Old 8th June 2006, 00:04   #1
pictor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
.Mp3 renamed to .Mp3.XXXXXX

I have a really strange and annoying problem.

In the last days I've noticed many Mp3 had been renamed to "Song.mp3.XXXXXX"

I have no idea about why that extension (6 X) were there.

I used Winpooch to caputre the process that modified the MP3 and I got Winamp.exe as answer.

Have you idea of where the problem is?
Why damn it behave that way?!

I think the event (captured from Winpooch) that cause this renaming is:

Quote:
Reason = File::Write
Parameter 1 = Z:\Music\Artist\Album\Song.mp3"
Please HELP ME!

This problem is fucking all my song collection!!

Thanks You.
pictor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2006, 00:56   #2
OdessaCubbage
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
#1 - Don't cuss
#2 - If you're using WA 5.22, its full of bugs; WA 5.23 has been released. Install that and see how it works for you.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2006, 01:08   #3
mikm
Major Dude
 
mikm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: somewhere else
Posts: 1,255
1. Swear all you like, provided it doesn't interfere with what you're trying to say.
2. I doubt that it is an issue with Winamp. Do you have any third-party plugins installed?

powered by C₂H₅OH
mikm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2006, 07:14   #4
Rocker
Hiding in plain sight (mod)
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 9,907
winamp physically cannot do that(without the use of a third party plug-in).(not winamp of any version)

and your the only person with the problem


i searched google and found this

ejukebox
Fixed bug in v3.1 that was leaving mp3.XXXXXX files after ID3 tags have been modified
Rocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2006, 10:32   #5
pictor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Yeah I have some plug-ins.
I have Chronotron to change Pitch and Time (I don't Think it can modify files), MuchFX to load more plug-ins and LeoLyrics to find lyrics and write them in the songs.

I think the problem could be caused by this last one.... but I don't understand why. I changed nothing, and before it didn't caused any problems.

What can I do?

Thanks!
pictor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2006, 10:40   #6
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
So you don't have this ejukebox player thing installed then?
(as referenced by Rocker in his previous post)
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2006, 10:49   #7
pictor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
No I have not
Unfortunately I don't know how to recognize the plug-in that modify the extension.

Winpooch tell me only generic info, with the message reported above.

How can I know who is causing problem ... sob
pictor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2006, 10:59   #8
DJ Egg
Techorator
Winamp & SHOUTcast Team
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 35,821
Apparently, JRiver Media Center also has the same bug as eJukebox. Do you have that installed maybe?

As already stated, Winamp in its native state isn't capabale of causing this problem.
If indeed it does turn out to be some 3rd-party plugin to blame, then you will need to contact the author of said plugin and report the problem to them.

Does it still occur if you temporarily disable Leo's Lyrics plugin, eg. by renaming winamp\plugins\gen_leoslyrics.dll (or whatever the actual filename is) to eg. gen_leoslyrics.dll.off?
DJ Egg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2006, 12:45   #9
pictor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Strange.... I'm trying to identify the plug-in but with only the Leo's Lyrics plug-in the problem doesn't appear.

Maybe could be a conflict between plug-ins.... is it possible?

Anyway now I have only Chronotron and Leo's Lyrics loaded and the problem doesn't appear.

I have also updated my 5.21 version of Winamp to the v5.23

It's really frustrating when unable to identify the problem ....
pictor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2006, 13:01   #10
pictor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Ok, with many tries I've found it's Leo' Lyrics Plug-in that cause the problem.

When the song has no Lyrics already the plug-in search for it.
When stopping the song, if the Lyric is not yet in the Lyrics Archive (in the Leo Lyrics directory) and it is retrieved from the net, a copy of the song (with the Lyric saved in it) is placed in the same directory.

It's strange because in this case is being created a copy with the lyric in it.
But I have other cases in which the song is replaced completely, or where the song is copied but, in the copy, there is only the Lyric infos.

Have you idea of what the hell is happening?

I'd post on the Leo's Lyrics Forum but I don't receive the registration email

Thank you!
pictor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2006, 16:46   #11
mrym
Senior Member
 
mrym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: tokyo
Posts: 438
i don't have problem with leo's lyrics plug-ins.
what is your "saving and loading lyrics" settings?

i guess "saving lyrics to id3v2 tag" is causing your problem. (i'm setting "archive on disk".)
mrym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th June 2006, 10:51   #12
pictor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 8
Yes I have this option enabled.
It would more confortable to have the lyrics directly in the song, withouth additional files.

Anyway I have disabled it..... hope it will solve the problem.
I'll ask on the Leo's Lyrics Forum if it is a solved bug or not.
Even if I try to register on it but I don't receive any confirmation email, and I can't post
pictor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp Technical Support

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump