Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp for Android

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st October 2010, 20:26   #1
blo
Empire Builder v2
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bethesda, MD
Posts: 70
Winamp for Android (current version: v1.4.15)

We're pumped to finally be able to unveil a lot of what we've been working on this Summer, early Fall. Read the official announcement for more deets.

We have a bunch of additional features we're planning to add when we come out of Beta (e.g. SHOUTcast Radio) and we'll be expanding this forum to get all your suggestions/feedback.

Be sure you're using Winamp 5.63 for the sync support features as well.

Get our Winamp for Android on!
blo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2010, 20:50   #2
waterhand
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Smile List of Demands

First off, thanks so much for giving Android a proper music player.

There are some things I would like to see happen (if possible):

1) I really enjoy the crossfade feature in Winamp. Will it be coming to the Android version?

2) While listening to music, when a text or email is received, the song cuts out to play the notification sound. Other apps, like CardioTrainer, allow the notification sound to play on top of the song (the song is just dampened a little). That would also be a great feature.

On a great note, I am so very happy that Winamp will play right after a call has ended. For some reason, the Android music player and other music apps do not do that any more. Great work!

I look forward to the finished product!
waterhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2010, 21:19   #3
pressiniron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
Brower within app

I'm loving it already!! One thing that I could definitely use would be a browser function within the app. I have a lot of my music organized by folders on my Droid 1 and it would be nice to play just the music in one folder. I know this can be accomplished using a playlist, but the folders are constantly changing.

This app has the potential to be the best media player on Android!! Keep it up
pressiniron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2010, 22:14   #4
admiral70
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
So frustrated with Unknown Artist. In Winamp all my tags are showing with no problems when I transfer to my Droid X most songs are showing as unknown artist. This may not be a winamp issue but hope someone can assist.
admiral70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 00:44   #5
mikelheim
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Love the Winamp android App!
Wifi syncing with Desktop is brilliant! -- great UI for managing device library!

Few issues though --

Win 7 clean, Winamp v5.59 build 3033 Beta
Nexus One, Android 2.2, Winamp 0.9.1 Beta

Issue 1. Unable to delete music files on device
- using desktop Winamp, using library, right-click a track on my device
- select "Remove from Device"
- Click OK when asked to Confirm
- Progress bar quickly completes
- Track is not removed, still in library, still on device

Issue 2. Manual deletes on Device do not register in Desktop Library
- Delete tracks from Device
- Winamp Desktop must be restarted to show changes to device

Issue 3. Wifi syncing tracks from Desktop to Device slow
- Sync Appears to be fast when Device Winamp is running foreground and Device screen is kept "awake"
- Sync Appears to slow when Device screen sleeps
mikelheim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 02:32   #6
mynameisjon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Some things I've noticed on first use.

First of all, I love the layout. It's almost idiot proof and anyone can figure out how to use it.

Second, I love having the option to sync wirelessly.

However, I have some issues.

I can't seem to be able to sync "wired". I mount my SD card but Winamp doesn't detect my Nexus One.

Also, syncing puts my music in the root folder of the SD card.

I also can't seem to find an option to select which songs to sync (a la iTunes and Zune).

If the following settings/options were included, winamp would be perfect.

"Star/Unstar" to select songs for syncing.
Choose location of sync destination.
mynameisjon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 11:28   #7
/usr/bin/Tux
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 120
The only weird thing about it is:
Winamp?



Winamp user since v1.something.
/usr/bin/Tux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 12:49   #8
damaja61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3
I love the Winamp app!

But there is a bug which makes Winamp unusable: When I create a playlist in the Winamp app with some music files and connect my Samsung I9000 to my PC as a mass storage, all the entries in the playlist are gone, more exactly they are replaced by the music files which are provided by the phone. I tried this several times and it happens no matter Winamp is running or not. My music files are stored on the external SD card.

My firmware version is 2.1-update1 I9000XXJM1.
damaja61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th October 2010, 00:17   #9
jim109b
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by admiral70 View Post
So frustrated with Unknown Artist. In Winamp all my tags are showing with no problems when I transfer to my Droid X most songs are showing as unknown artist. This may not be a winamp issue but hope someone can assist.
I've seen the same thing, but only with a small percentage. I fixed these by editing the files in File Info in Winamp on the PC, forcing them to save the metadata again, and that seemed to do the trick.

Annoying though, some of the album art seems a bit mixed up - not too bothered about that though.
jim109b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2010, 20:18   #10
Maias227
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Just gotta say, thank you! I was really missing winamp from the pc. Great job developers!
Maias227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2010, 16:07   #11
amano
Major Dude
 
amano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: where the llamas come from!
Posts: 951
Quote:
Originally Posted by /usr/bin/Tux View Post
The only weird thing about it is:
Winamp?
Yeah. Winamp was the sole program that was missed when I switched to Ubuntu some years ago. And I would have paid for a Winamp for Linux, if that would have made one possible

But I guess that there is one Linux-Winamp now, at least for the Android Linux. Not perfect, but at least a start

eeeee eeeeeee eeeee eeeee eeeee
8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 8 88
8eee8 8e 8 8 8eee8 8e 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8 8
88 8 88 8 8 88 8 88 8 8eee8
amano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2011, 00:05   #12
bestadvocate
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by /usr/bin/Tux View Post
The only weird thing about it is:
Winamp?
Thats not weird, its full of win!
bestadvocate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2011, 06:05   #13
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
Still waiting for flac support.

Using Deadbeef Player for now.
I feel that Poweramp is the current top player but its not free.

Thanx

Last edited by iron2000; 11th March 2011 at 08:07.
iron2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2011, 14:49   #14
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,767
WFA v1.0.3 now freely available on the Android Market
https://market.android.com/details?i...ullsoft.winamp

Includes the following tweaks/changes/fixes:

-Wifi transfer now uses AlbumArtist (if it exists) for folder name
-Fixed known Splashscreen issues
-Faster loading SHOUTcast/RSS feeds
-Misc: Async Imageloader implementation & Playqueue optimizations
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th April 2011, 17:45   #15
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,191
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Egg View Post
WFA v1.0.3 now freely available on the Android Market

Includes the following tweaks/changes/fixes:

-Wifi transfer now uses AlbumArtist (if it exists) for folder name
Egg,

great, but what about WIRED transfer?

also, please look at this thread and respond there too:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....03#post2758603

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th April 2011, 17:37   #16
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,767
Afaik, wired uses whatever is specified in the Advanced tab of options.

eg.

X:\Music\<Albumartist>\<Album>\<filename>
or
X:\Music\<Albumartist>\<Album>\# - <Title>
or whatever
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2011, 04:43   #17
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,191
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Egg,

did you look at my link? the defaults on a new winamp install aren't what you have in your example:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....03#post2758603

this means that winamp will make a mess of wired xfers out of the box on android.

also, on the winamp app for droid, artists is listed by artists, there is no setting or option that i can find to use "albumartists" instead.

if i go into albums, then the comp album is listed by a random artist on the comp, again as opposed to using the "album artist" tag. that is senseless.

i know you guys are still in beta, but i think it helps for me to report this stuff to you!

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2011, 06:50   #18
scienceguru
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Why is this not available through Android Marketplace?
scienceguru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2011, 11:35   #19
deano131
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by scienceguru View Post
Why is this not available through Android Marketplace?
Could be you are on an old version of Android, you need 2.1 or above.

https://market.android.com/details?i...ullsoft.winamp
deano131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th April 2011, 15:40   #20
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,191
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
Egg,

did you look at my link? the defaults on a new winamp install aren't what you have in your example:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread....03#post2758603

this means that winamp will make a mess of wired xfers out of the box on android.

also, on the winamp app for droid, artists is listed by artists, there is no setting or option that i can find to use "albumartists" instead.

if i go into albums, then the comp album is listed by a random artist on the comp, again as opposed to using the "album artist" tag. that is senseless.

i know you guys are still in beta, but i think it helps for me to report this stuff to you!
Egg, please, this is a BIG BAD BUGGY issue!

also, please see this thread:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=329489

some kind of acknowlegement and solution would be nice!

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd April 2011, 23:22   #21
brettawesome
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Is there still not a fix for the 'Not being able to answer calls when Control Headset is checked' problem? It's been a pretty major issue for almost 6 months now. Pretty much renders the program useless to me until there's a fix, had to go back to the stock player.
brettawesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2011, 11:55   #22
waterpistol
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
yea, i am totally loving winamp for google... my only bugbear is that embedded album art doesn't show up on the device (sony ericsson x10-MP) which is pretty annoying, learning to live with no album art but... it would be great if there was a fix for this problem. nice one!
waterpistol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2011, 04:46   #23
itsupportguys
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
New favorite music app

i just joined to say thanks.
itsupportguys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2011, 20:06   #24
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,767
v1.1 now available

*SHOUTcast now powered by the new native Winamp Media Engine (ARMv7 chips only, replicant disabled on models with ARMv6 chips, eg. HTC Wildfire)
*New Full CD Listening Party - listen to full albums with CDLP
*Various bugfixes

http://blog.winamp.com/2011/06/07/fr...r-android-1-1/
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2011, 20:48   #25
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,191
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
awesome, i can finally listen to my station on my droid x

but how do i save it as a fave station?

EDIT: i see, tap the screen that says shoutcast when its playing, but thats not obvious, nor does it seem to work right away... i had to do it a few times. might want to consider making use of the physical settings button.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2011, 02:43   #26
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,191
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
BUG:

egg, sorry to have to report this to you... but i have 3 streams of my station, all the same except the bitrates are different, (and the IPs of course)

i can NOT save each one as a separate fave in the winamp droid app. it overwrites the previous one. this isn't an issue in winamp, they make separate bookmarks with no help from me.

but in the droid app, i can only have one saved as a fave. the 3 streams overwrite each other, b/c i think they all share the same name (and they are the same station afterall)

noted? will be fixed?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2011, 00:04   #27
moose517
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
I'm having issues syncing via wi-fi to my droid x, i can get around 200 tracks and then it just says failed in the transfer window. All my music is in flac format so i have to get it to transcode but i can't get it to work reliably .
moose517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th June 2011, 19:07   #28
onix
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 69
Not having much luck, rather loss of luck since upgrading to 1.1. This is what my sync'ed playlist looks like: http://www.4shared.com/photo/oVK0GlS...toryLinks.html
onix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2011, 21:30   #29
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,191
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
all, please see this thread:

http://forums.winamp.com/showthread.php?t=331309

any helpful detailed feedback or observations to that thread will be appreciated.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th August 2011, 19:01   #30
Greg_E
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,683
sigh... Still no aac+ streams listed in search, still no way to enter a stream URL manually, still no m3u (didn't test .pls but I bet it doesn't work either). Still recommending competitors for our streaming station so that droid users can listen.

Needed to edit because no shoutcast streams are working for me, just says "failed to play the requested stream" on all of the streams that I tried.

FYI I downloaded this from the market about 15 minutes ago so I assume it is the latest versions, think it said 1.1.1. Installed on my Archos 43it "tablet" running the latest firmware, Android 2.2.x)

Your mileage may vary!
Greg_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2011, 13:32   #31
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,767
Winamp For Android v1.2 Released, including PRO version!
http://blog.winamp.com/2011/10/26/wi...-for-mac-sync/

Download the latest version of the free Winamp for Android app:

New Core Winamp for Android 1.2 Features
The Winamp app is still free, only the Pro Bundle requires the upgrade.

Free Features:
* Unlock premium features with the Pro Bundle ($4.99)
* Now supports syncing with Macs (Wi-Fi & USB)
* Full access to all available Spinner MP3 of the Day songs (previously limited to 20 songs)
* Even more albums in CDLP - free on-demand streaming of popular album releases
* Improved quality with Winamp's native playback engine
* Various headset optimizations & code enhancements

What's in the Pro Bundle?
The Pro Bundle offers enriched audio, premium features and customization. Download Winamp for Android 1.2 for free and then upgrade inside the app to our Pro Bundle for only $4.99. You can upgrade by tapping on the Equalizer button on the app's Home screen, or Home Screen >> Hard Menu Button >> Settings >> Go Pro.

Pro Features:
* 10-band graphic equalizer
* A customizable home screen
* The ability to navigate or browse your music by Folders
* Crossfade between tracks
* Gapless playback
* Support for FLAC playback in Browse by Folders nav (lossless audio playback)
* Replay Gain Support (configurable in Settings menu)
* Personalized SHOUTcast station recommendations (based on music in your Android device)
* The ability to play any streaming audio URL in SHOUTcast (supported formats only)
* Ad Free


Note, there's currently a bug on the Android Market where app updates aren't being correctly published.
Hopefully they'll fix the bug soon.
Thank you for your patience.


[EDIT]

v1.2.2 now available

Fixes the reported choppiness, skipping & no playback issues on some devices
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2011, 15:13   #32
/usr/bin/Tux
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 120
Quote:
* The ability to navigate or browse your music by Folders
Whoa! Well, so I'll have to spend money in order to make Winamp play my music not alphabetically?



Winamp user since v1.something.
/usr/bin/Tux is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2011, 15:30   #33
The_Seeker
Junior Member
 
The_Seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Buxton, UK
Posts: 13
Before I purchase Pro, just want to check that all the features are available for my HTC Wildfire. (I ask because I purchased DeaDBeeF Pro only to find that its equalizer is unavailable on my phone.)
The_Seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2011, 17:42   #34
Danielvago
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Winamp pro, not playing music

I just downloaded the newest version of Winamp for my HTC Desire android, and the first thing I did was upgrading it to "pro".

I have an issue:

It doesn't play music. One could say this is a pretty big issue.
I pick a song but the bar (that shows where you are in the song) doesn't move. I have tried to pause/unpause and move it around the song, as well as trying several songs.
I have also tried to restart my phone.

I also tried the stock music player and that works just fine.

EDIT:

I just re-installed it and now it works.

EDITEDIT:

Ok, the problem is still there. I just tried to play songs from an album and nothing would play. Then I went to another album, played a song and went to the first album whilst that was playing, and now it worked.
Danielvago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2011, 18:16   #35
Benski
Ben Allison
Former Winamp Developer
 
Benski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danielvago View Post
I also tried the stock music player and that works just fine.

EDIT:

I just re-installed it and now it works.

EDITEDIT:

Ok, the problem is still there. I just tried to play songs from an album and nothing would play. Then I went to another album, played a song and went to the first album whilst that was playing, and now it worked.
Not sure about the second problem. We have, however, noticed a weird problem when upgrading from the prior version. On some phones, some of the old binaries are not removed and this is causing a problem. We can only reproduce it on one of the phones at the office - an EVO 4G - but there might be others. What phone do you have?
Benski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2011, 18:53   #36
Danielvago
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
I have the HTC Desire.

EDIT: I just tried two things and couldn't recreate the problem.

1: Letting one song from one album play, and just going from song to song in various albums whilst the last song played = worked fine.

2: Doing the same, but pausing before going to a new song = worked fine.

I will come back if I encounter it again.
Danielvago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2011, 20:30   #37
isamudeath
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Same problem in Samsung GT-B7510L Galaxy Pro w/ Android 2.2.2

When i try to play a song fron an artist it dosn't start and winamp "resets"
If te songs start and touch the "next" button winamp crash

I tryed to unistall and install again but not having luck
isamudeath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2011, 09:50   #38
nibynoga
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danielvago View Post
I just downloaded the newest version of Winamp for my HTC Desire android, and the first thing I did was upgrading it to "pro".

I have an issue:

It doesn't play music. One could say this is a pretty big issue.
I pick a song but the bar (that shows where you are in the song) doesn't move. I have tried to pause/unpause and move it around the song, as well as trying several songs.
I have also tried to restart my phone.

I also tried the stock music player and that works just fine.
I had the same problem - no playback after the update (just regular update, not pro). My phone: Xperia X8 (OS 2.1). After I re-installed it started playing but skips constantly and uses plenty of memory (Watchdog alerted 63%). So the app is unusable right now, have to go back to the previous version.
nibynoga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2011, 11:33   #39
iron2000
Senior Member
 
iron2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 391
1.2 adds background service (BillingService) that runs even after app close.
Can't be expecting bill when I'm not even using the app, right?
Why can't closed apps stay closed?

First Dolphin Browser HD 7 with C2DMService and now Winamp as well. T^T

Thanx
iron2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2011, 12:45   #40
wibbly pig
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
I got 1.2 last night on my Nexus S (2.3.6), and all of a sudden, the android media player has become the default again, when I use my headphone button it starts the android app, not winamp anymore (though if I click play on the widget, the buttons will then start and stop songs)..

Kinda crappy, I was really excited about the equalizer. Not going to upgrade to pro with this sort of bug though.
wibbly pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp for Android

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump