Old 26th March 2015, 00:22   #1
Vozho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
How to reload/rescan the entire playlist

Okay, so, first to briefly explain my situation.

I have a playlist with 20k+ songs.
I have a 'Music' folder, but I've excluded some artists and songs and just didn't include the entire thing, so I cannot recreate this playlist easily.

Recently I've added custom ATF in preferences so I would want Winamp to reload ALL the titles in the playlist,
just like when you add new songs to Winamp and it reads them all.
By the way, I want to do this in the Playlist, not the Media Library
(although if there's a workaround using Media Library that's obviously okay).

I tried to change the metadata reading in preferences...->Titles->Metadata Reading, but it didn't work.

So how do I make Winamp reread/rescan/reload (I don't know how it's called) all the songs in the playlist?
Vozho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2015, 01:40   #2
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,876
do select all (Ctrl+A) in the playlist editor and then do Ctrl+Alt+E (the Ctrl+Alt+E action may also work if you ensure the playlist editor is selected and there is no selection, but doing a select all should guarantee it will work)
or
on the ATF page, when you edit the ATF string, you will be asked to re-build the titles on closing the prefs page (assuming you're using a current Winamp release -> http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....74929#download)
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2015, 03:04   #3
Vozho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
I'm using the newest 5.666 Winamp.

Quote:
on the ATF page, when you edit the ATF string, you will be asked to re-build the titles on closing the prefs page
it was asking me that when I close preferences, and when I was doing it on my main 20k+ list, Winamp was just not responding. And when I reopen the playlist, it's just like nothing happened.

But in the meantime after posting this thread, I figured out that it works on small playlists, it DOES refresh.
And on my computer, if I try 1000+ songs playlist and change ATF and close preferences, Winamp hangs for a long time...
It also hangs for a long time when I tried your solution (I waited like 20 minutes) to select all songs and then press Ctrl+Alt+E.

But thanks for that Ctrl+Alt+E shortcut, I didn't know about it. So I figured out how I'm going to do it:
I can just select songs by for example, clicking 1. song, and then shift-clicking 500. song.
That would select all songs in between. And then, I can press Ctrl+Alt+E, and it would refresh those first 500 songs. And I can do that like 40 times. Not fast, but at least it works if I'm not doing it frequently (and I wanted to do it only once).

So the problem is kinda solved
Vozho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2015, 10:21   #4
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,205
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
just out of curiosity, could you use smartviews instead of a playlist?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2015, 13:05   #5
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vozho View Post
it was asking me that when I close preferences, and when I was doing it on my main 20k+ list, Winamp was just not responding. And when I reopen the playlist, it's just like nothing happened.
it can take time to re-process that many items and it sounds like you weren't allowing Winamp to complete the task (which can make it look like its hung / crashed according to Windows). as that prompt does the same thing as the Ctrl+Alt+E action.
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2015, 15:17   #6
Vozho
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
it can take time to re-process that many items and it sounds like you weren't allowing Winamp to complete the task (which can make it look like its hung / crashed according to Windows). as that prompt does the same thing as the Ctrl+Alt+E action.
I suppose maybe it would work in the end...it only hangs, it doesn't crash.
The process takes 9% of processor time constantly though. That's not much.
Vozho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Tags
atf, metadata, playlist, reload, rescan

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump