Old 18th September 2009, 11:58   #1
Sooz24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Regasm and Vista

Hope I'm not duplicating something already covered - but if I am, I can't find the answer!

I have an NSIS installer that runs fine under Windows XP, but under Vista the RegAsm line fails as needing to be run as administrator.
ExecWait '$INSTDIR\System\RegAsm.exe /codebase CryptoClass.dll /t'

Also the registration of a dll fails
RegDLL "$INSTDIR\System\MailBee.dll"

I can do the registrations manually by starting up a command window (Start, Ctrl-Shift-Enter), changing to my $INSTDIR\System folder then running
RegAsm.exe /codebase CryptoClass.dll /t'

and
RegSvr32 MailBee.dll

So I assume it is a UAC problem. How do I modify my script to resolve the problem?
Sooz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2009, 13:25   #2
thek
Member
 
thek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 92
it think the answer to your problem is:
RequestExecutionLevel
its explained in the NSIS Manual
thek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2009, 13:55   #3
Sooz24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Could you possibly give me a hint as to where to look in the Manual!
Sooz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2009, 14:02   #4
MSG
Major Dude
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,892
http://nsis.sourceforge.net/Docs/Chapter4.html#4.8.1.32

The command reference is your friend.
MSG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th September 2009, 14:28   #5
Sooz24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
OK - (sorry if I'm being stupid, but am new to NSIS although a long-time programmer..)
This doesn't seem to have made a difference...

Firstly I unregistered Mailbee.dll manually

Then I inserted RequestExecutionLevel admin at the start of my script and compiled it

Then reran the install and started up my (MS Access-based) App.
It flagged that the Mailbee reference was missing - so I conclude that RegDll still didn't have authority. Unfortunately it all runs too fast to spot any errors being output
Sooz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2009, 00:00   #6
Sooz24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
It now works - not sure what I did unfortunately!
Sooz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & SHOUTcast Forums > Developer Center > NSIS Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump