Old 23rd May 2015, 08:37   #1
Dr.Flay
Senior Member
 
Dr.Flay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 178
Send a message via ICQ to Dr.Flay Send a message via Skype™ to Dr.Flay
Winamp remote control

Ampwifi Winamp Remote

http://www.blitterhead.com/ampwifi-android-app
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...erhead.ampwifi

https://web.archive.org/web/20180330...jaxamp.com/faq and
http://ajaxamp.com/index- Archive Link* added on request by Dr.Flay ~NJK

I have been using this for a couple of months now, and fallen in love with it.
It would be good to see this functionality in the next Android Winamp.

This very easy to use remote is for use with the AjaxAMP plugin [website no longer availible]
It can automatically find the server running on a LAN, or you can manually configure IP presets.
If you have pointed the Ajax plugin at your media folders, you can search your collection from the phone, and add tracks to a new playlist.
With a suitable media player installed (I use ArmAMP) it can stream tracks from Winamp to your device.
Dr.Flay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2017, 14:37   #2
Glaucus
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Funny, I just noticed this now (I wrote the app). Glad to see you liked it. I'm still working on it, ever so slowly.... I hope to publish an update soon. I'm working on adding a color scheme to the playlist so that you can very quickly see where songs from one folder end and a new folder begin. I tend to add entire albums to my playlist and each album is in it's own folder. Hopefully people will find that useful.

Now if only we could see some updates to Winamp itself!
Glaucus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2017, 17:29   #3
musicf8
Major Dude
 
musicf8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 726
Oh damn, I wish I knew of this back then... using aWARemote (even paid for it) and hasn't been updated in ages. Gonna have to give this one a try...

(┛◉Д◉)┛彡ʎɯouoıpɐɹ

Current status of Winamp: (Winamp 5.8) is not an ongoing project get wacup

Winamp v5.6.6.3516 bumping on Windows 10 Pro w/ Logitech Z-5500 (Winamp 5.8 Beta )
musicf8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2017, 15:59   #4
Dr.Flay
Senior Member
 
Dr.Flay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 178
Send a message via ICQ to Dr.Flay Send a message via Skype™ to Dr.Flay
Nice to see you here Glaucus, and thanks again.

I actually use this most often during my weekly radio show.
It allows me to stand outside with a coffee and smoke, and see how long I have left, or even put on another track

I am wondering if it would be worth you chatting with DrO at his Winamp site, because he is making progress with real Winamp updates.
Between you, you may be able to add the required functions to Winamp, so that the droid app can use the existing library, playlists and bookmarks, without the need to create a separate index etc.
https://getwacup.com

My weekly radio show for nerds and wannabe nerds 15% Extra on Source FM every Friday
Dr.Flay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2017, 22:23   #5
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,602
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
i'll need to try it...

i use aWAR remote but it does crash now and then and do some things i don't like. i'd like the option to NOT cache artwork on the phone/tablet and only get the art ondemand as necessary when its "now playing" for instance. also used "playa control"

anyone tried this for iOS?

http://www.ekode.com/wmote.php

or:

https://www.monkeymote.com/home

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2017, 07:12   #6
tammer
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Just heard of this app. Will give this a try.
tammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2017, 15:49   #7
gerryharris
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 22
AjaxAMP plugin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Flay View Post
[B][SIZE="5"]

This very easy to use remote is for use with the AjaxAMP plugin
Just tried to download the plugin but get the attached errors.
Cheers
Gerry

Warning: require_once(/home/content/g/a/b/gabelevy/html/includes/classes/Database.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/content/39/9807939/html/download.php on line 3

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/content/g/a/b/gabelevy/html/includes/classes/Database.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5/lib/php') in /home/content/39/9807939/html/download.php on line 3
gerryharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2018, 10:54   #8
citizencoolville
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 16
Knowing winamp I can tell you this already. This won't work.
citizencoolville is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th December 2018, 12:42   #9
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,602
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
i just saw that this:

https://itunes.apple.com/jo/app/wmot...orm=appleWatch

includes support for an apple watch, which means that i am a lot more likely to get an apple watch now.

does anyone know of an app for both android and iOS that will create an ad hoc wifi hotspot? i had an android phone that allowed me to setup a free mobile hotspot using Foxfi, but i no longer do and afaik Foxfi doesn't do ad hoc wifi anyway, (its dependent on working mobile coverage / only does net connected hotspots).

i also wonder if these remote control apps work if only bluetooth is present, instead of wifi?

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2019, 14:45   #10
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,602
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
Lots of bots in this thread, clean but plz don't lock it.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th May 2019, 17:24   #11
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
Lots of bots in this thread, clean but plz don't lock it.
Okay , i'll allow this thread to continue for a while
but if we get another 5 bots in this thread , i sure will lock it
on request it can be unlocked also
but knowing bots a bit by now , if you lock a thread and reopen it after a few days the bots will leave it alone for a while.

so continue for now

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2019, 05:31   #12
Dr.Flay
Senior Member
 
Dr.Flay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 178
Send a message via ICQ to Dr.Flay Send a message via Skype™ to Dr.Flay
The AjaxAmp site is gone, so can a mod please delete the link or change it to a web archive link?

BTW. MrSinatra, an ad-hoc wifi tool for android https://f-droid.org/en/packages/net.szym.barnacle/

My weekly radio show for nerds and wannabe nerds 15% Extra on Source FM every Friday
Dr.Flay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2019, 05:37   #13
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Flay View Post
The AjaxAmp site is gone, so can a mod please delete the link or change it to a web archive link?
Done

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2019, 19:08   #14
SarahLewis
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
An interesting mode... Is it still available?
SarahLewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2019, 02:58   #15
Dr.Flay
Senior Member
 
Dr.Flay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 178
Send a message via ICQ to Dr.Flay Send a message via Skype™ to Dr.Flay
Yes, it still available and updated.

My weekly radio show for nerds and wannabe nerds 15% Extra on Source FM every Friday
Dr.Flay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2019, 12:59   #16
Griff
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 5
Issues getting AjaxAMP to work

Hi all.

I'm having trouble getting the AjaxAMP plugin to work. Whenever I launch Winamp and go into the AjaxAMP settings, my IP address has reset to 0.0.0.0. If I change it, click OK, then restart Winamp or shut down my computer and turn it back on next time I use it, it's back to 0.0.0.0.

So I downgraded from Winamp 5.8 to 5.666 but I still have this issue.

Any suggestions?
Griff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2019, 18:21   #17
Dr.Flay
Senior Member
 
Dr.Flay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 178
Send a message via ICQ to Dr.Flay Send a message via Skype™ to Dr.Flay
It uses local host for the server port, not your IP.
You can read the instructions in the archived site
https://web.archive.org/web/20180330...jaxamp.com/faq

@NJK Any chance you can add the archive link for the FAQ to the OP ?
I guess it is still needed after all, and will explain how to use it via a web browser.

My weekly radio show for nerds and wannabe nerds 15% Extra on Source FM every Friday
Dr.Flay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2019, 19:17   #18
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Flay View Post

@NJK Any chance you can add the archive link for the FAQ to the OP ?
I guess it is still needed after all, and will explain how to use it via a web browser.
Done as requested. see first post of this thread.

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2019, 07:52   #19
Griff
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Flay View Post
It uses local host for the server port, not your IP.
You can read the instructions in the archived site
https://web.archive.org/web/20180330...jaxamp.com/faq
Sorry, maybe I wasn't clear. I meant that in the AjaxAMP settings, the Server IP address reverts back to 0.0.0.0 upon starting Winamp. It's as if the settings are not being retained. Anyone have this issue before?
Griff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th June 2019, 20:45   #20
MrSinatra
Forum King
 
MrSinatra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: WKPS, State College
Posts: 5,602
Send a message via AIM to MrSinatra
I don't use this, but if it's a plugin sometimes they need to be run as admin when installed.

PENN STATE Radio or http://www.LION-Radio.org/
--
BUG #1 = Winamp skips short tracks
Wish #1 = Multiple Column Sorting
Wish #2 = Add TCMP/Compilation editing
MrSinatra is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th June 2019, 06:51   #21
Dr.Flay
Senior Member
 
Dr.Flay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 178
Send a message via ICQ to Dr.Flay Send a message via Skype™ to Dr.Flay
Sorry, maybe I wasn't clear.
Follow the instructions on the site and all will work fine.
The Ajax server is hosted via local host, so you access it via 0.0.0.0. or 127.0.0.1
You do not put your IP in there if you are just using it on a regular LAN setup.

My weekly radio show for nerds and wannabe nerds 15% Extra on Source FM every Friday
Dr.Flay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2019, 13:39   #22
Griff
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSinatra View Post
I don't use this, but if it's a plugin sometimes they need to be run as admin when installed.
Ooooh. This makes sense, I will try this ASAP.
Griff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2019, 16:02   #23
Dr.Flay
Senior Member
 
Dr.Flay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 178
Send a message via ICQ to Dr.Flay Send a message via Skype™ to Dr.Flay
Yeah worth doing, but it has installed or it would not be available in Winamp.

The IP address is supposed to be 0.0.0.0
Click image for larger version

Name:	AjaxAmp.png
Views:	83
Size:	20.0 KB
ID:	54465

BTW NJK you copied the shortened link text for the archived site.
The front page may be better anyway
http://ajaxamp.com/index - Archive Link

My weekly radio show for nerds and wannabe nerds 15% Extra on Source FM every Friday
Dr.Flay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2019, 19:48   #24
NJK
The Frisian Spamfighter
 
NJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: a real Frisian hometown
Posts: 14,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Flay View Post

BTW NJK you copied the shortened link text for the archived site.
The front page may be better anyway
http://ajaxamp.com/index - Archive Link
Done
both are there.
~NJK

Each Thursday a new show on Celtica Radio with Darkwave music.
**************************************************************************

WINAMPSHOUTCAST
NJK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2019, 03:10   #25
Dr.Flay
Senior Member
 
Dr.Flay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 178
Send a message via ICQ to Dr.Flay Send a message via Skype™ to Dr.Flay
Hate to break it to you but you did the same again and copied the shortened displayed link not what you get when you right-click on it.
I will add the URL as the name so the forum shows it properly
https://web.archive.org/web/20160625...xamp.com/index
***EDIT***
OK that didn't work, you will have to right-click. The forum software always shortens long links

My weekly radio show for nerds and wannabe nerds 15% Extra on Source FM every Friday
Dr.Flay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Winamp & Shoutcast Forums > Winamp > Winamp for Android

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump