Old 16th October 2002, 18:51   #201
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
I ment: do you need dos support in winxp?
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2002, 14:56   #202
Bedeox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hydrogenaudio.org
Posts: 114
It would be useful. Can this dos support read NTFS partitions?
Bedeox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2002, 05:12   #203
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
I'm writting a native SB support for win2k's dos box (not a dos emulation). so it does not have problems with partitions or something. but it's in very alpha stage now.
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2002, 15:24   #204
Bedeox
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Hydrogenaudio.org
Posts: 114
If it'll work in XP then count me in!
I'm VERY interested.
Bedeox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2002, 01:29   #205
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
Using your latest and greatest.

Jump commands in the mod:// URL seem to disable looping completely. Song stops when it hits a jump command in the song itself.
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2002, 05:54   #206
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
define "seem to disable looping completely". what loops count do you use? does specifying loops count in URL works? does conditional/unconditional looping works? is correct time predicted (or it equals to the time played)?
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2002, 06:14   #207
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
I use a loop count of -1. (Infinite, a feature I coded into the plug-in myself. Maybe you could make something better of the config input field, which I had to make into a text field instead of numeric because it wouldn't accept the minus sign.)

Time prediction should not be used at all in this case.

Unconditional looping is not necessary since the module has jump commands, since it contains multiple songs. Adding the setting to the URL made no difference.

Setting the loop count might have an effect if I set it to something above zero, since the problem appears to be mishandling of that crappy infinite case I coded in there.

Setting continue after loop seemed to make it jump to the order immediately after the one I specified in the URL when it hit the end of the sub-song.

I will supply you an URL to the module in a PM.
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2002, 14:28   #208
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
sorry to say, but I've found that infinite loops are totally not functioning with or without jumps or any of my stuff at all (just checked with beta7, which does not contain any of my hacks).

since you seem to be the only user interested in it, I ask you: I want to reimplement it, but with the following changes: 1) no time prediction 2) no seeking 3) less exact info in info_box (2 and 3 are caused by 1). I think they are useless in "forever" mode, and this will speed up loading.
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2002, 15:10   #209
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
See also: Seek by order, whereby:

1) You could also simply show time for one pass, and jump back when the loop repeats. In seek by orders mode, length is the number of orders in the list.

2) Again, assume one iteration for prediction and support seeking within the available order set. Irrelevant for seek by order mode, which always displays the full order set. Might be an optional feature to mute all voices when pattern jumping.

3) Already dealt with for the seek by order mode, which I originally implemented so I could do the pattern jumping in songs with multiple sub-songs. As I said with 1, why not predict length based on no-loop, then update the time position relative to the actual play positon? I suppose the same output lag correction applies as well. Maybe this isn't as easy as I'm making it sound...

Oh, and you said its broken in beta7.... hmmm.. Well, crud, this code I have claims to be 2.2.9, with no "beta" branding. The code is based on a snapshot of Peter's in_mod source directory, ca. October 12, 2001.



EDIT: Last I checked in my version of the code, infinite looping is only handled by three cases of code, which, upon further checking, I don't now if it would cause infinite looping on 0 as well....


if(config_loopcount > 0)
Player_SetLoopStatus(mp, config_playflag & CPLAYFLG_LOOPALL, config_loopcount);

at the three places in main.c and one spot in info.c.

Oh. Bleh, I just noticed. My original seek by orders code sets PF_LOOP flag for Player_InitSong in main.c, for the song that's used for actual playback. This forces enless loop unless you actually specify a loop count with Player_SetLoopStatus(). I suppose you could force loop 0 and/or create a song without PF_LOOP for the prediction, as I think the info.c already does.
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2002, 03:49   #210
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
yes, I like the idea, I'll do it like that (though, I'm not sure how this will work in wa3). btw,

if(config_loopcount > 0)

was fixed before me (by peter?). but all "handling code" seems to be eliminated. anyway, it's hard to tell now, because I've rewritten main.c
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2002, 07:00   #211
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
Okay, damnit, I can't seem to find where infinite looping is/was implemented, even in my own code. Bleh.

The Player_BuildQuickLookups code should be amended if infinite looping is added, as it will need to behave the same as length prediction, presumably turning off looping entirely for its preps MPLAYER object.
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2002, 20:57   #212
B3d30x
Senior Member
 
B3d30x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Void - perfection itself
Posts: 119
I've found a bug in the URL code:

Title adding code works incorrectly

when you use title+ code, then try
first a module with a long name,
then one with short and you'll see.
A screen is attached
Attached Images
File Type: png bug.png (18.5 KB, 113 views)
B3d30x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2002, 00:23   #213
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
Seems to lose the last channel from this module:


b3wm
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2002, 03:41   #214
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
both things fixed (hopefully)
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2002, 13:47   #215
B3d30x
Senior Member
 
B3d30x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Void - perfection itself
Posts: 119
EUREKA, IT WORKS!!!!
B3d30x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2002, 18:18   #216
B3d30x
Senior Member
 
B3d30x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Void - perfection itself
Posts: 119
'title fix' breaks UMX decoder's title display.
It just erases song title, when I play UMX.
What can you do about it?

UMX decoder (a cheap hack): http://www.umx-decoder.de.vu

I will extract these mods anyway
B3d30x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2002, 18:31   #217
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
beta27
code:

- fixes to "continue after loop"
- changes to URL handling
- fixed validation of compressed samples
- updated title formatting library
- fixed infinite looping
- fixed small seeking bug
- redone "seek by orders"
- added "track song" feature to infobox
- some interface changes



Bedeox: do you mean it started working before I've uploaded new version?

btw, could someone test how in_mod works over HTTP/FTP? there is a code to save stream to a file and play

it, but I have never tested it.

also, I think about removing fadeout stuff from plug-in, because it's kinda obsolete with out_ds2. does

anybody use it? any comments/ideas?
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th October 2002, 19:46   #218
Lion King
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,670
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?threadid=111536
Lion King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th October 2002, 16:53   #219
B3d30x
Senior Member
 
B3d30x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Void - perfection itself
Posts: 119
Tried it, it didn't
Sorry for useless posts, like that one

narod.ru is veeeeery sloooow, could you put your files
somewhere else, like wz.cz (fast, many features for webmaster, advertisements (but not popups) )

Maybe Peter will include it on his page...

It does something weird to configuration,
as I got "[syntax error in ...]" as a title of song,
till I've set tagz to default,
and title+ code STILL doesn't work...
weird... some messup in config writing code?

<edit>
As for that thread...
AFAIK, Kode worked on that code,
maybe he messed it up?
Or maybe peter, but I can't believe he did
such a nasty mistake
</edit>
B3d30x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2002, 03:39   #220
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
I worked on the code a year ago. Anything since then is just going by any possible similarity between the ~v2.9 code I still have and the latest.
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2002, 08:33   #221
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
RTFM (completely) and define "still does not work"

and that lame code looks like it's written by Air, so I'm kinda surprised that Lion King says 2.2.8 works

btw, have anybody tried "track song" feature?

and as for narod.ru. it's fast enough for me. I thought about moving from it though, when they've made yahoo-like ads in the right-top corner and even more, when they've added a stoopid disclaimer appearing when you try to download a file.
if you have nothing to do, go ahead and create neat in_mod homepage
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2002, 09:43   #222
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
Thanks, works great.


Odd behavior I noticed, it has a buffer underrun at each repeat. No noticeable glitches are caused by this, though. Is it a side effect of forever looping?
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2002, 12:54   #223
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally posted by kode54
Odd behavior I noticed, it has a buffer underrun at each repeat. No noticeable glitches are caused by this, though. Is it a side effect of forever looping?
surely it is. increase 'buffer-ahead' value in out_ds options (it's 0 by default) - I have it 500ms and have no underruns. you can tell peter about that, but I think he'll flame on you

Bedeox: could you check if in_mod handles NNAs (with DCT/DCA) correctly? especially handling of S7x effects.
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2002, 14:16   #224
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
You are quite correct.

And Peter will probably flame me just for saying that here in the first place.
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st October 2002, 17:57   #225
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
actually, I've updated the code to work fine even when 'buffer-ahead' is 0.
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st November 2002, 12:30   #226
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
another thread I will use
http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....0&pagenumber=2
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 06:20   #227
Rz_Ten1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 27
Hey again, got a new one for ya.

The file scifi.xm seems to have a timing problem... it drifts around thoughout the song, but is most noticable in the snare/drum tracks.

I've found a copy online here:
http://ftp.stenstad.net/pub/modules/...d/r-s/scifi.xm
(stupid 100k forum limit)

Edited: Forgot to say, using beta 27 blow up. I'm not getting any messages during playback though.

Also, I've noticed that when changing tracks with the lastest version, it will very quickly flash [SYNTAX ERROR IN FORMATTING STRING] in the tracklist. Not really a bug, just a tiny bit annoying.
Rz_Ten1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 07:03   #228
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
And was already said the last time for the SYNTAX ERROR problem, RTFM. The manual states in no uncertain terms that the plug-in contains a new version of the title formatting library. Unless you had some special custom title string, click the Default button. Otherwise, either try adding trailing percent signs to all of the variables, or just follow the new syntax and recreate your format string.
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 08:09   #229
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
> Forgot to say, using beta 27 blow up. I'm not getting any messages
> during playback though.

blow-up actually does nothing in XMs.

> Also, I've noticed that when changing tracks with the lastest version, it will
> very quickly flash [SYNTAX ERROR IN FORMATTING STRING] in the tracklist.

do you mean that this nice and informative error message gets replaced with something else? that's very interesting. post your settings (title formatting string, winamp title displaying options etc). also this "default" button was introduced by me (to make life more easy ), but the default string is far from ideal (it was updated in 27.5 to handle songs with no title, but I was unaware of peter's restriction on using brackets, so the %part% tag is actually never displayed; I've removed the restriction recently).

also, Rz_Ten1, could you give more details on time drifting?
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 10:09   #230
B3d30x
Senior Member
 
B3d30x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Void - perfection itself
Posts: 119
Your default formatting string doesn't display PART.
Probably round brackets do not work in formatting strings.


Non working:
$if2(%title%,%filename%)[ (%part%)] (doesn't display PART)
$if2(%title%,%filename%) (%part%) (complains about [SYNTAX...])

Working:
$if2(%title%,%filename%) %part% (Displays question mark if no PART present)
$if2(%title%,%filename%)[ - %part%] (Works great!)

<edit>
Song tracking works great!!!
</edit>
B3d30x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 10:43   #231
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
What is the "track song" feature, anyway? I couldn't see any difference, unless I wasn't looking in the right place.

Try using single quotes ' around the rounded brackets. See the readme or formatting help dialog for what they do.
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 11:09   #232
B3d30x
Senior Member
 
B3d30x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Void - perfection itself
Posts: 119
Check infobox...
There is a checkmark called "Track song".
This feature automatically updates
infobox contents to currently played module.

<edit>
Yes, quoted brackets work as expected.
X-Fixer, change default formatting string
to something that's working, e.g.

$if2(%title%,%filename%)[ '('%part%')']
</edit>

Last edited by B3d30x; 3rd November 2002 at 11:28.
B3d30x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 11:52   #233
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
Which info is it supposed to be tracking? I opened the info box, and it was unchecked. After checking it, no effect. After unchecking it, no effect. Does it only take effect if I restart the module, or restart Winamp? Either way, the Player Info box appears to track the decoder as I hear the sound, which of course only works in normal time seeking mode.
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 12:11   #234
B3d30x
Senior Member
 
B3d30x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Void - perfection itself
Posts: 119
It changes info on track change
It is all it does.

<edit>
Sorry, XFiXer, but I won't be able to do any tracking
because of free time shortage
</edit>
B3d30x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 14:42   #235
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally posted by me
but I was unaware of peter's restriction on using brackets, so the %part% tag is actually never displayed; I've removed the restriction recently
anything is still not clear?

Quote:
Originally posted by B3d30x
It changes info on track change
It is all it does.
indeed

Quote:
Originally posted by B3d30x
Sorry, XFiXer, but I won't be able to do any tracking
because of free time shortage
this should not take much time how do I manage to do various crap having no free time at all, I wonder
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 15:25   #236
Rz_Ten1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 27
The problem with the song is occuring in track 4. It looks like it's one long drum sample loop, and that it's playing slightly out of sync with the rest of the song. (Timing or playback speed error, I think) I'll post some audio examples:

The 'good' clip is out of good 'ol DOS based Cubic Player.
The 'bad' clip is, obviously, out of winamp.

Edit: the [SYNTAX] message only seems to be appearing during the slight delay between tracks (while nothing is playing). It's title string is: %title%[ (%part%)] (the default). In additon, if the title string is bad, I've noticed the real song title will flash inbetween song changes (where the error only flashes when it's 'correct')
Attached Files
File Type: zip samples.zip (99.3 KB, 95 views)

Last edited by Rz_Ten1; 3rd November 2002 at 15:41.
Rz_Ten1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 16:00   #237
B3d30x
Senior Member
 
B3d30x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Void - perfection itself
Posts: 119
Quote:
quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by B3d30x
Sorry, XFiXer, but I won't be able to do any tracking
because of free time shortage
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


this should not take much time how do I manage to do various crap having no free time at all, I wonder
Quoing quotes :
I'm not so much into trackers...
B3d30x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd November 2002, 23:25   #238
kode54
Senior Member
 
kode54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Riverside, CA, USA
Posts: 155
Send a message via ICQ to kode54 Send a message via AIM to kode54
Oops. Thanks for clearing that up. I never noticed because I rarely queue up more than one file at a time. Guess I just don't mind listening to the same song for 20 minutes at a time, or the usual, Dead Silence. I usually only queue more than one file when scanning through a set of badly named files for a particular song.

Example of badly named: All of Datschge's SPC rips, which are named using an abbreviation of the game title, a hyphen, and a number.

So, Secret of Evermore:

soe-#.spc, where # is between 01 and 67. I still haven't bothered to grab the SPC renamer from Alpha-ii.com or whatever.
kode54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2002, 06:44   #239
Rz_Ten1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 27
Hey, Dead Silence is one of my favorate groups, right next to 60 Cycle Hum.

And I think I found the reason for the syntax flashing... it looks like I was actually seeing the playlist title update itself after I had accidently loaded an entire playlist with a title error. What actually appeared in the playlist were around 500 [Syntax Error] entries and winamp was just fixing it on load.
Rz_Ten1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2002, 10:56   #240
X-Fixer
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 543
I've tried to fix this (XMs "Amiga periods" were seriously messed up). check if it works now. or, at least, if is better or worse than it used to be.
X-Fixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Wishlist

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump