Old 7th August 2010, 18:18   #1
justin
Moderator Alumni
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 315
Cockos Happy AVS

Hello everybody,

We've done some modifications to the version of AVS that is on nullsoft.com, and merged back into it our own modified version of EEL (that we use for Jesusonic, REAPER, etc).

The current build is here: http://1014.org/shiz/vis_chavs.dll

We will definitely open source this version soon, but the important differences are:

1) Variables can be longer in length (16 characters)

2) You can use a newer syntax for if(), below(), assign(), etc.

For example, instead of:

code:

if (above(x,0),assign(y,3),0);
or
if (above(x,0),assign(y,3),assign(y,4));
or
if (above(x,0),exec2(assign(y,3),assign(z,2)),assign(y,4));



You can do:

code:

x > 0 ? y=3;
or
x > 0 ? y=3 : y=4;
or
x > 0 ? ( y = 3; z = 2; ) : y=4;



3) Instead of megabuf(x+y) or gmegabuf(x) you can just use x[y] or gmem[x].


There are other changes -- for more information on the new syntax, see:

http://www.reaper.fm/sdk/js/js.php#js_basic

(most "advanced functions" are JS only, except loop(), while(), freembuf(), memcpy(), and memset()).

I know AVS may be somewhat stagnant at this point, but hopefully this might help get some life back into it.

If anybody finds this useful let me know...

-Justin

Last edited by justin; 7th August 2010 at 18:22. Reason: added another example
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2010, 20:00   #2
QOAL
[STILL a retard!]
 
QOAL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 1,168
Justin, you are a legend.

The new syntax looks miles better! (Code will actually be human readable now )

Thank you for releasing an updated AVS after such a long time.
There isn't many people left (here at least) now, but who knows who'll turn up now, for a look.

(Looking at the file name, I was thankful to see it wasn't a prank visualisation of some chavs when I ran it.)

I'll go play with it now.

Cheers!

count!last.fmdastylishplanner
QOAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th August 2010, 07:27   #3
JaVS_v2.5
Forum King
 
JaVS_v2.5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seremban 2, Malaysia
Posts: 2,717
Send a message via Yahoo to JaVS_v2.5
nice... i feel like writing a c program now

Last played [offline]: Lamb of God - Nippon
-- JaVS :: h i p o t e s i s
JaVS_v2.5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2010, 13:57   #4
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,051
Wow, I certainly didn't expect this anymore.
Thanks a lot!
I really hope this was what we needed to get more artists active.

Qoal already mentioned that the code will be humanly readable, which is a big plus.
several people have said that the sourcecode was very hard to read and, because of that, even harder to improve. How's that for this version?

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2010, 09:23   #5
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,051
unexpected behavior:
The rand() function should only give integers.
Example: rand(2) should only result in 0 or 1, but is now somewhere between 0 and 1.9[..]99.

Or is this intended?

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever

Last edited by Warrior of the Light; 11th August 2010 at 09:59.
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th August 2010, 19:02   #6
justin
Moderator Alumni
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warrior of the Light View Post
unexpected behavior:
The rand() function should only give integers.
Example: rand(2) should only result in 0 or 1, but is now somewhere between 0 and 1.9[..]99.

Or is this intended?
Thanks, will fix this in a new build later today.

-Justin
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2010, 01:18   #7
swingdjted
DRINK BEER NOW
(Forum King)
 
swingdjted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern West Virginia
Posts: 9,997
Send a message via AIM to swingdjted Send a message via Yahoo to swingdjted
Thank you so much for keeping it alive. I really love AVS, and it is a true understatement to say I really appreciate all the work that has gone into it's development and the development of the presets.

Unfortunately I'm not very well informed on the technical end of things, but does this help stability on newer operating systems? XP was really good for AVS, but then Vista and 7 were bad for me. I'm currently running 64-bit windows 7 ultimate, and I get better stability on Windows 7's "XP Mode" than 7 without it. Hopefully playing with this new version will be better.

Either way, thank you very much for all the work you've done.

Don't forget to live before you die.
swingdjted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2010, 17:02   #8
Warrior of the Light
Forum King
 
Warrior of the Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4,051
In fact, it hasn't crashed on me at all this far (keeping my fingers crossed) on XP pro (32bits)

Jesus loves you [yes, you] so much, he even died for you so that you will not need to die, but live forever
Warrior of the Light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2010, 17:40   #9
swingdjted
DRINK BEER NOW
(Forum King)
 
swingdjted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern West Virginia
Posts: 9,997
Send a message via AIM to swingdjted Send a message via Yahoo to swingdjted
HEY! I figured it out! (or maybe someone else did first and I didn't read about it)

My problem even with this new version was that AVS refused to stay fullscreen more than a second or two.

My solution is to tell the computer to automatically disable Windows Aero each time I open Winamp. This works on my version of windows (7 Ultimate x64). I'm hoping other Aero versions of 7 and Vista have the same ability.

1.) Right click on the shortcut that one uses to open Winamp.
2.) Click properties.
3.) Click the compatibility tab.
4.) Click/check the "Disable desktop composition" checkbox.
5.) Click the Apply button.
6.) Click ok.

As a result of this procedure, Aero will automatically become disabled when you open winamp, but will also automatically re-enable itself each time you exit Winamp. While Winamp runs without Aero, AVS works very well just like on XP, if not better.

Thanks again for releasing "Cockos Happy AVS"!

Don't forget to live before you die.
swingdjted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 09:48   #10
InCUbuS-94
Member
 
InCUbuS-94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Behind your house
Posts: 98
Looks like interesting, i'll check out now

It cannot rain forever
InCUbuS-94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 10:59   #11
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,353
-have you thought about including bigfug freeframe streaming into the official avs build?

-have you thought about reworking the UI of the avs editor? there are several mods available already (visbot, micro.d and serveral privately kept mods).

all of these mods have one thing in common: they have been created because the official UI is pretty limited and old-fashioned. personally, i prefer a larger window with a big avs window docked into the editor. i also prefer buttons over menus - the latter can act slowly when performing avs live, with buttons you can switch much faster through the settings.

i acknowledge, that my prefered avs editor (from the visbot mod) has one big disadvantage: it requires a rather huge desktop resolution. but i think this could be solved through a cleverly made, resizable editor window. certain elements of the editor like the treeview on the left and the text fields should resize with the entire window size, which -i think- is not possible when using the resize APE.

though this might never happen, as it's too much work, i think the best thing would be to have the avs editor as an OSD. it makes good sense to run avs in fullscreen, so why not allow editing and navigation (selection of presets etc.) in fullscreen? milkdrop and many other visualization tools offer this already.
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2010, 23:23   #12
swingdjted
DRINK BEER NOW
(Forum King)
 
swingdjted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern West Virginia
Posts: 9,997
Send a message via AIM to swingdjted Send a message via Yahoo to swingdjted
Where can I get that visbot mod? I use 1920x1200, so resolution won't be a problem.

The only resolution problem I have is keeping the fps up. I can go native fullscreen with a reasonably smooth frame rate (20-60 fps) but usually only with pixel doubling checked. Since my last post, I have had a couple crashes, but I was told it may be because of some old APEs. Overall, I really like this release. Making presets is a little easier now.

Don't forget to live before you die.
swingdjted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2010, 14:23   #13
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,353
http://visbot.net/tools (screenshot)
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2010, 01:11   #14
swingdjted
DRINK BEER NOW
(Forum King)
 
swingdjted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern West Virginia
Posts: 9,997
Send a message via AIM to swingdjted Send a message via Yahoo to swingdjted
Thanks, I'll give it a try.

Don't forget to live before you die.
swingdjted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2010, 04:16   #15
MaTTFURY
Major Dude
 
MaTTFURY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia,
Posts: 1,357
Thanks for the updated version of avs

i am not normal, no really.
MaTTFURY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2010, 13:58   #16
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,353
i've attached the resource file for avsmod, in case somebody wants to use it when compiling the current sourcecode
Attached Files
File Type: zip vis_avsmod.zip (12.6 KB, 551 views)
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2010, 17:57   #17
drlava
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Hi Justin, a friend and I have recently made updates and fixes to the released AVS code, mostly related to the LASER compiler switch. Maybe we can combine this with your updates for the new source release?
drlava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2010, 19:29   #18
[Ishan]
Major Dude
 
[Ishan]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: India
Posts: 1,156
Send a message via Yahoo to [Ishan]
whoa! an updated version? really? I just came across the forums for old time's sake.. and I find good news! The syntax seems better... maybe those glorious AVSing days will return!


Amateur AVS'er. All over again.

Last AVS Pack :
Resurgence

[Ishan] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2010, 15:40   #19
swingdjted
DRINK BEER NOW
(Forum King)
 
swingdjted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern West Virginia
Posts: 9,997
Send a message via AIM to swingdjted Send a message via Yahoo to swingdjted
It's funny, all these years and really, no one has come up with any program like it, except maybe Milkdrop which I don't feel is as versatile in terms of the different types of visualizations one can make.

Long live AVS!

Don't forget to live before you die.
swingdjted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2010, 00:31   #20
micro.D
Member
 
micro.D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: hungary / budapest
Posts: 64
wowow! that syntax is just awesome!
well yathosho has the point. i'm using avs for vj-ing and the original editor is not the best for using it live. so i've made my version.
only problem i have with it that it freezes after 2 presets (i mean it loads happily the initial preset then i can load another one and then when i want to load yet another one it freezes). interesting that winamp continues to work but it won't respond when i want to close it (or stop avs).
micro.D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th October 2010, 21:48   #21
TomyLobo
Major Dude
 
TomyLobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 580
amazingly eeltrans.ape seems to work with both 2.83 (from winamp 5.56) and 2.9 (from here, fetched 2010-10-10)

the new EEL should still be able to interpret eeltrans's output
I didn't test all of the new EEL features, so some of those might still break, but I'm quite optimistic that they don't

some more testing revealed that the new EEL is a bitch and silently ignores errors. should be fixed

eeltrans features that might still be helpful even with the better EEL:
- C-style #define macros
- compatibility with older avs versions (that is, provided you don't use the new EEL features)

the irony is that eeltrans contains hackery at a much lower level and yet works, while aperesize breaks
I might look into fixing it later, but I neither promise that I do nor that I'll fix it.

If you can't say something nice, say something surrealistic.
TomyLobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2010, 17:58   #22
Tuggummi
Bin King
 
Tuggummi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,173
Sorry Justin, but this is too little very too late. For majority of the people AVS was not about the code, it was the freedom of doing hundreds of different kind of presets with only minor changes to the effects. I personally left AVS because anything original you could accomplish was through very heavy coding.

You want to revive avs? Make it more user friendly, notice that user friendly does not mean "dumbing down", I never understood fully any of the code I wrote and I did some pretty complicated stuff, that was because I learned from other members of the community, I copied their code, I shaped it, I molded it, I made it fit my preset. That is what AVS was for me, I hope that is what it can be in the future.

Texer Resources

Im retarded... err i mean retired!
Probably both...
Tuggummi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2010, 03:35   #23
swingdjted
DRINK BEER NOW
(Forum King)
 
swingdjted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern West Virginia
Posts: 9,997
Send a message via AIM to swingdjted Send a message via Yahoo to swingdjted
Perhaps that would make quite a revival. Really all I ever knew how to do was steal other people's code and trial-and-error it (I guess the in thing to say would be "remix") until I found something I liked, and I really never submitted any packs or presets because of how shamelessly "ripped" they were. [I also had a lot of fun adding images to many existing presets too.] If I understood more about it, I might be more willing to create more of my own stuff and possibly contribute.

I wouldn't go as far as too little too late, because every step to making things more human friendly is significant, regardless of how long it takes. Art (including mediums) can often be an evolution rather than a revolution.

Don't forget to live before you die.
swingdjted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th October 2010, 09:18   #24
TomyLobo
Major Dude
 
TomyLobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 580
you can't even really trial-and-error anymore now, since it simply ignores pieces with errors and goes on with the next, without showing you the error

If you can't say something nice, say something surrealistic.
TomyLobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 14:04   #25
radian
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
The one thing I really want in AVS : change presets by receiving MIDI prg changes instead of (as well as) using hotkeys.

Any chance of seeing something like this added, Cockos?
radian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2010, 00:14   #26
TomyLobo
Major Dude
 
TomyLobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 580
This could be done with an APE. no need for a change in AVS itself

though it would probably be easier with some kind of api to mess with the current preset etc

If you can't say something nice, say something surrealistic.
TomyLobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th November 2010, 14:45   #27
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,353
@justin: are you even reading the feedback? would be good to let us know
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2010, 05:02   #28
swingdjted
DRINK BEER NOW
(Forum King)
 
swingdjted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northern West Virginia
Posts: 9,997
Send a message via AIM to swingdjted Send a message via Yahoo to swingdjted
In the last 5 years, he his account shows 3 posts, two of which are in this thread - I'd say that's giving a lot more attention than normal. I'm just glad he was willing to release the updated software.

Don't forget to live before you die.
swingdjted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2011, 18:28   #29
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,353
i've put together a new version of avsmod, based on chavs. same interface as previous mods, plus correct version resource for the dll.

get it here!
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2011, 20:07   #30
TomyLobo
Major Dude
 
TomyLobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 580
you should really modify aperesize instead, so it resizes dynamically
that way you also don't have to patch again for each new binary release.

I can explain you the code if you want, too

If you can't say something nice, say something surrealistic.
TomyLobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 15:52   #31
justin
Moderator Alumni
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 315
Oops, sorry I forgot to update CHAVS. Here are new builds (v2.91):

http://1014.org/shiz/vis_chavs.dll

and the code:

http://1014.org/shiz/code/chavs.zip

(the code now includes the required bits from WDL, too, so no need to git clone anything).

This should fix the rand() bug, and also updates to even newer EEL-compilation, which has some fancy stuff such as basic code optimization.
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 16:04   #32
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
oh the irony of two v2.91 on the same day.

as i've been looking into fixing things from your 2.9 and just put up this 20mins before you (as trying to get something stable in the distribution again).

were there any code changes on your side in the last 2 weeks? as that's within the time scale of when i pulled down the code from git.

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 18:25   #33
justin
Moderator Alumni
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 315
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrO View Post
oh the irony of two v2.91 on the same day.

as i've been looking into fixing things from your 2.9 and just put up this 20mins before you (as trying to get something stable in the distribution again).

were there any code changes on your side in the last 2 weeks? as that's within the time scale of when i pulled down the code from git.

-daz
Hah, bizarre!

I actually intended to do this two days ago, but that ended up getting derailed...

As far as recent changes to code goes, EEL2 hasn't changed recently, so you should be fine there, but avs_eelif.cpp has been updated:
code:

void AVS_EEL_IF_resetvars(NSEEL_VMCTX ctx)
{
NSEEL_VM_freeRAM(ctx);
- NSEEL_VM_resetvars(ctx);
+ NSEEL_VM_remove_all_nonreg_vars(ctx);
}



(NSEEL_VM_resetvars() is no longer defined so old chavs.zip shouldn't compile against the newer EEL versions). There are also changes to NSEEL_addfunctionex() lines in that file, but they aren't critical (just some casts removed).


---

Also, I forgot to mention, also new in the latest CHAVS is support for functions, see:

http://www.reaper.fm/sdk/js/js.php#js_userfunc
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2013, 18:38   #34
DrO
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 27,880
i know that feeling well, heh.

rightio, will sort out a diff from my 2.91 against things and roll out a test 2.92 in a day or so in order to get us back on an even footing with all of the changes (as 2 x v2.91 isn't going to help with the fragmentation of things as is).

-daz
DrO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2013, 22:51   #35
Yathosho
Forum King
 
Yathosho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: AT-DE
Posts: 3,353
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomyLobo View Post
you should really modify aperesize instead, so it resizes dynamically
that way you also don't have to patch again for each new binary release.

I can explain you the code if you want, too
actually, that sounds good. talk on #avs?
Yathosho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2013, 23:33   #36
TomyLobo
Major Dude
 
TomyLobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 580
that offer is 2 years old, i'm not even sure i have the source anymore or that i understand it any better than you would

If you can't say something nice, say something surrealistic.
TomyLobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2013, 18:21   #37
drivetheory
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by justin View Post
Oops, sorry I forgot to update CHAVS. Here are new builds (v2.91):

http://1014.org/shiz/vis_chavs.dll

and the code:

http://1014.org/shiz/code/chavs.zip

(the code now includes the required bits from WDL, too, so no need to git clone anything).

This should fix the rand() bug, and also updates to even newer EEL-compilation, which has some fancy stuff such as basic code optimization.

http://1014.org/shiz/vis_chavs.dll
vis_chavs.dll
MD5: b7adf0e8f6c63c8c5160f8190255860e

shows as "Advanced Visualzation Studio v.2.81b [vis_chavs.dll]" inside winamp and is giving me a CTD when ever i try to run it in Winamp 5.63...

vis_chavsmod-2.9_avsmod-0.5.5.dll still works perfectly fine for me but the new one listed above doesn't

anyone else having this problem?
drivetheory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2013, 04:47   #38
drivetheory
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 17
The problem i was having with vis_chavs.dll it seems was caused by the box for "SMP support" (AVS Editor -> Settings -> Display) being checkmarked

Last edited by drivetheory; 23rd April 2013 at 05:47.
drivetheory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2014, 21:55   #39
Gourmand
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
WOW! I'm waiting for new AVS through years! Dreaming see my VU-meters (vapourMachine, BatmanRadio and others) presets om my Android tablet and iBasso DX50 player in Rockbox. AVS FOR HANDHELDS! But I do not think that browser JScript code is the best way. I'm sure Qt-based renderer would be much better and faster. But I will wait for any implementation.
Gourmand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Visualizations > AVS

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump