
 
bigboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 54
ok I'll try mpt when I have some time just to see how it works! ;-)
and thanks for this quick fix
bigboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2003, 14:00   #389
bigboo
Member
 
bigboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 54
ok I just tried MPT and I think I found another problem with this song "don't play in

winamp"

for channel 5 & 6 there is a panning problem: in modplug the sound move from right to left

but in winamp it seems to stay in center
MPT says they use effect Yxx: Panbrello speed=1 depth=15

again it's easy to hear with headphones
bigboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2003, 05:57   #390
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
indeed. i've fixed IT loader, but player code was broken too.
fixed.
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2003, 20:15   #391
bigboo
Member
 
bigboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 54
Hi X-Fixer I just wanted to know if you had time to fix the little problems I found in in_mod.
I don't want to hurry you it just to see if I can download an updated version or not.

I put my original message here so maybe other people interested in that (maybe nobody lol) can see it on the forum:



1. I found a site with many mods in old exotic format (669 stm ult etc...) with good
description about winamp compatibility:

http://hc.hanszen.rice.edu/~noahd/oldweb/index.html
then click on music on the left

I have not tested all mods but this one:
http://hc.hanszen.rice.edu/~noahd/ol...usic/alive.zip
is played bad in winamp (not play at all in modplug) but it must be just broken



2. another problem in an IT module
http://www.cyps.net/akolade/music.html
http://www.cyps.net/akolade/songs/shorstar.zip

time: 00:23 the slide goes to high compared to modplug
end of the seventh pattern (number38) channel 15 & 16 problem with Kxx effect



3. http://mono211.com/st-00/aml_h0l.html
ftp://mirror.support.nl/pub/mono/st-...LSIVE_CHIP.zip

the first channel is not played right at all (compared to modplug)
just listen to the first seconds it's very easy to hear
maybe a problem wit h 0xx arpeggio effect?
bigboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2003, 22:46   #392
JFD62780
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 26
Send a message via ICQ to JFD62780 Send a message via AIM to JFD62780 Send a message via Yahoo to JFD62780
Quote:
Originally posted by bigboo
I found a site with many mods in old exotic format (669 stm ult etc...) with good
description about winamp compatibility:

http://hc.hanszen.rice.edu/~noahd/oldweb/index.html
then click on music on the left...
First off, BigBoo; thanks for expanding my MOD collection by a couple songs!

Secondly; found another problematic song; I wanted to test out DOPE.MOD, perhaps the biggest .MOD I've ever seen, not only in terms of size, but channels as well. The song crashed the default Winamp 2.91 MOD plugin upon pressing play. Perhaps there's a way of stabilizing the FastTracker 1 portion of the decoder, so it can accept large songs, close to a megabyte?

Until next post...
JFD62780 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2003, 08:37   #393
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
bigboo: when updated version will be out, I'll inform you, don't worry

JFD62780: first, I can't reproduce the crash with the current version (beta29b on winamp 2.81). download 29b and try it again. if it crashes, please, try to isolate the reason of it (e.g. downgrade to 2.81). it's hardly related to file size. this was a DOS problem, no longer present here. I've played modules almost 8MB in size.

second, if you're the author of that page, could you please update it. now STMs/S3Ms do not crash, 669s are (hopefully) played right and FAR is played also (somehow).

and about your alive.mod. the original mod was made in soundtracker (I have it and it plays fine), but someone converted it to startrekker 8-channels format. this was not supported up to now. (I have just added support for such modules) but the conversion was lame, so the module is actually 4-channels. if you care (or to check that I'm right) you can patch the module (in hex editor) - find 'FLT8' and change it to 'FLT4', thus making it 4-channel format. it will play fine then.
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2003, 22:27   #394
JFD62780
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Tampa, FL, USA
Posts: 26
Send a message via ICQ to JFD62780 Send a message via AIM to JFD62780 Send a message via Yahoo to JFD62780
I now see my mistake. I relied too heavily on DirectSound for output... Not only that, but I accidentally saved the archive with the Beta 29a plugin to the wrong folder on my HDD!

Also, I was referring to the .MOD format alone, not the S3M, XM or IT format, which can very well be over a meg in some, perhaps most, cases.

Thirdly, I'm not the author of that page. However, by saying "my MOD collection" I might have confused you into thinking otherwise... By that, I meant my personal collection, i.e. not stored on the Internet. You see, I don't have a homepage yet.

With that in mind, may I go back to listening to my custom playlist!

P.S.: The 669's might be a tinge offkey on some channels, but the only side effect I hear is a cool flange effect!

Until next post...
JFD62780 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2003, 12:11   #395
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
so, the reason it crashed was directsound output? are you sure? what is your OS? could you try to replace out_ds from 2.91 with out_ds from 2.81 and see if it still crashes.

about MOD sizes. most of module size is usually taken by samples (in case of dope.mod 443KB). the code that loads samples is the same for all formats. and the code that parses ProTracker patterns is so simple, that it can hardly cause any problems.

about 669. that's very strange. could you give an example?
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2003, 20:56   #396
Halle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
Hi again

I read about beta29b and of course I installed it at one. Now everything runs smooth, thanks

Regards,
Halle

Quote:
Hi,

I experienced the same problem with crashing WinAmp when playing modules through directsound output. However, I think the problem is not the ds_out plugin, as it works perfectly when playing mp3s and other files, and when I replace beta29 with beta28 of in_mod.dll, playing throug ds_out works fine again.
I posted more at http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....hreadid=131494
Halle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2003, 21:34   #397
Halle
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 6
-crap-
Halle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2003, 13:16   #398
NightShade737
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to NightShade737 Send a message via AIM to NightShade737 Send a message via Yahoo to NightShade737
Are you even intending on supporting .MED as the currnt one is crap and doesnt work with shoutcast :/

Cheers,
NS
NightShade737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2003, 16:34   #399
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
eh?

MEDs are not supported for now and I don't know if I'll ever get to it. and anyway, there is no streaming support for any modules at all.
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2003, 18:55   #400
NightShade737
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Worcester, UK
Posts: 11
Send a message via ICQ to NightShade737 Send a message via AIM to NightShade737 Send a message via Yahoo to NightShade737
These MODs are playing just fine over shotcast (see sig to listen) using "Winamp" as the input, but I can only hear the MED files if I use "Soundcard" as the input, but then the sound isnt as good and there are other side effects. No idea why MED files dont work with "WinAMP" set as the output.

NS
NightShade737 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Wishlist

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump